Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (543 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
17
48
124
231
98
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

543 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Ffffff

Posted at Mimi Crabhouse over 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 40 ratings

At first nose it burns with a very sweet scent of sugar or something. Taste like Remy Martin VSOP or some type of cognac in the front and then sweet raisins and Sherry. It's a very full body with syrup like after taste. The after taste lingers, I had a beef burger prior to popping the top, it I think it helped my palet accept the different flavors. I didn't use my snifter so I'll revisit the 👃 at a later date. It does resemble diplomatic reserve exclusiva in sweetness but two different tastes.

To be honest I could drink this as a regular daily sipper. I tried it neat as I like all my rums so I can not give commentary on what water or ice gives or takes away. I would choose Foursquare Port no sugar over this any day or time of year. If you can find it for less then 40$ I would get it if above 40$ I wouldn't get it I would reach for Foursquare 11 year all day.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Roc James from United States with 6 ratings

After reading reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. Let it breath for about 30 minutes, and I was a little scared how much it smelled like sherry and not rum but it's the closet thing to heaven I've ever experienced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Dark brown, mahogany. Soft but strong aroma, oak and barrel softnes. Dried fruits and light laquer. Thick mouthfeel, soft nuts, dried fruits.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 84 ratings

"Er isch nit schlecht" hat sie gsagt die Birgit 😊 genießen ihn grad auf der Terasse

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Great choice for an evening with friends, even rum tasting beginners. The PX cask gives him some nice new additions for complexity

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

Among the sweet rums definitely one of my favorites. Dos Maderas 5+5 can find a good comparison in Diplomatico (Reserva Exclusiva), in my opinion also with Ron Millionario (15 years) in its sweetness.

The rum starts with a nicely shaped bottle, where I mainly appreciate the cork stopper (which is not always a standard nowadays). The rum itself is very dark color, just slightly lighter than Ron Millionario. Following other review, I must agree, the rum needs time to breathe and loose the strong alcoholic taste – especially for nosing, which then delivers nice sweet and smooth aroma. The taste then reminds me of sherry, I am not a rum expert, so this taste overwhelms the others for me at the moment. In the throat the rum is really smooth and the afterburn is long and sweet.

I would not recommend to sip this rum with any sweet food or snacks, as then it is really too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 100 ratings

Very dark in color. Agressive nose at first that then evolves very nicely. The Jerez is very present with aromas of cherry wood, toffee, fig and candied fruits, and port wine. Mouth is smooth, very round, nicely balanced. The texture is a bit syrupy with flavours of sultanas. Finish is fair, a bit too sweet with a nice length.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Excellent choix. Offert par mon beau-frère, je me suis racheter une deuxième bouteille une fois terminé. Un gout complexe et bien mélangé. On sens son arome de chêne, de caramel, de noix. Très bon, je le recommande fortement.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

First smell is nice- fruity and sweet.
First taste is nice- fruity and sweet

I'm going to tell you a story about my daughter at a music festival (Jazzfest in New Orleans). She was about 12 and there was a vendor that had deep fried Twinkies. She got one and took a bite and proclaimed that she loved it and it was great! She took another bite and said this is disgusting, I can't stand it! She then threw it in the trash without hesitation.

While not to THAT extreme, this is very sweet. Overpoweringly sweet and it reminded me of that deep fried Twinkie.

edited to add sugar test results- 36g

Small 0

Posted 5 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United States with 110 ratings

This is the epitome of a thick sherry version of rum. Nice and sweet with a much heavier feel than most rums. Great peppery nose, and almost a walnut taste. The drawback to me is the finish, which is long and sticky - and seems to linger, but not in a great way.