Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (523 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
4
17
46
120
224
92
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


523 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by TomasM from Czech Republic with 63 ratings

It's not bad at all, but not my cup of rum. Too much sherry for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Chutny sladsi rum... Dozrieva 5 rokov v sudoch po sherry a je to v chuti aj citit. Vonia menej vyrazne za ovocim a melasou. Nieje to vynimocny rum, ale v tejto cenovej hladine to nieje ani ziadne sklamanie... treba skusit.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by CaptainTribble from United States with 6 ratings

Great color and smell, but it's way too sweet for my liking. Almost wine-like. And I'm not a wine guy. It's drinkable though, so I can't give it less than a 5. I tend to prefer a spicier blend without as much sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

This rum was quite a surprise. Bought a nice gift set with the 5x5 and 4 small 4cl ones. 1 of the cask it was in for the first 5 years, 1 5x3, 1 with the sherry from the cask where the rum was in afterwards for 3 years (this is the 5x3). And 1 with the sherry from the cask where the rum was in afterwards for 2 years. And a piece of the sherry cask itself.
It's a smooth rum where the taste of the sherry casks is in the end of a sip. Not too sweet, not too harsh. It has its own distinctive taste.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Giovanni Bomoll from Italy with 37 ratings

Taste of:
caramel, Vanilla, orange peel, sherry cask
-
The aging in sherry casks gives it a rich, sweet, very aromatic, very fragrant,
very special and original Flavor.
one of the best rum I've tried.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by acschiller25 from United States with 5 ratings

This doesn't have much of a rum taste. Definitely more of a Sherry taste to it. Not sweet or smooth

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by JOE Fagiano from Italy with 15 ratings

The bottle have a cheap price, but really great rhum for this money.
- small sweet and tipical melassa flavor rhum
- great density, mark on the glass
- first smell intense of caramel and vanilla, back flow of spice
- in the mouth first zip is sweet enough to give you the harmony of balanced fruits and spice .
- in the swallow no burning, but good pleasure of liquor and remaining long last vanilla taste.
Very good rhum to combine with chocolate.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by ripperussr from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Rhum aroma, raisins flavor in body taste, decent touch of vanilla and sweet aftertaste

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Clavius from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Výborný rum který jednoznačně zaujme. Mírně sladší chuť s náznaky dřeva a sherry, jemný, hladký... doporučuji.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Agradable sabor aterciopelado y dulce aroma. Sutíl toque de madera y delicioso sabor a Jeréz. Quizás no lo esperado de un ron, pero un indispensable en cualquier colección.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by marekmikus from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

It is not too sweet, but smooth and with cherry taste. But not my favourite.