Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10(552 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
18
49
127
233
100
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

552 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Perky182 from United States with 2 ratings

Definite alcohol on the first smell. Let it breathe for a few and the sweetness takes over. A bit too sweet for my taste. Didn't get as much sherry notes as I expected, but I'm used to Scotch Sherry bombs.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Dos Maderas 5+5 je směs rumů, které zrály 5 let v Karibiku (Guyana, Barbados), pak byly převezeny do Španělska, kde ve sklepech firmy Williams & Humbert zrají dalších 5 let v sudech po sherry, z toho 3 roky po Palo Cortado a dva roky po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Hluboká, mohutná vůně, z ktreré je Pedro Ximénez opravdu znát. Lékořice, sirupová nasládlost, kůže, anýz, trochu občas inklinuje i k portskému, s lehkým dotekem hutné ovocné přezrálosti. (88 b)
Chuť: Lékořice, opálené sudy, sladkost PX se tu míchá se suchostí sherry v dochuti, k tomu topinky a med. (91 b)
Body: 90
Shrnutí: Pár lahví Pedro Ximénez jsem v poslední době měl možnost ochutnat a vliv těchto sudů na rum je opravdu markantní. Přitom však stále víte, že opravdu pijete rum. Tohle je originální kousek, který se výrazně odlišuje od ostatních rumů. Za celkové vyznění a originalitu rád zaokrouhluju hodnocení směrem nahoru.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brian Bak from Denmark with 20 ratings

Dufter rigtigt lækkert og har en flot gylden farve, men smagen er efter min mening meget sprittet og domineres af sherry og fad med en yderst begrænset smagsudviklingen.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by fifonlaideur from France with 25 ratings

Une belle découverte et une belle réussite pour cet excellent rhum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Rhum sucré, nite de miel et de vanille...un veritable délice !

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Federicobz from Costa Rica with 5 ratings

This is a very particular rum, and is basically attributed to the way it was aged, and that endures even after you taste it. I like the two aging process, first in the Caribbean and then faraway into Spain to finish it's process. I enjoyed very much it's particular taste, I do felt the sherry notes present due to the aging process in Pedro Ximenez and i think it enrich the rum taste in a different way but in a really good different way, I like the balance between flavors, it is very smooth, as I say I like the rum for the process and it's particularity which makes it different and unique.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

Sødme 8/10
Lidt tam næse.
Sjov krads kortvarig smag som runder ud i noter af lakrids og sherry.
Købt 2014
Pris. 270 DV

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Very good marriage of sherry and rum. Reminded me of bourbon on the tongue, the nose is more sherry-like and the finish reveals the rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Richard k from Canada with 5 ratings

Like the finish in the port barrels I can sit and drink this bottle all by myself

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Il fallait oser aller aussi loin dans le côté Sherry, et je trouve que c'est très bien réussi. Assez atypique car son côté Porto n'a pas d'égal chez d'autres rhums.
Il a les caractéristiques d'un rhum de tradition anglaise (boisé, subtilement fruité, tabac, épices douces...) et un côté prune voire même pruneau très présent et fin à la fois.
Très sympa à l'apéritif (avec un petit jambon serrano)
Une autre belle porte d'entrée dans le monde du rhum

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Kicks up the notes from the 5+3, a very great sipping rum.