Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


197 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Skipjack from United States with 20 ratings

First a disclaimer, I'm not a big fan of sherry aged rums, it's just not my palate. But I find them a reasonable competitor of other dark, sweet rums and I prefer the sherry style over the sweeter styles because a dryer spirit fits my palate. But this is a fine rum by Doorly's.

Bottle: I'm a bottle snob which is why I post bottle comments, I like the way some bottles look on the shelf. The art of appreciating something labeled "fine" is partly vanity act. I really like the Doorly's bottles, I just wish they were all synthetic cork style toppers, a screw top just doesn't do the end product justice.
Bottle Aroma: Sherry and oak are at the nose immediately, then the rum comes along for the ride.
Glass Aroma: Like a sherry, the spirit opens up and has a sherry dry but sweet nose, the rum pushing the smell out but is not that apparent.
Taste: Rum and sherry really are a great mix and Doorly's XO does not disappoint. It is on the tongue where the rum comes through and tells you this is indeed not a sherry spirit. The heat is low all the way through to the throat. The drink is quite pleasant and is another example of a rum that will convince non-rum fans that rum is a versatile spirit.

I weighted my opinion from 7 to 8 because I know that I'm not a sherry fan, but this is a damn good rum and I hate to weight it downwards with a 7.

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Another great tasting and great value rum , It seems to me that the rums from Barbados are very natural with no extra sugar , caramel etc added . Its got a bit of a Sherry flavour to it in my opinion , not a great sipper but a magnificent mixer with a slice of lime and an ice cube.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I'm a sucker for Barbados rum. I am an even BIGGER sucker for tasty Barbados rum.

Doorly's XO is exactly that. Glad I finally got a bottle.

Another product from the folks at R.L. Seale & Company so you know you are getting some of the finest in quality when it comes to rum. No additives. No sugars.

This rum is a blend of older rums and then matured in Spanish Oloroso sherry casks (or barrels?)

The color is a rich, deep amber and the aroma is delightful. As usual I am unable to determine specific subtleties in the aroma but can only tell you that it smells great. No astringency.

The flavor is fantastic. An initial sweetness indicating molasses and a nice vanilla/toffee undertone which then is joined in by that oak mentioned early.

Here's where is gets interesting for me. With many rums aged in oak a noticeable bitterness from the oak tannins is present and often tends to overtake the flavor.

HOWEVER with this rum, the oak flavor joins and blends with the initial flavors and never actually overwhelms. It is noticeable but is beautifully balanced. It rapidly fades revealing a delicious finish consisting mostly of the natural molasses.

This is a rum that could be considered a sipping rum by many. Some would disagree. It makes an out-freakin'-standing mixing rum no matter how you cut it...or mix it. I cannot think of any beverage that would not benefit from Doorly's XO.

Now one would think that for such a fine rum a bottle would cost $45-$50 USD?

How about $17 USD?

SERIOUSLY!

This is one of those rums that you get the most bang for your buck. The flavor is worthy of a $50 price tag but R.L. Seale and Company chose to charge much less.

That alone is worth a couple of ratings points from me.

I continue to grow more and more impressed with R.L. Seale & Company.

This is a great rum.

Posted about 5 years ago by karl from United States with 10 ratings

excellent love it, I can't believe that this Rum is available for
less then $20 it is a great Rum

Posted almost 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 80 ratings

Bajan rum full of luscious fruit flavors (red-fruits and stone-fruits). Velvety mouthfeel, quite rich (but not sweet). Good oak and vanilla, classic toasted/caramelized sugar flavors, and some pot-still weight too.
A very skillfully crafted rum. Versatile enough for both mixing and enjoying neat. For $20, its an absolute steal.

Posted over 2 years ago by deniz adams from United States with 9 ratings

For 16.99 you can go anytime anywhere. It was on sale and i bought 2 of them and enjoyed it every single sip. It was good as sipper and also great as a mixer...
Whisky-ish taste was supplementary for sipping it.
Natural at best

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

This rum is sweet smell - good
1st impression no so dry not so sweet , finish is dry.
Taste little banana, little raisins

Posted over 3 years ago by Myles from Denmark with 10 ratings

Bought this bottle in a sale and was definitely pleased, good value for money and a nice distinct taste. Can be enjoyed as a sipper, but if your used to more aged rums at this price you can happily mix it.

Posted over 4 years ago by Tommy from United States with 12 ratings

Ultimately on taste alone, I rate it a seven but it's $15 or so a bottle....FIFTEEN measly dollars for something this good(!), I should give it a 9.

Tasting notes: Don't be a stiff, just buy some and enjoy what I wager is the best value in spirits, period. Could sell for 2-2.5x the price with a fancier bottle and publicity, easily. A modern classic.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Smooth Barbados taste. Sweet nose, vanilla, banana. Spicy notes in taste, not very long on tongue. Feels natural. Absolutely drinkable on its own. Havent tried in coctails yet. When you compare it to Plantation Barbados edition rums, then you will notice that Doorly’s is not sweet at all while Plantations are overly sugared and the vanilla and caramel make your stomach sick.

Not sure if it’s a steong seven, rather 6.8-6.9 because it does not offer any excitement to me that I had not experienced before. But, its core components are strong and likable. Will revisit

Posted over 1 year ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

This little rascal is finished in oloroso casks and the sherry is very evident on the nose right away along with a hint of banana and caramel. It’s a little dry. Sipping reveals a light and fairly elegant rum with subtle natural sweetness that quickly rolls towards a slightly tannic finish hinting at the sherry notes and perhaps a bit of coconut?
I actually had a hard time defining the notes in this one. I prefer the doorlys 12 year but this Is still very nice and well balanced but perhaps a bit shy.

Posted over 2 years ago by Clinton from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Make no mistake this is a nice rum. However with the exclusive "XO" label it left me wanting a little more (Personally next time I will go back to the 12yr old). As a sipping rum I did not find it quite smooth enough and much preferred the complex flavor when mixed (Ginger Ale). A great looking bottle worth having in your liquor cabinet if only to show the wide difference that can be achieved by master rum makers.

Posted over 2 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i hear a lot of this rum, but now i try it and im disappointed, to flat taste for me

Posted over 2 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

I really like the Seale rums having tried Doorly’s 8 and RL Seale. I thought I’d try something new from Seale. I agree with many other reviewers that the sherry taste (with hints of black spice) takes away from a good aged rum. The price was excellent and if you like a quality slightly flavored rum, go for it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

Harsh for the throat. Little bit dissapointed. With some ice it is ok. Aftertaste is good.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

Found this one on sale during a monthly special at total wine. Perhaps even more smooth than the 12-year-old, this XO is remarkable for its texture if just a bit shy on the extra flavor notes found in its older sibling.

Posted over 4 years ago by Treesnake from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Výborná chuť sherry a jemnost, veliké překvapení, můj oblíbenec

Posted about 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This rum works well in cocktails or with coke. At this price it's worth owning to use in such drinks.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

Not sure where the previous reviewer paid $25-30 for this but I got two bottles at Total Wine in Florida for $15 each.

RL seales is known for advocating purity in rum and as such doesn't sweeten or doctor his rums in any way, so might not appeal to some who are used to sweetened rums such as Diplomatico, Zaya or Zacapa,, but this is rum as it should be.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Doorly's XO, 8y and 5y back-to-back and I have to say I went from bad to worse. The XO has a harsh alcohol smell, mish-mash of flavors on the tongue and a nasty burn to finish the experience. There are literally hundreds of much better aged rums in this price range, so don't waste your money on a Doorly's.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

To my tastes, this is a very good rum without being quite top notch, which makes it a great rum to bounce others off of.

It reminded me of the Plantation 5 year old Barbados in some ways. It has a similar smell and first taste. However, the Plantation is sweeter (it does have sugar and caramel additives) and this is a bit more sherry and alcohol tasting. It's still pretty smooth and a really good sipper. If you like one, you are unlikely to hate the other and so it depends whether you like slightly sweeter or not - or perhaps you'll have both, as I do, for alternatives.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Similar in taste to Santa Teresea 1796, very smooth with an oakey finish, beautiful for the price range

Posted almost 3 years ago by dany from France with 30 ratings

nez caramel gourmand , banane vanille
bouche, sèchement doux , légèrement boiser , fruité sans envolé particulière
longueur , boiser vite diciper , légère anesthésie , fini sur figue mure très légèrement

Posted about 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Velmi průměrný rum za velmi průměrnou cenu. Na Barbados chabé. Nikdy více.