Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Dos Maderas 5+3

Barbados | Aged

6.3/10
99 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
11
45
20
13
2
1

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

99 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 319 ratings

Alkohol: 37,5 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Vanilka, lihovost, čerstvé dřevo, za tím pak závan broušené kůže a špetka lékořice. (70 b)
Chuť: Na osm let hodně slabé. Stejně jako ve vůni dost lihové, trocha nasládlosti. Dřevo, větrovost jen mírná, v dochuti trochu nahořklý. (70 b)
Body: 70
Shrnutí: Velmi slabý rum, ale pro porovnání, čeho leze dosáhnout stařením za další dva roky v sudu po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez, je to skvělé. Ten vývoj k Dos Maderas 5+5 je až neuvěřitelný.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 7 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 227 ratings

Got the Dos Maderas gift pack as a gift from the RumRatings club team.
The content is a full bottle of 5+5 and four samples, one each of the rum base, the Dos Cortados Sherry, the 5+3 and the Don Guido Pedro Ximenez(PX) Sherry.

I started the tasting with the base which is a blend of 5yo rum from Guyana(DDL) and 5yo rum from Barbados (a little unclear if it comes from WIRD or Foursquare, seen both data) imported to Jerez in Spain, it’s quite good and I can clearly recognize Demerara. There’s probably a decent part Port Mourant in it.
Thereafter I went on with the Dos Cortados Sherry, which is very dry.
Then time for the 5+3, there the 5 stands for the aging of the base in the Caribbean and the 3 for 3 years of Solera aging in used Dos Cortados barrels in Jerez. These 3 years gives a clear footprint to the base and makes it drier.
From nose to the medium long finish I recognize dry Sherry, vanilla, caramel, oak and fruit. It’s just slightly sweet and quite good even if it not really can compete with the Sherry finished English Harbour.

At this stage (5+3) I feel that it’s an English styled rum.

For the rest of the tasting of the gift pack see my review of the 5+5.

Pictures: Content of the gift pack & The emptied sample of the 5+3.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 89 ratings

I am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Fruity (orange mostly) with a hint of charred oak and a little vanilla on the nose, all very light. More spice and nuts on the palate with a hint of sherry (brandy). A little mocha bitter in the end and (thank you, thank you) not that much sugar added. Ok, not really dry but close enough to keep all the fresh and fruity notes alive.

Nice and light sipper for a change of flavours but at its pricepoint underperforming; I can buy a Mount Gay XO (with some change left) or a Doorly's 12yo and there is no way this comes even remotely close.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 134 ratings

it's just flat, the smell is better than the taste, nevertheless, it's easy to drink

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

A bit dry, with strong alcohol scent. It opens up in a bit sweet vanila and oak

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 203 ratings

Sugar: estimated at 14 -16 GPL. This rum is no where near the 5+5 big brother. The Sherry taste is there along with some vanilla, ginger, and honey. It's got a strong alcohol aroma with a trace of something akin to sulphur. It took me back to the 70's when we used to get used whiskey or rum barrels and put water in them to eventually create a wild beverage called "Barrel Wash". Long and strong on the alcohol and short on smoothness. Definitely a "Mix Only" type of rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 400 ratings

5 years in oak casks + 3 years in spain in sherry Dos Cortados casks in solera system. Interesting method of aging already used by different company but the double or triple aging is the "marque de fabrique" of Dos Maderas. Sweet notes of dried fruits (nuts) and toasted aroma in the mouth. Sweet but not very long aftertaste. Need more maturity. Waiting to taste big brother...

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by DarkHellHunter1991 from Germany with 7 ratings

Er besticht mit einer leicht scharfen Note. An sich ganz solide aber muss es mögen. Im Vergleich zum Dos Maderas 5 + 5 merkt man das ihm die 2 Jahre doch sehr fehlen. Kein schlechter Rum, aber kein einfacher

Ffffff

Posted 20 days ago by Paul from Australia with 135 ratings

so in for a penny in for a pound, new nothing about it bought it blind. Its beautiful. Doesn't have an alcoholic taste, not to weak not to face punching, bloody brilliant

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Kevin from United States with 34 ratings

My frist few sips were disappointing. No alcohol burn but no flavor at all. I couldn't see mixing because it would add nothing. It's not bad, just nothing there.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Klumpie from Netherlands with 10 ratings

This was my first rum, takes me back to some good memories. Don't know how it tastes anymore, was over 10 years back during internship at that company. Will get it again someday.