Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (523 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
4
17
46
120
224
92
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


523 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Ahle from Denmark with 22 ratings

A different taste from the "usual" rums, but I like it a lot. The taste from the sherry casks does a really good job. I would love to taste the 10+5 some time. More of this please - certainly a re-buy.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

Classic rum aint what comes to mind here. The sherry finish shines through quite a lot. Regardless this is quite tasty. On the nose you find caramel and fruits. The taste is very sweet and fruity, with clear notes of plum and raisin. Medium body. Very nice if your in the mood for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

There can be no doubting the quality and uniqueness here - raw material from Barbados and Guyana aged five years in oak, then transferred to Spain for 5 more years in Sherry barrels (two types!). The result has incredible flavor intensity, wonderful aroma and a gorgeous color. But from the first sniff, it's hard to know if you're tasting a rum...or a sherry...or something else. To my taste, this spirit steps over some imaginary line. It's not really a "rum experience". If you're looking for new and unique, try this. If you are a rum drinker looking for a pure, quality rum experience, look elsewhere.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

I was expecting very sweet and decent rum and I wasn't disappointed. 5+5 is very mild rum and with It's good looking bottle suitable gift aswell. From my point of view It's rum from group which I call honeyrums and tastes excelent!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 14 ratings

Very nice rum its very easy drinking and you can taste the sherry cask, so many great rums to taste and I'm at the end of this bottle, on to the next.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Orlando from United States with 3 ratings

This is a great rum for the price and surprisingly tasty because of the 5+5 blend.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Nice bottle with a cool story, this rum opens up with a rather sweet dose of spices in the aroma, followed by smooth smell of fruit and what I presume to be sherry after also tasting the sherry minibottles that came with the rum. The end of the aroma also catches a nice dried plum scent. Dark copper colour, medium legs run down my glass quite slowly after twirling it a few times..
The taste is very strange for me, and includes some biterness, honey, sherry and generally fruity taste, some tastes also found in heavy dry red wines, and alcohol but very manageable amount. Upon adding a few drops of water (tried 2-3 drops into a 0.02l amount of the spirit), the taste seems to smoothen around the edges and become less artificially sweet and more honey-like.
Almost no afterburn or exit, makes me wonder if this ain't a sweet syrup for kids or something. Oh and makes a crazy cool mixer to make your cocktails just a little different, however not sure it is priced as a casual mixer for everyone. Cannot say I do not like it, one glass is an interesting experience, but I would prefer to sip something else through the evening. Also offered this to three laides, each of whom was kinda happy, but nothing exceptional, They were only astonished by the rum once I actually used it to mix their favourite drinks, Jungle Bird, Daiquiri, "tequilla" sunrise and a non-jamaican Planter's Punch.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 28 ratings

Very good sweet smell. Taste also sweet, hangs in your mouth for a good time.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by v63d from Germany with 8 ratings

First of all, if you don't like sherry or sherry aroma, you should keep your hands off this rum. But if you get involved, you will find a great, pleasantly sweet and mild rum with a wonderful sherry aroma. At the beginning I was a bit sceptical because I generally don't drink sherry very often, but this rum is something different. Not too sweet, hardly any alcoholic bite and a sherry note that is not too strong and harmonizes wonderfully with the other flavours. Nearly full score!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian Platten from Canada with 1 rating

With ice it dilutes a little too much so go easy I'll try the frozen soapstone cubes

Ffffff

Posted at Mimi Crabhouse over 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 40 ratings

At first nose it burns with a very sweet scent of sugar or something. Taste like Remy Martin VSOP or some type of cognac in the front and then sweet raisins and Sherry. It's a very full body with syrup like after taste. The after taste lingers, I had a beef burger prior to popping the top, it I think it helped my palet accept the different flavors. I didn't use my snifter so I'll revisit the 👃 at a later date. It does resemble diplomatic reserve exclusiva in sweetness but two different tastes.

To be honest I could drink this as a regular daily sipper. I tried it neat as I like all my rums so I can not give commentary on what water or ice gives or takes away. I would choose Foursquare Port no sugar over this any day or time of year. If you can find it for less then 40$ I would get it if above 40$ I wouldn't get it I would reach for Foursquare 11 year all day.