Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Dos Maderas 5+3

Barbados | Aged

6.3/10
99 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
6
11
45
20
13
2
1

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

99 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ruslan from Ukraine with 12 ratings

Хороший, но по качествам уступает своему брату '5+5'

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ed from Spain with 8 ratings

2 Maderas 5+3 is a good surprise because you get a sippable rum at an affordable price (depending where you buy I guess). This rum is not as dark coloured as other aged rums, but despite its lighter look it gets assertive in the mouth and you can feel oaky notes and a bitter sweetness that amounts to an enjoyable experience. It's definitely a more dry than sweet rum and that fits my preferences at the moment. This is a rum you can drink neat without fear, no question.

To my dissapointment I found the more expensive Px 5+5 unbearable due to its overwhelming sweetness and sherry-caramel flavour... so much that I had no other use for it than passing it along to a friend, who by the way enjoyed it a lot, so in the end sometimes it's really a matter of taste! But for me, there's no doubt, stick to the 5+3 and save the money!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Sehr würziger Rum, beim Geschmack sind Sherrynoten, Holz, Vanille und Karamell zu spüren. Der Rum kommt in einer sehr schöne Flasche daher. Im grossen und ganzen schmeckt er mir sehr gut und auch viel besser als sein älterer Bruder der Dos Maderas 5+5.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Tastes like an 8 year old rum but the 5+5 is worth the price difference.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by damoiseaux steven from Belgium with 8 ratings

Let me start by saying that i have never drank cherry in my life. So can not say the cherry is to strong.
I do however not like the lingering aftertaste you get from sipping this rum and the immediate sensation i get is that the alcohol is a bit to harsh. I started collecting rum not that long ago, but i have better bottles that are cheaper/same price.
In a coke it is not to bad however. So that is what I will do till the bottle is empty and give the 5+5 a go.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The name of this rum is indicative of it's nature "Dos Maderas" translates as "two woods" meaning the oak barrels in which it is aged for 5 years and the sherry casks in which it is finished for an additional 3 years. Those three years give it a distinct flavor that is noticeably sherry while easing the oak tones. This results in a fairly nice rum. However this is best suited for mixing. The sherry flavor won't overwhelm the adult beverage of your choice but will give it a little bit of a twist in flavor due to the sherry finish. Sipping it reveals a sweetness to it that isn't too strong. There is vanilla and toffee flavors underneath but the sherry tones come forward rather quickly before the burn takes over. However the burn fades quickly leading back to the sherry. It's almost a mixed drink in of itself if you happen to like drinking sherry as well as cooking with it. In my honest opinion I feel this is better suited for mixed drinks. Especially anything with grenadine in it. The grenadine and sherry flavors play well together. Also this is quite good in coke zero as well. It's unique enough to be recommendable to add to your liquor cabinet for those times you desire something a little different but not weird. I think more bars, especially tropical-themed bars, should have this as a mandatory part of their selection. I know I would.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

A bit dissapointning to heavy on alcohol for a sipping rum, but fantastic with a Coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

As a collector the bottle was cool. It's not too bad in coke, but by itself it has a heavier burn. I'd still by it to mix with cola.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

The sherry taste is so strong I was wondering if I was drinking rum. Not my choice again, but probably for someone who likes the intense sherry finish. Apart of that, the rum is a bit mild, not too sweet but there is a big difference to the Dos Maderas 5+5, eventhough that one also is too much sherry for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

First I don't like if they produce bottle for >20€ with only 37,5 % alc. This simply reminds me to much for much cheaper things. Second the concept of this bottle is nice, but I still prefer Demarara Rum, which got a Sherry Finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

I like the bottle and the concept of the rum but unfortunately it does not work out too well. Spicy but not in a good way.