Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas PX 5+5 rum

Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Barbados | Aged

Dos Maderas PX 5 + 5 rum is made from a combination of rums from Barbados and Guyana. It is unique becuase of its triple ageding process where for 5 initial years the rum is aged in the Carribean in oak casks. Next PX 5 + 5 is aged in Spain for 5 years in sherry casks, and lastly for 2 more years in even older sherry casks.

The Dos Maderas family of rums are produced by Bodegas Williams & Humbert, which is a well known Spanish winery founded by Sir Alexander Williams in the late 1800s. The region of Spain where the winery is located has a climate perfectly suited for wine and is known as Europe's wine cellar.

7.6/10
561 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
5
18
49
129
237
103
13

Rate Dos Maderas PX 5+5

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

561 Dos Maderas PX 5+5 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Jan Ekstrøm from Denmark with 22 ratings

og fløjlsblød i munden. Har gode søde nuancer med lækker fylde. Er desværre løbet tør, men kommer nok i skabet igen.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 10 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 274 ratings

I think the French started it and Spain does a nice job further aging Caribbean rums another 5 years in Brandy casks. I wish they did not add in sugars as this is a solid great sipping rum. Tasted again and moved it up a notch.

Small img 20200430 195740

Posted 10 months ago by Noname from France with 51 ratings

Très bon rhum facile d approche du fait du coté "sucré". En bouche c est riche! De nombreuses saveurs remontent.
Pas pour les amateurs de rhums sec

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Ian H (PREMIUM) from United States with 8 ratings

The smoothest liquor I have ever tried...noticeably better than all of the other more expensive rums I’ve had

Small img 1323

Posted 10 months ago by Simson from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

Bottle: nice classic bulbous shape + right cork cap
Color: Darker amber
Aroma: wonderfully delicate, rum-scent without any smoky or pungent tails. It is similar to Contadora 15 or Diplomatico 12, perhaps a little stronger.
Taste: Although many reviews say it's more of a sweet rum, it's not quite true. At the beginning it is slightly sweet, but the end is so slightly sharper - whiskey taste. It's a little less sweet than Diplomatico 12 or even the Contadora 15. After a longer sipping, the sharpness disappears a bit (or you get used to it). But it is definitely not dry rum.

I have to admit that the Contadora 15, with which I compared it, tastes a little better. Contadora is not a well-known rum, but it is really good.

But I definitely recommend Dos Maderas. I give 8 points from 10.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by tmsharp from Puerto Rico with 11 ratings

Surprisingly good for a younger rum. Nice flavor combinations.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Indian1 from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

My best. Very tasty, I love its sherry cask😀 accurate sweet, lovely cherry, caramel. Great for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 22 ratings

Rozhodovala jsem se mezi 5+5 a Seleccion a připadalo mi, že chuťový rozdíl není natolik výrazný, abych zvolila dražší výrobek. Jemný sladší rum.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Jagged from Slovakia with 63 ratings

Veľmi jemný a vyvážený rum. Vôňa po trstinovom cukre, vanilke, slabo nejaké ovocie. Chuť sladšia jemná po sherry a záver mi pripomína horku čokoládu.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 25 ratings

Sweet, smooth, pleasant and interesting surprise for me. I like it.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 79 ratings

Velmi příjemně voní, chuť je dobrá, ale přišla mě trochu plochá, oproti 5+3 a Selection mě tolik nezaujala