Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (543 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
17
48
124
231
98
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

543 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

It's not bad at all, but not my cup of rum. Too much sherry for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

Classic rum aint what comes to mind here. The sherry finish shines through quite a lot. Regardless this is quite tasty. On the nose you find caramel and fruits. The taste is very sweet and fruity, with clear notes of plum and raisin. Medium body. Very nice if your in the mood for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

There can be no doubting the quality and uniqueness here - raw material from Barbados and Guyana aged five years in oak, then transferred to Spain for 5 more years in Sherry barrels (two types!). The result has incredible flavor intensity, wonderful aroma and a gorgeous color. But from the first sniff, it's hard to know if you're tasting a rum...or a sherry...or something else. To my taste, this spirit steps over some imaginary line. It's not really a "rum experience". If you're looking for new and unique, try this. If you are a rum drinker looking for a pure, quality rum experience, look elsewhere.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 days ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 199 ratings

Got the Dos Maderas gift pack as a gift from the RumRatings club team.
The content is a full bottle of 5+5 and four samples, one each of the rum base, the Dos Cortados Sherry, the 5+3 and the Don Guido Pedro Ximenez(PX) Sherry.

I started the tasting with the base which is a blend of 5yo rum from Guyana(DDL) and 5yo rum from Barbados (a little unclear if it comes from WIRD or Foursquare, seen both data) imported to Jerez in Spain, it’s quite good and I can clearly recognize Demerara. There’s probably a decent part Port Mourant in it.
Thereafter I went on with the Dos Cortados Sherry, which is very dry.
Then time for the 5+3, there the 5 stands for the aging of the base in the Caribbean and the 3 for 3 years of Solera aging in used Dos Cortados barrels in Jerez. These 3 years gives a clear footprint to the base and makes it drier. See further review below the 5+3.
The fourth sample is the super sweet and very dark red PX Sherry. A dessert wine.

Finally the tasting of the 5+5 which is the 5+3 finished for two more Solera years in used PX Sherry barrels. Have also read that they add a little PX Sherry to it. It’s very dark and quite sweet even if I had expected it even more sweet. These two last years and the eventual added flavors really gives it an significant flavor.
From nose to the medium long finish I recognize the sweet PX Sherry, raisins, vanilla, fruits and quite many other notes.

A peculiarity with this rum is that it start as English styled rum and finish up as a Latin styled rum in my opinion. Maybe it's because the two brothers-in-law, Williams & Humbert, who started the company, had a British background and therefore used English styled rum in the base.

This rum is too sweet and has to much taste of the PX Sherry in my opinion, but it has been very enjoyable to follow the development of this rum from the base via 5 + 3 to 5 + 5 and see how this aging (and eventually some added flavors) have changed taste and appearance.

Pictures: The content of the gift pack & My opened bottle of the 5+5.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by O'Neill from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

I was expecting very sweet and decent rum and I wasn't disappointed. 5+5 is very mild rum and with It's good looking bottle suitable gift aswell. From my point of view It's rum from group which I call honeyrums and tastes excelent!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Paul Unwin from United States with 14 ratings

Very nice rum its very easy drinking and you can taste the sherry cask, so many great rums to taste and I'm at the end of this bottle, on to the next.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Orlando from United States with 3 ratings

This is a great rum for the price and surprisingly tasty because of the 5+5 blend.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by KaemonAwa from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Nice bottle with a cool story, this rum opens up with a rather sweet dose of spices in the aroma, followed by smooth smell of fruit and what I presume to be sherry after also tasting the sherry minibottles that came with the rum. The end of the aroma also catches a nice dried plum scent. Dark copper colour, medium legs run down my glass quite slowly after twirling it a few times..
The taste is very strange for me, and includes some biterness, honey, sherry and generally fruity taste, some tastes also found in heavy dry red wines, and alcohol but very manageable amount. Upon adding a few drops of water (tried 2-3 drops into a 0.02l amount of the spirit), the taste seems to smoothen around the edges and become less artificially sweet and more honey-like.
Almost no afterburn or exit, makes me wonder if this ain't a sweet syrup for kids or something. Oh and makes a crazy cool mixer to make your cocktails just a little different, however not sure it is priced as a casual mixer for everyone. Cannot say I do not like it, one glass is an interesting experience, but I would prefer to sip something else through the evening. Also offered this to three laides, each of whom was kinda happy, but nothing exceptional, They were only astonished by the rum once I actually used it to mix their favourite drinks, Jungle Bird, Daiquiri, "tequilla" sunrise and a non-jamaican Planter's Punch.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 28 ratings

Very good sweet smell. Taste also sweet, hangs in your mouth for a good time.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by v63d from Germany with 8 ratings

First of all, if you don't like sherry or sherry aroma, you should keep your hands off this rum. But if you get involved, you will find a great, pleasantly sweet and mild rum with a wonderful sherry aroma. At the beginning I was a bit sceptical because I generally don't drink sherry very often, but this rum is something different. Not too sweet, hardly any alcoholic bite and a sherry note that is not too strong and harmonizes wonderfully with the other flavours. Nearly full score!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brian Platten from Canada with 1 rating

With ice it dilutes a little too much so go easy I'll try the frozen soapstone cubes