Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


487 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 12 months ago by je_farley from United States with 101 ratings

Sweet nose with just a slight burn. A bit narrow on the pallet as the sweetness dominates, smooth after a slight burn, Very nice as a sipper just not a lot of depth. As a mixer, it shines across the board; cola, citrus, ginger ale and more, it is all good. Haven't used it as a blender yet but can imagine adding a twist to both the traditional and tiki drinks.

Posted over 5 years ago by Robin BERTHIER from Belgium with 21 ratings

This has gained its place in my top 3 after one glass... VERY smooth and sweet, that's how i like them! Don't bother adding ice.

Highly recommended for Diplomatico-fans!

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Starts with a nice sweet aroma followed by a slight nostril burn. Smells like molasses with some fruit on the tail end. First (and second) taste holds an alcohol burn. Once the burn fades you can taste the sherry. In a nutshell, it's a burning molasses flavor followed by a faint bitterness. Thought I would like it more after reading the reviews. Definitely a quality rum but something just doesn't work for me. Would drink it if offered to me but probably won't buy it again.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

This taste nothing like rum to me. I'm not a wine fan and this tastes like a Merlot to me.
Dont get me wrong; I like variance in my rums but this one is just not one for my tastebud.
I had to reach for my 1919 just to get that taste out of my mouth.

Posted over 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

Intense dark colour. Brown caramely (darker than the panama 21 years)

Strong vapeurs of alcoohol right after opening the bottle. But evolves very nicely.

After 10-15 min, Sweeter nose caramel and toffee. Hints of oxydized aromas (walnut) - from the Sherry and Jerez I guess. Some fruit aromas like lime, dried apricot, fig and citrus fruit.

Super sweet candied dark fruit attack. Sirupy medium-long finish dominated by fig flavors. No alcool feeling at all ... Reminds me of Fortified wines (Porto / Madere)

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Fin duft og en super smag, lækker sødme og længde. Perfekt rom til en meget venlig pris.
Absolut et genkøb.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tequilalex from Canada with 15 ratings

I love rum. I thought buying this expensive bottle, I was treating myself with some godly nectar. Unfortunately this doesn't smell or taste anything like rum. Unless you can try before you buy, I would avoid purchasing this... whatever it is.
(70.75 CAD in Dec 2016)

Posted over 5 years ago by Anders Lundwall from Sweden with 17 ratings

At first this comes of very bourbony and harsh, with added suger. This really needs to breathe, a lot! After 30 minutes in the glass almost all the whiskey/bourbon taste is gone, and the sherry flavour is fruiter than sweet. Nice tones of dried fruit and sherry, and a lovely colour.

The way it's created gives it some extra credit, I'm a sucker for a creative way of getting a complex taste together.

Posted about 6 years ago by Hrpalle from Denmark with 19 ratings

Duften er sød og rund. Man fornemmer hurtigt lagringen på sherryfadene. Duften er lidt anderledes, men helt igennem lækker.

Smagen lever fuldt ud op til duften. En sød og meget blød rom, der smager af mere.
En rigtig lækker rom.

En stor anbefaling herfra.
Eneste fejl var at jeg ikke fik købt den noget før...

Posted about 4 years ago by ManuVdP from Belgium with 1 rating

Reall classy rum.
Intens and complex aromas, nice soft mouthfill and a beautifull lenght. Incredible value for money.

Posted over 5 years ago by Pielor from Canada with 25 ratings

The first time I tried this rum,I was somehow confused. The taste is nothing like classic rum. You can definitely taste the sweetness of sherry as well as smell the dried fruit aromas. I enjoy this rum a lot.

Posted almost 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Classic rum aint what comes to mind here. The sherry finish shines through quite a lot. Regardless this is quite tasty. On the nose you find caramel and fruits. The taste is very sweet and fruity, with clear notes of plum and raisin. Medium body. Very nice if your in the mood for it.

Posted almost 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

There can be no doubting the quality and uniqueness here - raw material from Barbados and Guyana aged five years in oak, then transferred to Spain for 5 more years in Sherry barrels (two types!). The result has incredible flavor intensity, wonderful aroma and a gorgeous color. But from the first sniff, it's hard to know if you're tasting a rum...or a sherry...or something else. To my taste, this spirit steps over some imaginary line. It's not really a "rum experience". If you're looking for new and unique, try this. If you are a rum drinker looking for a pure, quality rum experience, look elsewhere.

Posted 6 months ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 37 ratings

Nice bottle with a cool story, this rum opens up with a rather sweet dose of spices in the aroma, followed by smooth smell of fruit and what I presume to be sherry after also tasting the sherry minibottles that came with the rum. The end of the aroma also catches a nice dried plum scent. Dark copper colour, medium legs run down my glass quite slowly after twirling it a few times..
The taste is very strange for me, and includes some biterness, honey, sherry and generally fruity taste, some tastes also found in heavy dry red wines, and alcohol but very manageable amount. Upon adding a few drops of water (tried 2-3 drops into a 0.02l amount of the spirit), the taste seems to smoothen around the edges and become less artificially sweet and more honey-like.
Almost no afterburn or exit, makes me wonder if this ain't a sweet syrup for kids or something. Oh and makes a crazy cool mixer to make your cocktails just a little different, however not sure it is priced as a casual mixer for everyone. Cannot say I do not like it, one glass is an interesting experience, but I would prefer to sip something else through the evening. Also offered this to three laides, each of whom was kinda happy, but nothing exceptional, They were only astonished by the rum once I actually used it to mix their favourite drinks, Jungle Bird, Daiquiri, "tequilla" sunrise and a non-jamaican Planter's Punch.

Posted 6 months ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 27 ratings

Very good sweet smell. Taste also sweet, hangs in your mouth for a good time.

Posted 6 months ago by v63d from Germany with 8 ratings

First of all, if you don't like sherry or sherry aroma, you should keep your hands off this rum. But if you get involved, you will find a great, pleasantly sweet and mild rum with a wonderful sherry aroma. At the beginning I was a bit sceptical because I generally don't drink sherry very often, but this rum is something different. Not too sweet, hardly any alcoholic bite and a sherry note that is not too strong and harmonizes wonderfully with the other flavours. Nearly full score!

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian Platten from Canada with 1 rating

With ice it dilutes a little too much so go easy I'll try the frozen soapstone cubes

Posted at Mimi Crabhouse about 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

At first nose it burns with a very sweet scent of sugar or something. Taste like Remy Martin VSOP or some type of cognac in the front and then sweet raisins and Sherry. It's a very full body with syrup like after taste. The after taste lingers, I had a beef burger prior to popping the top, it I think it helped my palet accept the different flavors. I didn't use my snifter so I'll revisit the 👃 at a later date. It does resemble diplomatic reserve exclusiva in sweetness but two different tastes.

To be honest I could drink this as a regular daily sipper. I tried it neat as I like all my rums so I can not give commentary on what water or ice gives or takes away. I would choose Foursquare Port no sugar over this any day or time of year. If you can find it for less then 40$ I would get it if above 40$ I wouldn't get it I would reach for Foursquare 11 year all day.

Posted over 3 years ago by Roc James from United States with 6 ratings

After reading reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. Let it breath for about 30 minutes, and I was a little scared how much it smelled like sherry and not rum but it's the closet thing to heaven I've ever experienced.

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Dark brown, mahogany. Soft but strong aroma, oak and barrel softnes. Dried fruits and light laquer. Thick mouthfeel, soft nuts, dried fruits.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

"Er isch nit schlecht" hat sie gsagt die Birgit 😊 genießen ihn grad auf der Terasse

Posted about 4 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Great choice for an evening with friends, even rum tasting beginners. The PX cask gives him some nice new additions for complexity

Posted over 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Among the sweet rums definitely one of my favorites. Dos Maderas 5+5 can find a good comparison in Diplomatico (Reserva Exclusiva), in my opinion also with Ron Millionario (15 years) in its sweetness.

The rum starts with a nicely shaped bottle, where I mainly appreciate the cork stopper (which is not always a standard nowadays). The rum itself is very dark color, just slightly lighter than Ron Millionario. Following other review, I must agree, the rum needs time to breathe and loose the strong alcoholic taste – especially for nosing, which then delivers nice sweet and smooth aroma. The taste then reminds me of sherry, I am not a rum expert, so this taste overwhelms the others for me at the moment. In the throat the rum is really smooth and the afterburn is long and sweet.

I would not recommend to sip this rum with any sweet food or snacks, as then it is really too sweet.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very dark in color. Agressive nose at first that then evolves very nicely. The Jerez is very present with aromas of cherry wood, toffee, fig and candied fruits, and port wine. Mouth is smooth, very round, nicely balanced. The texture is a bit syrupy with flavours of sultanas. Finish is fair, a bit too sweet with a nice length.

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

First smell is nice- fruity and sweet.
First taste is nice- fruity and sweet

I'm going to tell you a story about my daughter at a music festival (Jazzfest in New Orleans). She was about 12 and there was a vendor that had deep fried Twinkies. She got one and took a bite and proclaimed that she loved it and it was great! She took another bite and said this is disgusting, I can't stand it! She then threw it in the trash without hesitation.

While not to THAT extreme, this is very sweet. Overpoweringly sweet and it reminded me of that deep fried Twinkie.

edited to add sugar test results- 36g