Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (523 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
4
17
46
120
224
92
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


523 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I have reached my limit for sherry rums in DM 5+5. The class of rum is not my style and this one pushes me off the cliff. Now if you like sherry, you will really like this rum. If you love sherry, this will become one of your favorite rums. My significant other drinks sherry and I cannot keep this rum on the shelf because of her. So I'm going to give you her rating or 9 rather than mine. All words mine, influenced by her.

Glass: Beautiful. This is a lovely glass, label, seeing the rich brown-red spirit says warm and inviting. The bottle says classy, not just a rum.
Bottle Aroma: SHERRY. And more sherry.
Glass Aroma: This rum opens up like few others, but like other sherry rums leaves you wondering if there is rum in this bottle.
Taste: Ah, there's the rum. An explosion of complex flavors, floral, I detected a hint of mineral tastes that while not unpleasant, were out of character of the rest of the flavors. The oak treatments are not lost and this rum just keeps giving. The distiller, taster, and blender of Dos Maderas deserves an applause for this rum. It is unique.

This rum is not currently on my shelf. This is not by choice, it simply disappears and getting a hold of it is not easy where I live. If I were to make rum and use sherry casks for aging, this is the bar I would hold myself to.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Robin BERTHIER from Belgium with 21 ratings

This has gained its place in my top 3 after one glass... VERY smooth and sweet, that's how i like them! Don't bother adding ice.

Highly recommended for Diplomatico-fans!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Starts with a nice sweet aroma followed by a slight nostril burn. Smells like molasses with some fruit on the tail end. First (and second) taste holds an alcohol burn. Once the burn fades you can taste the sherry. In a nutshell, it's a burning molasses flavor followed by a faint bitterness. Thought I would like it more after reading the reviews. Definitely a quality rum but something just doesn't work for me. Would drink it if offered to me but probably won't buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 76 ratings

This taste nothing like rum to me. I'm not a wine fan and this tastes like a Merlot to me.
Dont get me wrong; I like variance in my rums but this one is just not one for my tastebud.
I had to reach for my 1919 just to get that taste out of my mouth.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Intense dark colour. Brown caramely (darker than the panama 21 years)

Strong vapeurs of alcoohol right after opening the bottle. But evolves very nicely.

After 10-15 min, Sweeter nose caramel and toffee. Hints of oxydized aromas (walnut) - from the Sherry and Jerez I guess. Some fruit aromas like lime, dried apricot, fig and citrus fruit.

Super sweet candied dark fruit attack. Sirupy medium-long finish dominated by fig flavors. No alcool feeling at all ... Reminds me of Fortified wines (Porto / Madere)

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Fin duft og en super smag, lækker sødme og længde. Perfekt rom til en meget venlig pris.
Absolut et genkøb.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tequilalex from Canada with 15 ratings

I love rum. I thought buying this expensive bottle, I was treating myself with some godly nectar. Unfortunately this doesn't smell or taste anything like rum. Unless you can try before you buy, I would avoid purchasing this... whatever it is.
(70.75 CAD in Dec 2016)

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Anders Lundwall from Sweden with 17 ratings

At first this comes of very bourbony and harsh, with added suger. This really needs to breathe, a lot! After 30 minutes in the glass almost all the whiskey/bourbon taste is gone, and the sherry flavour is fruiter than sweet. Nice tones of dried fruit and sherry, and a lovely colour.

The way it's created gives it some extra credit, I'm a sucker for a creative way of getting a complex taste together.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Hrpalle from Denmark with 19 ratings

Duften er sød og rund. Man fornemmer hurtigt lagringen på sherryfadene. Duften er lidt anderledes, men helt igennem lækker.

Smagen lever fuldt ud op til duften. En sød og meget blød rom, der smager af mere.
En rigtig lækker rom.

En stor anbefaling herfra.
Eneste fejl var at jeg ikke fik købt den noget før...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by ManuVdP from Belgium with 1 rating

Reall classy rum.
Intens and complex aromas, nice soft mouthfill and a beautifull lenght. Incredible value for money.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

The first time I tried this rum,I was somehow confused. The taste is nothing like classic rum. You can definitely taste the sweetness of sherry as well as smell the dried fruit aromas. I enjoy this rum a lot.