Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Signature Blend rum

Appleton Estate Signature Blend

Jamaica | Aged

5.5/10 (202 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
12
17
44
68
41
11

Rate Appleton Estate Signature Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


202 Appleton Estate Signature Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Root-theory from Poland with 54 ratings

Witam! Dziś przed państwem podstawowa wersja w portfolio marki Appleton Estate: Signature Blend. Od producenta możemy się dowiedzieć iż średni czas leżakowania zawartości wynosi 4 lata. Ale nie oznacza to że jest to trunek min. 4 letni a dokładniej dana ta określa średni wiek użytych destylatów które służyły do kupażu zawartości. Odmiana ta zastąpiła w 2016 roku odmianę o nazwie XV która natomiast składała się z 10cio oraz 5cio letnich destylatów - jak widać popyt rośnie a jakość niestety należy dostosowywać do rynku. Widać również ewidentnie iż producent zostawił sobie furtkę w postaci zdjęcia oznaczenia wieku na butelce a wspomnianą informację o wieku możemy odczytać jedynie na oficjalnej stronie Appleton Estate - kto wie kiedy i stamtąd zniknie...

ZAPACH: Palony karmel, morele, skórka pomarańczy, ananas, melasa, wysłużona beczka. W tle kręci się słodka wanilia oraz cynamon a wszytko podbite jest ziołami oraz nutą syropu na gardło. Zapach jest intensywny, aromatyczny oraz z lekko wyczuwalnym alkoholem.

SMAK: Jest dość słodko (lecz nie przesadnie), mocno karmelowo, trochę palono oraz z dojrzałymi owocami: pomarańcze, morele, mango, pieczone banany i wanilia. Alkohol oczywiście wyczuwalny ale nie można zarzucić że jest młody. Dodanie lodu ugrzeczniło ten palono-karmelowy klimat.

Warto wspomnieć iż tydzień temu opisywałem dostojniejszego brata jakim jest Reserve Blend. Muszę przyznać że dziś opisywany rum jest tak samo aromatyczny jak jego droższy brat - oczywiście aromaty są mniej szlachetne ale nie jest to na tyle wyraźna różnica iż całość staje się nieprzyjemna - wręcz przeciwnie - rum jest prostszy co powoduje iż jest on przystępniejszy do spożywania szczególnie w drinku. Moim zdaniem nie ma co przepłacać szczególnie że ani jeden ani drugi według mnie nie nadaje się do picia saute bądź z lodem. Przeszło mi przez głowę jeszcze jedno przemyślenie - spotkałem się z opiniami w internecie iż ten rum jest sztuczny, perfumowany itp. Otóż proszę państwa tak nie jest - czuć tu znaczny wpływ czasu oraz beczek - to porządna zawartość. Mam wrażenie iż wiele takich stwierdzeń powstaje z podobieństwa smaku Appleton Estate Signature Blend do tanich rumów które powstają na olejkach eterycznych. Mam wrażenie że producenci tych "udawanych" rumów (W cudzysłowie ponieważ rum nie jest normowany prawnie na całym świecie, a niestety tylko w niektórych krajach i stąd pojawiają się różne "rumopodobne" wynalazki na rynku) dążą właśnie do tego smaku którym charakteryzuje się dzisiejszy bohater.

OCENA: 62/100

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Why they have even made this?!?!? Pass years I have had this feeling that the quality of Appleton has gone down. Even their 12-years old does not taste as it used to.
I was expecting little more when I decided to taste these "relatively new ones" Signature and Estate Reserve Blend. Same crap both of them.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 38 ratings

I love Appleton Signature for tiki drink mixes, this is why I give it an 8...why bother spending more if you are mixing it. Sure you could get a 12 year Appleton and it is great but when the other ingredients blend the tiki Gods are smiling:) Aloha from West Palm Beach Fl!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by TimCanadien from Canada with 3 ratings

This is not a rum that makes a bold statement or gives one a hint of any specific flavor or aroma. It is not a sipping rum after a good dinner with good company. I give it a 6 because it's a good every day rum that, for me, mixes well with a Pepsi after a long day at the office.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Horrible smell, bad taste, really rough on tongue, also in neck. No specific flavours, no reason to drink.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by John from United States with 2 ratings

I'm having trouble finishing off my 1.75L of this stuff. It has a horrible metallic finish and aftertaste even when mixed. Starts good and smooth but what it ends with does not make one want to take another sip.

Ffffff

Posted 9 days ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

Pour a glass, add some ice, read a book. It is not the main feature of the afternoon but not a bad sipper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Given that I enjoy sipping on rum rather than use it for mixing I did not expect this rum to be a winner. Glad I only purchased a 375 ml bottle as this is well below the Appleton Rare Blend 12 year rum which I despised. This is a pretty awful rum on its own.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

Always heard good things about Appleton. But I have to say this rum is trash. Horrible taste and has a small to match. It is ok as a mixer if you please. However for the price you can get a better rum for cheaper when it come to mixing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Aaron from United States with 3 ratings

I bought this rum when I asked for a good sipping rum, the man who usually suggests really good rums told me it was one of his favorites. First reaction when opening the bottle, my roommate could smell it from 6 feet away. It almost reminds me of a weaker Bacardi 151. I would not recommend.

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 101 ratings

I’m shocked I never rated any Appleton’s yet, have tried most of them. This is a staple mixer like Mt Gay. Both our my favorites for Cuba Libra’s. Nothing special going on here just a good solid rum for mixing. Way better than Flor de Cana, and better value than Mt Gay, which is tied with Havana 7 for best rum and coke rum.