Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Dos Maderas 5+3

Barbados | Aged

6.3/10(90 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
11
40
18
12
2
1

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

90 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

I didn't expected it to be this complex.
A bit on the dry side.
Bitter and alcohol taste at the start, evolving too a sweet (not too sweet) taste with a bit of oak in it.
Finishes of with some exotic fruits ( and maybe marzipan).

At the first sip i didn't liked it that much. But the more i tasted it the more i liked it.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 1 month ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 205 ratings

Got the Dos Maderas gift pack as a gift from the RumRatings club team.
The content is a full bottle of 5+5 and four samples, one each of the rum base, the Dos Cortados Sherry, the 5+3 and the Don Guido Pedro Ximenez(PX) Sherry.

I started the tasting with the base which is a blend of 5yo rum from Guyana(DDL) and 5yo rum from Barbados (a little unclear if it comes from WIRD or Foursquare, seen both data) imported to Jerez in Spain, it’s quite good and I can clearly recognize Demerara. There’s probably a decent part Port Mourant in it.
Thereafter I went on with the Dos Cortados Sherry, which is very dry.
Then time for the 5+3, there the 5 stands for the aging of the base in the Caribbean and the 3 for 3 years of Solera aging in used Dos Cortados barrels in Jerez. These 3 years gives a clear footprint to the base and makes it drier.
From nose to the medium long finish I recognize dry Sherry, vanilla, caramel, oak and fruit. It’s just slightly sweet and quite good even if it not really can compete with the Sherry finished English Harbour.

At this stage (5+3) I feel that it’s an English styled rum.

For the rest of the tasting of the gift pack see my review of the 5+5.

Pictures: Content of the gift pack & The emptied sample of the 5+3.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 68 ratings

I am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Fruity (orange mostly) with a hint of charred oak and a little vanilla on the nose, all very light. More spice and nuts on the palate with a hint of sherry (brandy). A little mocha bitter in the end and (thank you, thank you) not that much sugar added. Ok, not really dry but close enough to keep all the fresh and fruity notes alive.

Nice and light sipper for a change of flavours but at its pricepoint underperforming; I can buy a Mount Gay XO (with some change left) or a Doorly's 12yo and there is no way this comes even remotely close.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Razvan from Denmark with 30 ratings

A bit dry, with strong alcohol scent. It opens up in a bit sweet vanila and oak

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

5 years in oak casks + 3 years in spain in sherry Dos Cortados casks in solera system. Interesting method of aging already used by different company but the double or triple aging is the "marque de fabrique" of Dos Maderas. Sweet notes of dried fruits (nuts) and toasted aroma in the mouth. Sweet but not very long aftertaste. Need more maturity. Waiting to taste big brother...

Small 8f16dbbd 100a 4b64 b3d5 68727828d3f4

Posted 16 days ago by Kabi4 from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

Just want to try this 5+3 younger brother of 5+5... lighter color, not so smooth ... personally prefer 5+5 more... here I am missing the maturate taste... the good think is price 25€.... but next time will spend little more for 2 more years

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by eadrn from United States with 49 ratings

Would not pay at this price point again, but worth it if a little cheaper. Another one where I feel no particular flavor makes this unique.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

Quality product. Makes a decent sipper and quality mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Panchieri from Belgium with 18 ratings

am not a big fan of cask-flavouring as too often you end up with the collatoral damage of two styles clashing together, dosed with some sugar to ease the pain. But to be honest, this one is not too bad. The rum is light (I would have expected more body in 8 yo Guyana/Barbados rum) and so is the sherry, so the two styles do get a chance of mingling together.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 314 ratings

Alkohol: 37,5 %
Původ: Guyana,Barbados,Španělsko
Aroma: Vanilka, lihovost, čerstvé dřevo, za tím pak závan broušené kůže a špetka lékořice. (70 b)
Chuť: Na osm let hodně slabé. Stejně jako ve vůni dost lihové, trocha nasládlosti. Dřevo, větrovost jen mírná, v dochuti trochu nahořklý. (70 b)
Body: 70
Shrnutí: Velmi slabý rum, ale pro porovnání, čeho leze dosáhnout stařením za další dva roky v sudu po dvacetiletém sherry Pedro Ximénez, je to skvělé. Ten vývoj k Dos Maderas 5+5 je až neuvěřitelný.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 202 ratings

Duft af vanille og lidt sprit. Tør i smagen, men man kan sagtens smage, at den har lagret på sherryfade. Det giver en finish af kirsebær. Ikke en rom jeg ville vælge blandt andre, men kan sagtens drikke den, hvis der ikke er andet, og ville nok ikke nænne at blande den til drinks. De to år ekstra i 5+5 gør en lille forskel.