Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10 (506 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
3
16
46
115
218
89
12

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


506 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Clavius from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Výborný rum který jednoznačně zaujme. Mírně sladší chuť s náznaky dřeva a sherry, jemný, hladký... doporučuji.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 83 ratings

Agradable sabor aterciopelado y dulce aroma. Sutíl toque de madera y delicioso sabor a Jeréz. Quizás no lo esperado de un ron, pero un indispensable en cualquier colección.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by marekmikus (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 40 ratings

It is not too sweet, but smooth and with cherry taste. But not my favourite.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 137 ratings

I am big fan of rum, which is why, I do reviews on the site. I am, however, also very fond of PX-sherry, so it was only a matter of time before I got around to tasting this bad boy.

Nose: Big hit of sherry with a signature smell of raisins and wood
Taste: Classic sherry-tastes of figs, dates and raisins. A small burn with a long aftertaste.
Overall: This is a very nice rum with a big hit of sherry in both smell, taste and mouthfeel. It can be a bit to sweet for some, but if you love either rum or sherry, then this should be right up your alley.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Raesi01 from Netherlands with 3 ratings

Best rum in the mid-price
The taste of sherry is perfect in balance.
Sweet and very smooth

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Davejohn from Canada with 31 ratings

I found this to be an interesting rum to taste. The flavours are numerous and the more you sip it the more you seem able to identify. This must be the result of the aging in 3 different casks in 2 very different locations.
There is the slightest bit of harshness in the back of the throat, however this soon disappears and the flavours come forward.
Overall an acceptable sipper, although not top drawer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by slugo from United States with 1 rating

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 188 ratings

Havde virkelig store forventninger til denne, så blev meget skuffet. En anelse tør og uden de store smagsnuancer. Får alligevel 7, for det er ikke en dårlig rom. Jeg havde bare forventet meget mere. Tilføjet i 2019: Næse af vanilje og lidt appelsin. Sød og tør, men tænker lidt på kirsebærvin i slutningen. Holder dig fast ved de 7 (13. December 2018 i MacY)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Sweet and smooth is a great combination. You can definitely pick up on the Sherry notes from the aging process.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

trop boisé pour moi, reste intéressant à goûter mais sans plus