Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (540 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
17
48
124
229
97
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

540 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Lige efter min smag. Sød på den gode måde og fyldig. En af favoritterne i denne prisklasse.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by CaméLéon from United States with 3 ratings

Agréable au nez, le pruneau domine, des notes de réglisse apparaissent après quelques minutes.
En bouche l'influence du vieillissement en fûts ayant contenu du sherry se fait clairement sentir. Un peu trop sucré à mon gout (du caramel ayant été ajouté) et manque de longueur.
Finalement ce rhum est à recommander aux amateurs de porto.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by thmsngrn from France with 6 ratings

Un bon rhum, il ne rentre pas encore dans mon top 3 mais s'en approche. On retrouve des notes boisées et épicées tout en ayant un gout assez sucré. A recommander

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

Nice color, great story.. But to me it tastes lika a peated whisky with sugar in it.. Sorry to say since i had my hopes up for this one.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Nez épicé, âpreté de la poire en bouche, assez long
Arôme de muscadou et miel mille fleurs.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by tftowner106 from Canada with 23 ratings

Another excellent sipping rum which I enjoy with one ice cube. Delicious fruity notes - almost sherry like. A keeper!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

Very nice rum, but I like Ron Zacapa 23 and El Dorado 21 better. Sipped it straight with one ice cube.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Zeer zoete 5 jaar oude rum die daarna ook nog 5 jaar gerijpt is op spaanse sherry vaten. Wel lekker op zich maar niet écht rum meer, had van mij wat minder naar sherry/port mogen smaken.
(40%)

Edit:
36 gr/liter suiker toegevoegd. Punt minder.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 311 ratings

Dos Maderas 5+5 je směs rumů, které zrály 5 let v Karibiku (Guyana, Barbados), pak byly převezeny do Španělska, kde ve sklepech firmy Williams & Humbert zrají dalších 5 let v sudech po sherry, z toho 3 roky po Palo Cortado a dva roky po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez.
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Hluboká, mohutná vůně, z ktreré je Pedro Ximénez opravdu znát. Lékořice, sirupová nasládlost, kůže, anýz, trochu občas inklinuje i k portskému, s lehkým dotekem hutné ovocné přezrálosti. (88 b)
Chuť: Lékořice, opálené sudy, sladkost PX se tu míchá se suchostí sherry v dochuti, k tomu topinky a med. (91 b)
Body: 90
Shrnutí: Pár lahví Pedro Ximénez jsem v poslední době měl možnost ochutnat a vliv těchto sudů na rum je opravdu markantní. Přitom však stále víte, že opravdu pijete rum. Tohle je originální kousek, který se výrazně odlišuje od ostatních rumů. Za celkové vyznění a originalitu rád zaokrouhluju hodnocení směrem nahoru.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Brian Bak from Denmark with 20 ratings

Dufter rigtigt lækkert og har en flot gylden farve, men smagen er efter min mening meget sprittet og domineres af sherry og fad med en yderst begrænset smagsudviklingen.