Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
584 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
7
18
55
131
243
109
14

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

584 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20210101 104439

Posted 11 months ago by Jan Baštinec from Czech Republic with 93 ratings

Aroma of raisines, in taste is then oak barrel or sherry.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Prter Dreier from Denmark with 18 ratings

Wow, that is a lot of taste for little money. So sweet and "round" in the flavour.
The sherry casks defintely plays a big role here.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

I do not,so i can only give it a low ranking. It's an interesting,complex rum with too much Sherry in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Luis from United States with 14 ratings

It is not bad at all, but I do not think it is as good as it costs. It definitely tastes different, there are the dry rums, the "sweet" ones, and this one. It has a long caramel taste and very nutty smell. In the beginning it tastes like a sweet rum but its flavor diverts to a new rum experience as the seconds pass.
Not the best rum, but will yield a satisfactory night.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

I have reached my limit for sherry rums in DM 5+5. The class of rum is not my style and this one pushes me off the cliff. Now if you like sherry, you will really like this rum. If you love sherry, this will become one of your favorite rums. My significant other drinks sherry and I cannot keep this rum on the shelf because of her. So I'm going to give you her rating or 9 rather than mine. All words mine, influenced by her.

Glass: Beautiful. This is a lovely glass, label, seeing the rich brown-red spirit says warm and inviting. The bottle says classy, not just a rum.
Bottle Aroma: SHERRY. And more sherry.
Glass Aroma: This rum opens up like few others, but like other sherry rums leaves you wondering if there is rum in this bottle.
Taste: Ah, there's the rum. An explosion of complex flavors, floral, I detected a hint of mineral tastes that while not unpleasant, were out of character of the rest of the flavors. The oak treatments are not lost and this rum just keeps giving. The distiller, taster, and blender of Dos Maderas deserves an applause for this rum. It is unique.

This rum is not currently on my shelf. This is not by choice, it simply disappears and getting a hold of it is not easy where I live. If I were to make rum and use sherry casks for aging, this is the bar I would hold myself to.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Lige efter min smag. Sød på den gode måde og fyldig. En af favoritterne i denne prisklasse.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by CaméLéon from United States with 3 ratings

Agréable au nez, le pruneau domine, des notes de réglisse apparaissent après quelques minutes.
En bouche l'influence du vieillissement en fûts ayant contenu du sherry se fait clairement sentir. Un peu trop sucré à mon gout (du caramel ayant été ajouté) et manque de longueur.
Finalement ce rhum est à recommander aux amateurs de porto.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by thmsngrn from France with 6 ratings

Un bon rhum, il ne rentre pas encore dans mon top 3 mais s'en approche. On retrouve des notes boisées et épicées tout en ayant un gout assez sucré. A recommander

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

Nice color, great story.. But to me it tastes lika a peated whisky with sugar in it.. Sorry to say since i had my hopes up for this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Nez épicé, âpreté de la poire en bouche, assez long
Arôme de muscadou et miel mille fleurs.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by tftowner106 from Canada with 23 ratings

Another excellent sipping rum which I enjoy with one ice cube. Delicious fruity notes - almost sherry like. A keeper!