Posting your rating...
896 5-Year rum

896 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.8/10 (17 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
4
9
1
1

Rate 896 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


17 896 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 81 ratings

Light golden color like Doorly’s 5 & 8. Exceeded my expectations for a $15 rum but not my thing. Good to have for novice rum and coke or soda drinkers. The 8 year is far superior.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by M from United States with 30 ratings

Complex, rich & spicy
Hints of caramelized nuts, cedar, mocha. Aftertaste of banana ?
Recommend for sure especially as this price point . Better mixed

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

Never heard of this rum and still not sure who makes it, but this is a good / inexpensive Barbados rum.

This rum has a nice golden colour. Unfortunately, the sweet rum scent was overpowered by a smell of rubbing alcohol. I was surprised that it tasted fairly mild (little burn) when sipped straight, and even better with some ice which took some of the harshness away.

This rum makes a really good "clean and simple" rum and cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

Initially I thought this was a 6, but given that I keep going back I will give it a 7. Taste profile somewhat similar to K&S 12 or Pampero, not as thick, nor sweet as either one of those two. Notes of vanilla, leather and vintage trunk. You may want to say, that is an awful description, but in the back of the palate it tastes very nice.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Decent sipper, good mixed with coke. Vanilla, sweet.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I was so impressed with my new bottle of 896 8-Year after a month that I went back to Total Wine to restock that one and get this one to compare side by side. Well, the 8-Year still stands head and shoulders above this one. Then it came time for the overall ranking of this one. I compared it to my Doorly's 5 Year, which narrowly edged this one out, and at half the price. I no longer see any reason to buy this rum unless the store is out of Doorly's 5 Year and 896 8-Year. It still rates as a 5, but there is simply way too much competition out there.

Update: This is the first rum that I have tried that can ruin a perfectly good coconut water and a perfectly good cola (separate drinks, of course). Since it is not good enough to sip neat or on the rocks, I desperately tried mixing it with a very good ginger ale. That saved it. So I cannot recommend this rum, but highly recommend it's 8 Year older brother. The two are like night and day.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 182 ratings

Rating for this one reflects the taste and a $15.00 price. Flavor was okay straight, with a strongish afterburn, but when combined with coke and the price, the rating gets better.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Good for the price but also a mixer for me. Mor similar to Doorly's than other Foursquare offerings.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Roger Averill from United States with 31 ratings

Just recieved as a gift...never heard of before....smooth and easy drinking with a nice melow flavor

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

I like it but Mount Gay and Foursquare make better sipping rums. Although 896 is price right. Worth having.