Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
561 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
18
49
129
237
103
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

561 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 95 ratings

A bit harsh at the beginning, after very nice, smooth aftertaste with caramel, vanilla, chocolate, sweet, complex. Delicius; as well as world of sherry.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Apoffis from Czech Republic with 7 ratings

Velmi zajímavá třešňová chuť, na poprvé nic moc, pokud si člověk zvykne na třešňovou chuť (a že to jde lehce) pak je to jeden z nejlepších rumů co jsem ochutnal

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by CsampoXL from Czech Republic with 5 ratings

Zdravím a skládam poklonu tomuto umu 5+5 se povedlo aroma naprosto hřejivé až sladké vyvážené. Chuťově bomba jemný uvolňující dojem SUPER požitek do skupiny sladších rumů na pomalé popíjení když mají muži své dny jasná volba !

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jakehauritz from Australia with 1 rating

There are some wonderful rums out there, mostly at higher price points, but time and time again I come back to the magnificent rum. This is the rum I get out for my mates who prefer scotch - and nearly all absolutely love it.

Straight or with a single ice cube, this rum is a perfect blend of smooth caramel with enough complexity and grunt to let you really enjoy it.

Would recommend to those starting out and more experienced rum drinkers alike.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by MDMIII from United States with 4 ratings

A sweet rum with a balanced amount of oak. Smells of leather and cinnamon. Taste of sweet brown sugar with fruit, faintly butterscotch and nuts. The perfect amount of oak to tame the finish. I don’t find that it has any of the burn that others describe. Definitely a thumbs up at this price.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Robin Wouters from Belgium with 15 ratings

This is a Fine rum. Not to sweet, not to dry. I'm Just not a big fan of the after taste, but I can imagine a lot of People Will Like this rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 325 ratings

This is a spicy and sweet rum. The taste is very intensiv because of this combination.
Since I have Presindete Marti 23 and Esclavo XO, this one is not very special for me (but the cocoa is still interesting).
I don't like strong sweetness with spice. The spice intensifies the sweetness. There is a strong disbalance in the taste because of that. Flavors are dark with cocoa, burned sugar, dried fruits, mandarine. There is also a younger rum in the taste (champignon aroma).

Smell: cocoa, dried fruit, spice, burnt sugar, nutmeg, sweetness, wood, fruits (mandarine)
Taste initial: burnt caramel, mandarine, cocoa
Middle: spice, light sherry note, oak, sweetness, milk chocolate, champignon
Finish: middle long, sweet, burnt suggar
Aftertaste of burned caramel and then sherry, after 2min.

Sweetness: 4 / 5
Spice: 3.5/5
Fruit: 3 / 5
Mildness: 3.5 / 5
Value (35€): 3/5

Similar rum: Esclavo XO, more balanced, more wood, more mandarine in the taste and smell.
Presidente Marti 23 - less mandarine, no cocoa aroma

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mrum from United States with 11 ratings

One of my favorites. Solid sipping rum with a bit of a sugary taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 9 ratings

I was excited to try this rum and it sure did not disappoint. A blend of Guyanese and Bajan rums, the ageing in Sherry barrels is sure noticeable. I get dried fruit and burnt sugar on the nose and going down. Slight woodiness in the aftertaste. Very little burn. Very smooth. A rum I will buy again.

Update: Jan 2020. Bought more. Still great.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Fish from Canada with 3 ratings

So smooth!!! So unique!! Colour and aroma are truly awesome