Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (543 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
17
48
124
231
98
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

543 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Beautiful mahogany color with fruity , grapes, figs . The sherry is very present and gives a nice structure to rum. Finally, it includes the Aging working in sherry and this double (triple) aging initiated with the little brother 5+3. The taste is long and delicate. Wonderful discovery and hopefully soon confirm a 9 or 10 with luxus

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Dominican Rob from United States with 2 ratings

Very surprised by this Rum. Definitely up there as one of my current favorites.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Elrix from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Did buy a bottle to have at my wedding together with some scotchs. Did far exceed my expectations. Bought it for 30 euros so did not expect much. Really sweet (in a good way) and smooth rum. There is some aftertaste of alcohol to it, which I am still not sure I like or dislike. For the price it was a steal and I will try other from this brand for sure.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

Intense cask taste. At start some alcohol vapors prevents full smell experience.
After 10-15 mins more aromas comes noticeable. All present vanilla as dominant (beside caks taste). Not to sweet. This is an interesting Rum, lots of flavors.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

...what a delicious product! It’s on the sweeter side and pretty good stuff. If you’re able to taste it, go ahead you won’t regret it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Regan from Canada with 75 ratings

Hard to nail this one down I find the rum very smooth and an enjoyable sipper the sherry cast finish give the rum it’s unique flavour , two thumbs up from me if you like to have a glass and enjoy all the nuances that come out in this rum as the ice melts
Smooth smooth smooth

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lilius.P from Denmark with 23 ratings

Even after 20 minutes in the glass, it still burns going down, i have tasted other rums that have afteraged i portcask, but this one has a very funky taste, i dont like it at all.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Lukas Szita from Slovakia with 11 ratings

Now thisis some good stuff'..........................

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Fmahy from Belgium with 22 ratings

Sa robe est d’un cuivre soutenu aux reflets rouges.

Au nez… pas mal de choses. Il y a des fruits, frais avec le raisin, confits avec le pruneau et à coque avec la noix, puis l’amande après un moment. Le fût est là aussi et nous offre un boisé bien équilibré et des notes de tabac. Il offre de manière générale une impression gourmande et sèche, intéressante.

En bouche, nous sommes sur le tabac et la noix, les fruits confits sont là aussi mais un peu en arrière-plan. L’ensemble est doux mais assez équilibré avec l’alcool.

La finale est longue. On retrouve des arômes appréciés plus tôt : le tabac, la noix, le pruneau et le boisé.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by petmarian from Slovakia with 4 ratings

If you like sherry aroma you would be satisfied, if not don't buy it. But most important it needs lot of time to breathe and oxidized. The rum is getting better after half of bottle is gone.
First time I opened it was to heavy on the nose and little bit bitter and harsh. I was disappointed and I left the bottle a side. After a time a got back and I was surprised by the change that happened during the short time.
On the nose you can smell sherry, dark fruits, plums and raisins, dried fruits, oak, a hint off nuts from the PX casks, vanilla in the beck, it reminds me on some cognac aroma, the sweetness comes through, but a different kind it is a fruit sweetness from sherry cask, and at the end after a sip you can get hint of chocolate and cacao.
On the palate you taste sweetness followed by sherry and wine taste, first time I tasted bitterness and harshness but next time it was more like nuts, spiciness, oakiness and a chocolate at the end.
The finish I had hint of coffee, but the end is not really long.
Overall it is a good rum, just need time to let him breath and then you can enjoy the complexity given from PX casks that make him special and worth to try. It is a good buy for its prize.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

OMG nice fragrance of Sherry!
The taste is very sweet with touch of dried fruits (plums and raisins).I love it!