Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Dos Maderas 5+3

Barbados | Aged

6.3/10 (86 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
11
39
15
12
2
1

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


86 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 58 ratings

I am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Fruity (orange mostly) with a hint of charred oak and a little vanilla on the nose, all very light. More spice and nuts on the palate with a hint of sherry (brandy). A little mocha bitter in the end and (thank you, thank you) not that much sugar added. Ok, not really dry but close enough to keep all the fresh and fruity notes alive.

Nice and light sipper for a change of flavours but at its pricepoint underperforming; I can buy a Mount Gay XO (with some change left) or a Doorly's 12yo and there is no way this comes even remotely close.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

A bit dry, with strong alcohol scent. It opens up in a bit sweet vanila and oak

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

5 years in oak casks + 3 years in spain in sherry Dos Cortados casks in solera system. Interesting method of aging already used by different company but the double or triple aging is the "marque de fabrique" of Dos Maderas. Sweet notes of dried fruits (nuts) and toasted aroma in the mouth. Sweet but not very long aftertaste. Need more maturity. Waiting to taste big brother...

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by Panchieri from Belgium with 18 ratings

am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 307 ratings

Alkohol: 37,5 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Vanilka, lihovost, čerstvé dřevo, za tím pak závan broušené kůže a špetka lékořice. (70 b)
Chuť: Na osm let hodně slabé. Stejně jako ve vůni dost lihové, trocha nasládlosti. Dřevo, větrovost jen mírná, v dochuti trochu nahořklý. (70 b)
Body: 70
Shrnutí: Velmi slabý rum, ale pro porovnání, čeho leze dosáhnout stařením za další dva roky v sudu po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez, je to skvělé. Ten vývoj k Dos Maderas 5+5 je až neuvěřitelný.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 201 ratings

Duft af vanille og lidt sprit. Tør i smagen, men man kan sagtens smage, at den har lagret på sherryfade. Det giver en finish af kirsebær. Ikke en rom jeg ville vælge blandt andre, men kan sagtens drikke den, hvis der ikke er andet, og ville nok ikke nænne at blande den til drinks. De to år ekstra i 5+5 gør en lille forskel.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 205 ratings

The 5+5 is great, but the 5+3 is lacking and not worth trying in my book. Similar but lacking the smoothness and depth of 5+5.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Not much worth noting here.
I went through a bottle of it without ever feeling like I found a way for it to shine. Disappears in a cocktail. Not great on its own.

Not something I would try again.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by sebastospud from United States with 16 ratings

Put this in a nosing glass, and got some nice banana and toffee along with the vanilla and oak. The sip was not so complex, but smooth and. Ice.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 302 ratings

Jemný ve vůni i v chutí, méně sladší než 5 + 5y, závěr ostřejší