Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10(552 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
18
49
127
233
100
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

552 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 25 ratings

I really enjoy this rum. On the nose there's sweet and fruity, on the palate is sherry and sugar, and the finish is smooth and flavorful. In my short list when I want to relax. This rum is one most amazing value for the price. The 5+5 (or it should be 5+3+2, as this is the maturation time), is sweet and full of sherry flavor. You can pick up the sweetness of molasses, but for me the sherry flavor is so present in the palate that is wonderful. The finish is light with additional sweetness.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

Excellent rum solera style. Notes of dry fruits and raisins. Excellent.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Oliver from Germany with 12 ratings

What a surprise! One of the best brown rums I ever tasted. Dark brown colour, smooth, full flavor, sweet character. Compares easily with a Qorum of double the price.
My bottle looks different, on the label it says: Dos Maderas Triple Aged Rum 5+5. Don't know if it just looks different or of it is a different rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Ok , great taste. .

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jbecker36 from United States with 4 ratings

I bought this while in the Caribbean and I'm happy that I did, although it isn't my favorite rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by plastre from Slovakia with 12 ratings

For the price my favorite one! I can understand this is not a taste for everybody, but I like it. Tastes a little bit fruity, sweet but I love it!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Dennis93 from Denmark with 15 ratings

Very nice sweet and smooth rum.
A rum I would by again.
I like it best a bit chilled around 15 degrees and after it had a bit of time in the class.
Very nice and aromatic rum with brown carmely, plum and bit resin notes.

Small img 20190805 wa0000

Posted 1 year ago by Rinushorn from France with 85 ratings

Ce ron andaloux est plein de surprises. Son finish en fûts de sherry lui octroie un côté très gourmand sans être trop sucré.
J'adore !

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by balbonehead from United States with 8 ratings

Sweet with a very subtle vanilla (I think). Smooth and with very little burn. Comparable to Doc Brown Dark just half the sweetness

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 369 ratings

Thanks to my bad experience with Papas Pilar rums, I have stayed away from rums aged in sherry casks. So I had a WTF moment and this rum was only $40, so I took my chances. When I got home, I also had no idea that it has 36 gpl of added sugar, which qualifies it as a sugar bomb. However, since I like it better than my current top sugar bomb (DRE), this now qualifies this one with a rating of 7. Since it is so hard for me to find, I doubt that I will go hunting for it again.

Oh yes, what about the flavors? Despite having the last 5 years aged in sherry barrels in Spain, the sherry flavors are quite subdued and not in your face. It somehow manages to still taste like a rum, because the type of sherry aging is what counts. Very well done, but I have been staying clear from heavily sugared rums. They don't hold their flavors in the bottle and they are bad for one's health.