Posting your rating...
Appleton Estate Signature Blend rum

Rate Appleton Estate Signature Blend

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


182 Appleton Estate Signature Blend ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

La nueva fórmula sabe a pintura, normalmente mezclo este ron, es mejor comprar el VX lo puedes identificar en la etiqueta al frente, no comprar el que dice 1749

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Why they have even made this?!?!? Pass years I have had this feeling that the quality of Appleton has gone down. Even their 12-years old does not taste as it used to.
I was expecting little more when I decided to taste these "relatively new ones" Signature and Estate Reserve Blend. Same crap both of them.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

I love Appleton Signature for tiki drink mixes, this is why I give it an 8...why bother spending more if you are mixing it. Sure you could get a 12 year Appleton and it is great but when the other ingredients blend the tiki Gods are smiling:) Aloha from West Palm Beach Fl!

Posted over 3 years ago by TimCanadien from Canada with 3 ratings

This is not a rum that makes a bold statement or gives one a hint of any specific flavor or aroma. It is not a sipping rum after a good dinner with good company. I give it a 6 because it's a good every day rum that, for me, mixes well with a Pepsi after a long day at the office.

Posted over 3 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Horrible smell, bad taste, really rough on tongue, also in neck. No specific flavours, no reason to drink.

Posted almost 4 years ago by John from United States with 2 ratings

I'm having trouble finishing off my 1.75L of this stuff. It has a horrible metallic finish and aftertaste even when mixed. Starts good and smooth but what it ends with does not make one want to take another sip.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

Given that I enjoy sipping on rum rather than use it for mixing I did not expect this rum to be a winner. Glad I only purchased a 375 ml bottle as this is well below the Appleton Rare Blend 12 year rum which I despised. This is a pretty awful rum on its own.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 29 ratings

Always heard good things about Appleton. But I have to say this rum is trash. Horrible taste and has a small to match. It is ok as a mixer if you please. However for the price you can get a better rum for cheaper when it come to mixing.

Posted over 3 years ago by Aaron from United States with 3 ratings

I bought this rum when I asked for a good sipping rum, the man who usually suggests really good rums told me it was one of his favorites. First reaction when opening the bottle, my roommate could smell it from 6 feet away. It almost reminds me of a weaker Bacardi 151. I would not recommend.

Posted 4 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

It's a good price, but tastes far closer to brandy than rum. It's approaching paint thinner or gasoline in flavor, so it's not smooth at all. Wanted to like this one, but it's too whiskey-like to be in my rum rotation.

Posted 11 months ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

I'd heard about Appleton's years ago in NY. So when I found a bottle at the ABC by my buddies house i bought. As my title says.... especially for the price. On the bright side it ain't gasoline. Easy to drink however you like, even as a Cuba Libre. My biggest complaint was that it had very little body and flavor. What was there was pleasant enough and a decent choice for the start up rum drinker.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Glenn from United States with 20 ratings

has that hogo funk you look for in a Jamaican
taste - smooth, bananas, orange, vanilla

Nice mixer, wished I saved some so I could compare with J Wray Gold. Used up my bottle making a nice Mai Tai with Clement.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andy Beneveedez from United States with 8 ratings

At first the scent comes off as if it were going to be harsh, but then you take a sip and you figure out it’s just the strong spices coming out, with a medium caramel. The rum goes down smooth, not what I was expecting. For 20 dollars, it’s definitely better than captain org. and Bacardi spiced.

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory from Australia with 27 ratings

I’m happy with this rum. Good staple rum. It has that English style strong molasses flavour. Not complex if your looking to disect it’s flavour but still great on the rocks for something nice and reasonably priced.
Enjoying my current bottle

Posted at Calavera over 2 years ago by Cuvelierl from Belgium with 25 ratings

Tastse like a high quality rum should taste. I usually only use this rum in cocktails but it's actually ok for sipping. It's not the best but considering value for money I wouldn't mind adding it to my collection

Posted over 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a huge fan of Appleton rums. But as far as Appleton rums go, this isn't bad!

Smells and tastes of oak, spice, and orange peel with a hint of molasses. It's not as good as the Reserve Blend and definitely not as good as the 12 year, but it's not that far behind.

If you like the Appleton rums more than me, you should like this just fine. If you don't like the Appletons (like myself), then you might consider spending more on the Joy Anniversary blend, which is a nice step up from the other Appletons.

Posted over 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Opět jsem byl podroben slepému testu. Kamarád nakupoval v bezcelní zóně v Egyptě, a tak jsem se zase rád nechal překvapit, co si dovezl.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: První přivonění...že by karibský rum? Voní nějak povědomě. Koženě pomerančové, nasládlé aroma. Postupně se přidává koření, hlavně skořice. Trochu až vánoční nádech, marcipán, karamel. Vůně je OK. (84 b)
Chuť: Oproti vůni je ale v chuti dost suchý. Koření, kůže a pomeranče ale zůstávají. Jen bez sladkosti. Dochuť je pak hřebíčková. (78 b)
Body: 81/100
Shrnutí: Podle vůně povědomé, po ochutnání už si ale jistý nejsem. Každopádně tipuju karibský rum. Přesnou destinaci si ale netroufám hádat. Něco základnějšího, ale může být odkudkoliv.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

It was a gift from a friend who went to Jamaica, so I do not want to be too critical. It was very strong straight and much better mixed.

Posted 6 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 35 ratings

Jamaican funk 'light' as I understand it. It helps to give it a little rest after pouring this in your glass. Molasses, citrus (orange with a high octane level) and a little oak/vanilla on the nose and on the palate joined by black peper and some dried fruits. The fruit flavours almost make this dry rum on the sweet side but pepper and 'gasoline fumes' balance it out pretty well. Outspoken taste with some little harsh notes but it goes down easy enough. Pleasant lingering of tastes.

As a real sipper it comes a little short, it is a little too restles in taste, but has potential and grows on you (or not). I doubt I will ever stack this one up but it gives me a damn good reason to explore Appleton Estate a little more.

Posted 11 days ago by Gilgamesh from United States with 3 ratings

Confession: I drink rum in shots. Usually 7 or more to be exact, over a 2-3 hour period. The rum doesn't have to be overly complex, obviously. But it needs to be smooth enough not to torch my gullet, and have a delicious aftertaste. This rum fits the bill at an attractive price point. I has the Jamaican funk, but with the edges rounded off. It's a great $20 rum, like Mount Gay or Plantation Barbados. Tastes like it's aged at least 2 years or more, maybe even 5. It's a well-made bottle of booze.

Posted 13 days ago by Cjbspender from Germany with 32 ratings

Cheap quality, hardly useful even for mixing. There are better ones.

Posted 14 days ago by Dan_Simm from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

A very good mixing rum but wouldn’t recommend sipping it

Posted 20 days ago by fahed from Belarus with 9 ratings

Not bad, good rum for mix with coke or even on rocks.

Posted 29 days ago by ZTrain1177 from Canada with 22 ratings

A nice tasting rum. Sweet but not overly so. Hints of caramel. Enjoyable with your favorite mix.

Posted 30 days ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

It's got that Jamaican funk taste to start then mellows out.. but I only drink it mixed.. I'm not a fan of Jamaican rum tastes.. but they grow on me after half way through the glass