Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (226 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
32
94
61
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

226 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

Another fine rum from Barbados. This is a complex rum, full of flavor that is best sipped neat.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

similar to the 12 but not as deep and smooth. Sweeter in a great way. The sherry finish works perfectly

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

A nice dry rum, sherry cask finish definitely comes through. At this price point you’re getting a lot. My go-to rum when I make Grog. Nice bottle, doesn’t seem to be sweetened or artificially colored.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Ravedave69 from Belgium with 2 ratings

One of the first middle class rums I have tasted so far. As someone used to whisky I can definitly recommend this rum, for me the palate is rich and delicate, a little burn but well balanced to the taste.

Then again I am not a seasoned rum drinker so my opinion does not carry alot of weight, but I like it nonetheless.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Originaires de la Barbade, les rhums Doorly's sont produits par R.L.Seale & Company, distillerie également à l’origine des Foursquare et R.L Seale's. Ces trois marques proposent donc des rhums issus des mêmes alambics et bénéficiant d’une attention et d’une qualité de production identique.
Le Doorly’s XO est un rhum de mélasse, fruit de l’assemblage de plusieurs eaux de vie ayant ensuite subit un double processus de vieillissement. Ainsi il passe entre 5 et 8 ans en fûts de chêne américain (bourbon) avant d’être affiné durant deux années en fûts de Sherry Oloroso ;
Il est utile de préciser que ce rhum ne subit aucun ajout de d’arômes, colorants ou de substance sucrante.

Si le flaconnage n’a rien de bien original, la gamme Doorly’s est facilement reconnaissable grâce aux oiseaux qui ornent les étiquettes, en l’occurrence sur le XO, le ara hyacinthe, perroquet que l’on ne retrouve pas à la Barbade, mais plutôt dans certaines zones d’Amérique du Sud. Le bouchonnage de type « capsule à vis » est l’élément clairement perfectible de l’ensemble.

Notre avis : une belle entrée en matière pour celles et ceux qui veulent se lancer dans la découverte des rhums de la Barbade. Un bon rapport qualité prix pour un rhum, sérieux et sans ajout. Notre petit conseil, patienter un peu en le laissant dans votre verre avant de le déguster.

Nez : gourmand avec ses notes de vanille et coco, il révèle le caractère de ce rhum et évoque le boisé du fût,

Bouche : une belle attaque enveloppante, un peu sèche avec ses notes de vanille, boisée et torréfiée,

Finale : une très jolie longueur avec ses notes de tabac blond séché.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

For me this is the classic good rum - very pleasant sweet aroma, tasty with sherry and wood tones. I like it. You will not make mistake with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 280 ratings

This is the 40% review.
A good and natural rum, for sure. With a lot of potential for blended rums. If you like rums with woody profile and orange in the taste this one is for you.
I would prefer an older version of XO. But it's still a natural rum with nice flavours.
I like it especially for Daiquiri cocktail.
Ron Botran 1893 is a little bit better in my opinion and has also orange in the profile.

Since the new XO has 43% this rum became much better. I have to rate it with an 8.
The taste is still similar, but more concentrated, richer.

Smell: oak, vanilla, orange, some apricot, caramel, dry fruits
Taste initial: some orange, with oak, apricot, some caramel, wood with tannins
Taste middle/finish: burned sugar, vanilla, wood/barrel, orange, spice, tannins
Aftertaste: wood, orange

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (27€): 3.5/5
Experience level: amateur

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Robert from United States with 62 ratings

Good in a mixed drink but not to my taste as a sipper. Good rum for the price.

Small inline garnish 2

Posted 11 months ago by poly.pop from United States with 30 ratings

Very similar to the 8 year, maintaining all of the caramel, vanilla, and stone fruit characteristics that make Bajan rum so delicious - with a slight oaky overtone and a hint of sherry sweetness poking through. Excellent as a mixer or on the rocks. I honestly prefer this over the 12 year as I feel it has a more robust profile that's not overpowered by a whiskey-like oakiness.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Kean from Denmark with 6 ratings

This rum does not provide a lot of complexity a very simple rum with flavors of vanilla and caramel. It is a very easy to drink rum which I really like.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 20 ratings

A very nice rum for the price. Had it on the rocks with a lime. Has an almost sweet flavor, and her robust flavor.