Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


76 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV. No nose. Seriously… smells like nothing. If I swirl and inhale vigorously, I get the faintest hint of caramel. Wouldn't say sherry if I didn't already know it was there, but it's identifiable in the "after-smell," if that makes any sense (note: I think this means on the back end or finish of the nose). Huh. Palate is agreeable. Still a little light in flavor, which I would characterize as both deep and hollow. There's wood, for sure. Reminds me a tad of MGXO, perhaps, or ST1796? But a little "prickly" like a dry sherry. Strange. As usual, it gets better over time, but still smells like nothing.

When considering the Dos Maderas lineup, I decided to try this one first, and then if I liked it, I'd also try the 5+5. But this one was such a big disappointment, I wish I had just tasted the 5+5 instead. Now, I'm not interested in anything below Luxus (which I've heard is lovely). Just nothing to get excited about here.

Boring and not recommendable.

6+

Posted over 3 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

A bit dry, with strong alcohol scent. It opens up in a bit sweet vanila and oak

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

5 years in oak casks + 3 years in spain in sherry Dos Cortados casks in solera system. Interesting method of aging already used by different company but the double or triple aging is the "marque de fabrique" of Dos Maderas. Sweet notes of dried fruits (nuts) and toasted aroma in the mouth. Sweet but not very long aftertaste. Need more maturity. Waiting to taste big brother...

Posted 3 days ago by Mayfield017 from United States with 3 ratings

Bold, aromatic, tasty, not expensive, and smooth..

Posted 7 days ago by Yana from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Jediný z dosud vyráběných Dos Maderas, který je sušší, chutí mi připadá až do whiskey.

Posted 7 days ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 35 ratings

I am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Fruity (orange mostly) with a hint of charred oak and a little vanilla on the nose, all very light. More spice and nuts on the palate with a hint of sherry (brandy). A little mocha bitter in the end and (thank you, thank you) not that much sugar added. Ok, not really dry but close enough to keep all the fresh and fruity notes alive.

Nice and light sipper for a change of flavours but at its pricepoint underperforming; I can buy a Mount Gay XO (with some change left) or a Doorly's 12yo and there is no way this comes even remotely close.

Posted 20 days ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Vůně jemně vanilková. Chuť spíž suchá, lehce štiplavá. Barva velmi připomíná moč :-)

Posted about 2 months ago by findecano from Austria with 5 ratings

Oaky smell with a hint of sherry sweetness. Only light alcoholic smell.
Light body, with a taste similar to the smell, wooden and dominated by the oak casc. Slightly lightens up at the end with a hint of sherry.
Feels slightly dry, no long aftertaste but also little alcoholic burn.

Posted about 2 months ago by András Péter Balogh from Hungary with 41 ratings

Loose little rum. It may lack a little body, but it is compensated by the harmony of flavors. Definitely a sipping rum.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Beaucoup moins bon que le Dos Maderas 5+5. peux se boire sur glace ou avec un accompagnement.

Posted 2 months ago by Pavel from Czech Republic with 133 ratings

it's just flat, the smell is better than the taste, nevertheless, it's easy to drink

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Nejhorsi z Maderasu, co jsem pil, nestoji za to, už ne

Posted 3 months ago by nichaos from Greece with 77 ratings

Κατώτερο των προσδοκιών . Έντονο αλκοόλ , αρώματα και γεύσεις που δεν διαρκούν. πολλά καλλίτερα σε αυτήν την τιμή . Το ότι δεν είναι κακό δεν είναι από μόνο του αρκετό

Posted 4 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Sight oak flavoring when sipped. Mixed nondescript. Stronger than the 5 + 5. Latter was more pleasant.

Posted 4 months ago by Lukasz from Poland with 18 ratings

Aged rum with a two-stage ripening process. First, he rests for 5 years in American oak barrels in the Caribbean. Later, it is sent to the Williams & Humbert vineyard in Jerez (Andalusia - Spain), where it undergoes the final stage of aging, which lasts for three years in barrels that were previously used for aging honored with the international sherry "Dos Cortados". Sweet aroma - vanilla, toffee, chocolate-covered cherries, raspberry. In the mouth - figs, a lot of wood tannins, even too much because it gets tart, bitter tea, a hint of pepper. The finish is pleasant - the astringency is still there, but it is skin and tea with sugar. At the end of the note salty licorice salmiakki surprises.

Posted 5 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Mucho vino, toque Caribe. Un poco alcohólico al final

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Tento rum ma skôr sklamal a medzi ním a starším PX5+5 je obrovský rozdiel. Tento je o čosi suchšie,no skôr fádny,ničím neprekvapil a preto každému odporúčam si doplatiť pár EUR a kúpiť jeho staršieho brata.

Posted 6 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Nothing wrong but not enough right. Light flavor and burn. Almost no nose. Price point is high for what you get.

Posted 7 months ago by Ruslan from Ukraine with 12 ratings

Хороший, но по качествам уступает своему брату '5+5'

Posted 7 months ago by Surfer_66 from Italy with 4 ratings

Mi aspettavo di più da questo rum, leggendo recensioni, anche se il gusto è molto soggettivo, lo pensavo migliore... all’ olfatto è piacevole, ma il gusto lo trovo piatto, eccessivo tenore di alcol che non riesce a farmelo apprezzare appieno!

Posted 9 months ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

Tastes a bit worn out. But also could be the bottle. I wouldn’t remember the taste for long, it’s too weak. Light

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

A good blend of the 5 and 3 to make something that taste about 8.

Posted about 1 year ago by Miroslav from Slovakia with 32 ratings

Nie zlé, skôr sa to hodí na celovečerné pitie v skupine ako na mňamku na večer.
Celkom chutný, zázrak sa nekonal, hlavne v tejto cenovej relácii.

Posted about 1 year ago by jjimmy from Slovakia with 23 ratings

Ocakaval som lepsiu chut. Chuti dost po vanilke. Oproti 5+5 je to sklamanie.

Posted about 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Svetla farba uz vopred napovedala, ze rum nebude mat vyraznu chut. Vona jemna, citit sudy od sherry PX, v ktorych rum zrel 3 roky. Chut suchsia, alkohol sice nepreraza nejak extremne vyrazne, ale rum nema telo a nieje nicim zaujimavy. Dochut v ustach neostava ziadna. Par rokov v sude by mu este prospelo... Nic vynimocne medzi premiovymi rumami.