Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.2/10 (201 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
29
82
53
18
4

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


201 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

82f17f0c1bb3ec5136fc0d10598b3621.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Michael from United States with 3 ratings

Smooth, clean and dry. As good as if not better than Doorly’s 12 ($26) and The Real McCoy ($46 in the US) which are also very good.

Best sipper I have enjoyed for under $30. That it is priced at under $20 is pretty amazing.

Not as clean and flavorful as the Seale Cask collection (like Premise which is outstanding) but a great sipper and the price point is awesome for a go to/Daily sipping rum.

F471359e108fe23a72f5c2c2b2c6a576.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

First a disclaimer, I'm not a big fan of sherry aged rums, it's just not my palate. But I find them a reasonable competitor of other dark, sweet rums and I prefer the sherry style over the sweeter styles because a dryer spirit fits my palate. But this is a fine rum by Doorly's.

Bottle: I'm a bottle snob which is why I post bottle comments, I like the way some bottles look on the shelf. The art of appreciating something labeled "fine" is partly vanity act. I really like the Doorly's bottles, I just wish they were all synthetic cork style toppers, a screw top just doesn't do the end product justice.
Bottle Aroma: Sherry and oak are at the nose immediately, then the rum comes along for the ride.
Glass Aroma: Like a sherry, the spirit opens up and has a sherry dry but sweet nose, the rum pushing the smell out but is not that apparent.
Taste: Rum and sherry really are a great mix and Doorly's XO does not disappoint. It is on the tongue where the rum comes through and tells you this is indeed not a sherry spirit. The heat is low all the way through to the throat. The drink is quite pleasant and is another example of a rum that will convince non-rum fans that rum is a versatile spirit.

I weighted my opinion from 7 to 8 because I know that I'm not a sherry fan, but this is a damn good rum and I hate to weight it downwards with a 7.

2742a5fa383f6db3c69fd6fc75bce4b7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 196 ratings

Another great tasting and great value rum , It seems to me that the rums from Barbados are very natural with no extra sugar , caramel etc added . Its got a bit of a Sherry flavour to it in my opinion , not a great sipper but a magnificent mixer with a slice of lime and an ice cube.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I'm a sucker for Barbados rum. I am an even BIGGER sucker for tasty Barbados rum.

Doorly's XO is exactly that. Glad I finally got a bottle.

Another product from the folks at R.L. Seale & Company so you know you are getting some of the finest in quality when it comes to rum. No additives. No sugars.

This rum is a blend of older rums and then matured in Spanish Oloroso sherry casks (or barrels?)

The color is a rich, deep amber and the aroma is delightful. As usual I am unable to determine specific subtleties in the aroma but can only tell you that it smells great. No astringency.

The flavor is fantastic. An initial sweetness indicating molasses and a nice vanilla/toffee undertone which then is joined in by that oak mentioned early.

Here's where is gets interesting for me. With many rums aged in oak a noticeable bitterness from the oak tannins is present and often tends to overtake the flavor.

HOWEVER with this rum, the oak flavor joins and blends with the initial flavors and never actually overwhelms. It is noticeable but is beautifully balanced. It rapidly fades revealing a delicious finish consisting mostly of the natural molasses.

This is a rum that could be considered a sipping rum by many. Some would disagree. It makes an out-freakin'-standing mixing rum no matter how you cut it...or mix it. I cannot think of any beverage that would not benefit from Doorly's XO.

Now one would think that for such a fine rum a bottle would cost $45-$50 USD?

How about $17 USD?

SERIOUSLY!

This is one of those rums that you get the most bang for your buck. The flavor is worthy of a $50 price tag but R.L. Seale and Company chose to charge much less.

That alone is worth a couple of ratings points from me.

I continue to grow more and more impressed with R.L. Seale & Company.

This is a great rum.

887e87c13021aa800aa2e6cee360236e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

excellent love it, I can't believe that this Rum is available for
less then $20 it is a great Rum

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 84 ratings

Bajan rum full of luscious fruit flavors (red-fruits and stone-fruits). Velvety mouthfeel, quite rich (but not sweet). Good oak and vanilla, classic toasted/caramelized sugar flavors, and some pot-still weight too.
A very skillfully crafted rum. Versatile enough for both mixing and enjoying neat. For $20, its an absolute steal.

1a20074c740122ea80480a2cf7df580a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

For 16.99 you can go anytime anywhere. It was on sale and i bought 2 of them and enjoyed it every single sip. It was good as sipper and also great as a mixer...
Whisky-ish taste was supplementary for sipping it.
Natural at best

Fa7aa9c107babfb7d0d193d372a71588.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

This rum is sweet smell - good
1st impression no so dry not so sweet , finish is dry.
Taste little banana, little raisins

913e0e2dd175f63ce13096bef96554b8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Myles from Denmark with 10 ratings

Bought this bottle in a sale and was definitely pleased, good value for money and a nice distinct taste. Can be enjoyed as a sipper, but if your used to more aged rums at this price you can happily mix it.

38e42173d4e8f41f200528a5a164ca57.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Ultimately on taste alone, I rate it a seven but it's $15 or so a bottle....FIFTEEN measly dollars for something this good(!), I should give it a 9.

Tasting notes: Don't be a stiff, just buy some and enjoy what I wager is the best value in spirits, period. Could sell for 2-2.5x the price with a fancier bottle and publicity, easily. A modern classic.

77cf0ed7449cd0e9fa3840453dd341f6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 65 ratings

Smooth Barbados taste. Sweet nose, vanilla, banana. Spicy notes in taste, not very long on tongue. Feels natural. Absolutely drinkable on its own. Havent tried in coctails yet. When you compare it to Plantation Barbados edition rums, then you will notice that Doorly’s is not sweet at all while Plantations are overly sugared and the vanilla and caramel make your stomach sick.

Not sure if it’s a steong seven, rather 6.8-6.9 because it does not offer any excitement to me that I had not experienced before. But, its core components are strong and likable. Will revisit