Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (499 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
3
16
46
114
212
89
12

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


499 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

414f4d5ba4b70d47f4e1beb09fb7a3d0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Mr.B from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

For me this would be a nice desert drink to finish the evening.

4af6d383690c97a154ffadc704bdac42.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

"Er isch nit schlecht" hat sie gsagt die Birgit 😊 genießen ihn grad auf der Terasse

60e2c63907f95d63923d38db2110a67f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Great choice for an evening with friends, even rum tasting beginners. The PX cask gives him some nice new additions for complexity

2f742d63da03bb2282c36ce429f35330.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Among the sweet rums definitely one of my favorites. Dos Maderas 5+5 can find a good comparison in Diplomatico (Reserva Exclusiva), in my opinion also with Ron Millionario (15 years) in its sweetness.

The rum starts with a nicely shaped bottle, where I mainly appreciate the cork stopper (which is not always a standard nowadays). The rum itself is very dark color, just slightly lighter than Ron Millionario. Following other review, I must agree, the rum needs time to breathe and loose the strong alcoholic taste – especially for nosing, which then delivers nice sweet and smooth aroma. The taste then reminds me of sherry, I am not a rum expert, so this taste overwhelms the others for me at the moment. In the throat the rum is really smooth and the afterburn is long and sweet.

I would not recommend to sip this rum with any sweet food or snacks, as then it is really too sweet.

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very dark in color. Agressive nose at first that then evolves very nicely. The Jerez is very present with aromas of cherry wood, toffee, fig and candied fruits, and port wine. Mouth is smooth, very round, nicely balanced. The texture is a bit syrupy with flavours of sultanas. Finish is fair, a bit too sweet with a nice length.

7fc810d1c7dd138a8cd0a91b7ecabb96.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 187 ratings

Excellent choix. Offert par mon beau-frère, je me suis racheter une deuxième bouteille une fois terminé. Un gout complexe et bien mélangé. On sens son arome de chêne, de caramel, de noix. Très bon, je le recommande fortement.

A5ee0d909520bbda04c9aa2f41f90179.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 126 ratings

First smell is nice- fruity and sweet.
First taste is nice- fruity and sweet

I'm going to tell you a story about my daughter at a music festival (Jazzfest in New Orleans). She was about 12 and there was a vendor that had deep fried Twinkies. She got one and took a bite and proclaimed that she loved it and it was great! She took another bite and said this is disgusting, I can't stand it! She then threw it in the trash without hesitation.

While not to THAT extreme, this is very sweet. Overpoweringly sweet and it reminded me of that deep fried Twinkie.

edited to add sugar test results- 36g

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

This is the epitome of a thick sherry version of rum. Nice and sweet with a much heavier feel than most rums. Great peppery nose, and almost a walnut taste. The drawback to me is the finish, which is long and sticky - and seems to linger, but not in a great way.

38fdc1cc00a9074ddaebecec187e9a27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 191 ratings

Sugar: 36 gpl. This was one of my favorite rums with a rating of 9. Sweet and and very smooth with tastes of Port and Sherry. The rating of 9 is for the version shown in the left of the picture. It's now April 2015 and I just purchased a replacement bottle. The packaging has changed with the telltale sign being the removal of the printed gold ring around the top of the cylinder the bottle comes in. The foil is a darker brown and the label is different. Most important is that the taste is also quite different. The new release is not as smooth or sweet, and a pronounced oak taste with a smokey burn in the mouth. I have tried this several ways and I ended up dumping the bottle. For this reason, I would rate the new vintage a 5 and not buy it again. The point of this is like a fine wine, if you find a rum that you really like, buy several bottles from the same store as subsequent releases can disappoint you.

C9253fd06861e7e1b9ac92e7176db79b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A different taste from the "usual" rums, but I like it a lot. The taste from the sherry casks does a really good job. I would love to taste the 10+5 some time. More of this please - certainly a re-buy.

Ae636938c71459fba6b4e9c4e2050a95.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Dos Maderas PX 5x5 Rum er en meget speciel rom, med en utrolig stor fad smag, men ellers er smag og duft udmærket. Hvis den skal genkøbet går der et stykke tid.