Posting your rating...
Dos Maderas 5+3 rum

Dos Maderas 5+3

Barbados | Aged

6.3/10
95 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
5
11
44
19
12
2
1

Rate Dos Maderas 5+3

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

95 Dos Maderas 5+3 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Je to sladký rum. Výborný v kombinaci se slanou čokoládou.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The name of this rum is indicative of it's nature "Dos Maderas" translates as "two woods" meaning the oak barrels in which it is aged for 5 years and the sherry casks in which it is finished for an additional 3 years. Those three years give it a distinct flavor that is noticeably sherry while easing the oak tones. This results in a fairly nice rum. However this is best suited for mixing. The sherry flavor won't overwhelm the adult beverage of your choice but will give it a little bit of a twist in flavor due to the sherry finish. Sipping it reveals a sweetness to it that isn't too strong. There is vanilla and toffee flavors underneath but the sherry tones come forward rather quickly before the burn takes over. However the burn fades quickly leading back to the sherry. It's almost a mixed drink in of itself if you happen to like drinking sherry as well as cooking with it. In my honest opinion I feel this is better suited for mixed drinks. Especially anything with grenadine in it. The grenadine and sherry flavors play well together. Also this is quite good in coke zero as well. It's unique enough to be recommendable to add to your liquor cabinet for those times you desire something a little different but not weird. I think more bars, especially tropical-themed bars, should have this as a mandatory part of their selection. I know I would.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

A bit dissapointning to heavy on alcohol for a sipping rum, but fantastic with a Coke.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by JCarter from United States with 27 ratings

As a collector the bottle was cool. It's not too bad in coke, but by itself it has a heavier burn. I'd still by it to mix with cola.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Oliver from Spain with 56 ratings

The sherry taste is so strong I was wondering if I was drinking rum. Not my choice again, but probably for someone who likes the intense sherry finish. Apart of that, the rum is a bit mild, not too sweet but there is a big difference to the Dos Maderas 5+5, eventhough that one also is too much sherry for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

First I don't like if they produce bottle for >20€ with only 37,5 % alc. This simply reminds me to much for much cheaper things. Second the concept of this bottle is nice, but I still prefer Demarara Rum, which got a Sherry Finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Martin Wicke from Germany with 17 ratings

I like the bottle and the concept of the rum but unfortunately it does not work out too well. Spicy but not in a good way.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

As it is labeled, sherry flavors come on early and strongly but the flavor is not quite balanced. It comes across as a mineral taste that was not quite desirable, especially at the end. The price and value of the rum did not match.

Bottle: Attractive looking bottle on the shelf, stands out.
Color: Light yellow brown.
Bottle Smell: More rum than sherry.
Glass: Changes, more sherry than rum.
Taste: Slightly sweet with an immediate overtone of sherry, the rum slowly comes through but there is a taste that follows the entire experience that is not entirely pleasant. Finishes well in the throat as the mineral taste dissipates.

I prefer the 5+5 to this rum and while this may seem obvious, I would not purchase the 5+3 again. The sherry flavor is too strong and the rum too distant.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

On the nose you pick up a few of the similar sherry notes found in the bigger brother, but the scent is a little raw in comparison. On the other hand, it's easy to pick up the original barbados/guyana rum blend that makes up the base of this rum. These slightly powerfull mineral rumnotes fade away in the 5+5. The palate is delightfull and has a pureness about it. Slightly sweet and fresh molasse notes, with a hint of raisin and a short, somewhat raw finish (not harsh). All in all a good rum. For a few extra dollars though, you get the bigger brother 5+5, and in my opinion a big bump in lovely complex, sweet flavours.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Andreas Woelk from Germany with 65 ratings

Oh ja. Bei Weihnachtseinkäufen habe ich diesen Rum gefunden. Er soll laut Verpackung zuerst 5 Jahre im Whiskyfass und dann nochmals drei Jahre im Sherryfass aufbewahrt. Mild undsein Geld wert.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

.....but my taste obviously differs from others who have rated it so much higher. I think that the sherry notes are too strong and obvious.