Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


487 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Excellent choix. Offert par mon beau-frère, je me suis racheter une deuxième bouteille une fois terminé. Un gout complexe et bien mélangé. On sens son arome de chêne, de caramel, de noix. Très bon, je le recommande fortement.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

It has a wau-effect! So sweet rhum. It could be a little too sweet! Beautiful taste of sweet port wine.

Posted over 4 years ago by Fred from France with 13 ratings

Un rhum de qualité, très liquoreux. Le nez est plutôt classique, caramélisé et boisé; en bouche l'alcool est très présent, le goût est doux et sucré, ce qui le rend très proche d'une liqueur. Le caramel prédomine, des notes de prunes, de cerises et d'épices se révèlent, et la finale est assez longue. Parfait en digestif, il pourra satisfaire les habitués aux cognac et armagnac.

Posted over 4 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

This is really smooth. Very similar to Papas Pilar or Zaya. Tastes very sweet. I'd recommend if you like a sweeter rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Once again I approach this as one who is no expert but knows what he likes and he likes this one. Sipping it straight reveals a sweetness along with a bit of a burn that fades to a nice warmth. Definitely a complex rum. More complex than I can decipher. However it is clear I can...and do...enjoy it in a Coke Zero as well with some ice. Some would say not to waste it on mixed drinks but if you're going to have a great mixed drink use a great rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

A great scent, well balanced taste but a little too much Sherry taste for me to make it a real favorite.

Posted over 4 years ago by David Hollander from Netherlands with 23 ratings

De Dos Maderas Anejo 5YO + 5YO wordt geproduceerd door een fabrikant die oorspronkelijk bekend stond om een bijzonder exclusieve sherry. De firma Williams & Humbert toont nu met een rum dat zoiets bijzonders ook mogelijk is in het geval van rum. En dat hoge kwaliteit en ervaring in de produktie van gedistilleerde dranken een belangrijke rol spelen.

Een heldere gouden kleur en de kleine bolvormige fles zorgen er al voor dat deze rum visueel aantrekkelijk is. Verder worden er aromas en smaken waargenomen van fruit, zoetigheid en vanille. Heerlijk exotisch, zacht en mild.

Posted over 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

One of my favorites. It really taste and smell, like raisins. It´s sweet and delicious. Quite different from other rums.

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

Nicely sweet with a fair amount of sherry scent/taste, oak, and a touch of spice. A bit heavy on the sherry, but good.

Posted over 4 years ago by MartinH from Slovakia with 10 ratings

sweet, fruity, tastes and smells more like cognac, very good choice if you want to give it as a gift somebody who likes cognacs, but you prefer rums! :)

Posted over 4 years ago by solidemachine from Canada with 8 ratings

Malgré son prix grandement inférieur, ce rhum tient tête au meilleur produit d'Appleton et autres rhumerie industrielle.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Silnejsi, ostrejsi s orechovou chuti a pomerne trpky na konci

Posted over 4 years ago by Garden from Czech Republic with 2 ratings

Yees, this rum is 5 years in carribean and 5 years in Spain, i like it:-) this is one of my favorite rums, nice taste, nice colour.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dimas from US with 15 ratings

This a very good stuff, open it one day before you will drink this bottle of run and you will get the best taste of it without blend (remove the seal and let it rest capped). Needs to breathe, that's all.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jeff from FR with 18 ratings

Attaque douce, puis présence de l'alcool assez puissante et une longue finale.qui valorise le double élevage. Une vraie sensation de liqueur avec des arômes de pruneaux. Très étonnant. Un régal.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

I like this alot, real good taste, I plan on getting the Luxus version. But this is real good.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Peter from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

+ gentle taste, just so sweet, for this ager rum balanced taste, surprice for me at this price category
- flavor, ordinary bottle

Posted almost 5 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

One of my favs - strong, but still smooth, complete and full.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Putting your rum into bourbon casks first, then into casks of two different kinds of sherry, seems to be a very good idea.

This rum has vanilla and raisin in the nose, then vanilla, cacao and oak on your tongue, with a very good, lasting finish.

Maybe a little to much of brand with the first sip, but this changes sipping on.

Posted almost 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

Très marqué par le pedro ximenes qui l'a aidé à vieillir, cette diversité fait toute la richesse de ses rhums ayant profité d'un bon finish

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I did bring this bottle to friends to have after dinner together with coffee and chocolate. all of us did aprecate it a lot espesially the womans that was negativ towardds Rum from the beginning.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jörn Rohleder from Finland with 23 ratings

Boy is this one smooth. It has the body of a sherry paired with the attitude of a good rum. I love to have a sip after a good meal. Nice to have on your shelf

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Posted almost 5 years ago by thearn3 from Canada with 14 ratings

i have today that I had mostly up to this time have only tasted my rum with colas. I know, sacrilege! I am now trying to develope my palate with only an occasional ice cube and letting the rum breath a bit before sampling. I really did enjoy the unique flavor of this style of rum and as many have stated, you can taste the influence of the Sherry! Will have to try another bottle before I pass judgment on future purchases!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Very strong alcohol burn for a 10 yr old rum , almost tastes like whisky ! Not as smooth as i hoped and a dry , hot finish . On the positive side , makes a fantastic cuba libre ! Not a sipper for me this one.