Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
559 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
18
49
127
237
103
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

559 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 38 ratings

Intense cask taste. At start some alcohol vapors prevents full smell experience.
After 10-15 mins more aromas comes noticeable. All present vanilla as dominant (beside caks taste). Not to sweet. This is an interesting Rum, lots of flavors.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Rhum sucré, nite de miel et de vanille...un veritable délice !

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Federicobz from Costa Rica with 5 ratings

This is a very particular rum, and is basically attributed to the way it was aged, and that endures even after you taste it. I like the two aging process, first in the Caribbean and then faraway into Spain to finish it's process. I enjoyed very much it's particular taste, I do felt the sherry notes present due to the aging process in Pedro Ximenez and i think it enrich the rum taste in a different way but in a really good different way, I like the balance between flavors, it is very smooth, as I say I like the rum for the process and it's particularity which makes it different and unique.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

Sødme 8/10
Lidt tam næse.
Sjov krads kortvarig smag som runder ud i noter af lakrids og sherry.
Købt 2014
Pris. 270 DV

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Very good marriage of sherry and rum. Reminded me of bourbon on the tongue, the nose is more sherry-like and the finish reveals the rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Richard k from Canada with 5 ratings

Like the finish in the port barrels I can sit and drink this bottle all by myself

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Il fallait oser aller aussi loin dans le côté Sherry, et je trouve que c'est très bien réussi. Assez atypique car son côté Porto n'a pas d'égal chez d'autres rhums.
Il a les caractéristiques d'un rhum de tradition anglaise (boisé, subtilement fruité, tabac, épices douces...) et un côté prune voire même pruneau très présent et fin à la fois.
Très sympa à l'apéritif (avec un petit jambon serrano)
Une autre belle porte d'entrée dans le monde du rhum

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Kicks up the notes from the 5+3, a very great sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

A very good rum. Nice sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Thomas Christiansen from Denmark with 9 ratings

Snert af tobak, ellers dejlig god og mild. God lounge rom. Kan anbefales

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Mads Bärenholdt from Denmark with 11 ratings

An amber color. Its nose is with some notes of Plum and raisins. The taste is sweet with some nice taste of plum and fruit. The sherry finish is Just a Good varm feeling with no Long afterburn.