Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (506 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
3
16
46
115
218
89
12

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


506 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Robca16 from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Výtečný jemný rum s chutí po cherry, nádherná láhev. Opravdu výborná kvalita.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Gary from United States with 33 ratings

Very smooth. Not to heavy or sweet. Very nice over ice.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Michal Pulák from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

Jeden z mych nejoblibenejsich rumu. Kdyz vezmu v uvahu pomer kvalita/cena tak z toho vychazi hodne dobre. Neda se jinak nez doporucit.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 70 ratings

In the glass it has a very nice yet somewhat subtle aroma. Taste is smooth and sweet without being overbearing. You must like sweet and heavier rums to enjoy this one. Overall a well done rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 69 ratings

Great one, ballanced, cherry trace, licorice touch, nice smell, colour. Wood barel influence...
One of best 4 me.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Miroslav Spinka from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Dark coloured and smoked flavoured rum,taste like dak chocolade,very gently,i can recomended

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kevin from United States with 29 ratings

Very sweet maple syrup nose. Not a bad sipper. Wonderful amber color. Very nice rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pinguholic from Germany with 1 rating

One of the best. I love the colour, smell and Taste. I have it always in My Bar!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Slovakia with 32 ratings

I am expected more from this rum. Very strong oak finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 127 ratings

I am getting ever more cautious with over sherry-ing rums. I recently had the Valdespino and the Abuela Oloroso 15 and found them near impossible to drink because they were too sherry-ed, too sweet and too unbalanced. This is verging on that, but the notes of raisins that comes from the PX does have a certain appeal. If in the mood, it will go down well, but how often will that mood come about? It is a better rum than the 5+3, even if the 5+3 is less sherry-ed, but ultimately it fails the very simple test - would I buy it again? I doubt it.

EDIT - after the initial interest from the raisiny notes from the PX, I found this near impossible to drink. I had an interesting time experimenting with what rum to mix it with to make it palatable. A rum that I could not find myself buying ever again. A shame as it is a well made rum, just in a style that I hate, albeit that appeals to many others.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

Better average rum for everyday joy :-)

Long bouquet.

Good money/taste ratio