Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (221 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
31
92
59
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


221 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

This is a dry Sherry-casked rum that is at home straight in your glass or with ice. Not at all as sweet as rums from Guayana or Trinidad. Good balance.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Nathan345 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

I like doorlys but this one tasted rather bland,I could taste sherry influences and that's it. Its good and such but not for me.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Reeb Barbill from Isle of Man with 42 ratings

This is the stuff. Caramelly taste, dry, heavy burn, properly nice.

Can confirm it now has a bung not a screw top.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Cerro from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

This is a good rum, it's what rum should be. It's not messed with, it doesn't have additives and it is well made. This has just enough oak in it to be interesting but not so much as to overpower the distillate. It's a very nice balance and just right in my book. I'll have to try a slightly younger version but my feeling is that this is the sweet spot.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by shammerle from United States with 14 ratings

So, my few benchmarks to now are Diplomatico Reserva and El Dorado 12 that I preferred much more than this. The only reason I bought this was because a guy walked by me with a thick Caribbean accent and says “ahhh, dats good rum, brudder.” He never even looked me, just sort of eyes the bottle, said he was from Barbados, and kept moving. With that sort of Providence I expected to fall in love and be swept away to the beaches of Barbados. But alas, it’s just a solid mixer that’s drinkable alone but not really a supper, maybe shots. But it’s great for a cheaper alternative to high end stuff if you are mixing, but it’s not Malibu (yo). (Anyone remember Jamie Kennedy? Mean streets of Malibu yo!) So, my rum journey continues...

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

similar to the 12 but not as deep and smooth. Sweeter in a great way. The sherry finish works perfectly

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Lubber from United States with 9 ratings

A nice dry rum, sherry cask finish definitely comes through. At this price point you’re getting a lot. My go-to rum when I make Grog. Nice bottle, doesn’t seem to be sweetened or artificially colored.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Ravedave69 from Belgium with 2 ratings

One of the first middle class rums I have tasted so far. As someone used to whisky I can definitly recommend this rum, for me the palate is rich and delicate, a little burn but well balanced to the taste.

Then again I am not a seasoned rum drinker so my opinion does not carry alot of weight, but I like it nonetheless.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by RHUM FACTORY from France with 32 ratings

Originaires de la Barbade, les rhums Doorly's sont produits par R.L.Seale & Company, distillerie également à l’origine des Foursquare et R.L Seale's. Ces trois marques proposent donc des rhums issus des mêmes alambics et bénéficiant d’une attention et d’une qualité de production identique.
Le Doorly’s XO est un rhum de mélasse, fruit de l’assemblage de plusieurs eaux de vie ayant ensuite subit un double processus de vieillissement. Ainsi il passe entre 5 et 8 ans en fûts de chêne américain (bourbon) avant d’être affiné durant deux années en fûts de Sherry Oloroso ;
Il est utile de préciser que ce rhum ne subit aucun ajout de d’arômes, colorants ou de substance sucrante.

Si le flaconnage n’a rien de bien original, la gamme Doorly’s est facilement reconnaissable grâce aux oiseaux qui ornent les étiquettes, en l’occurrence sur le XO, le ara hyacinthe, perroquet que l’on ne retrouve pas à la Barbade, mais plutôt dans certaines zones d’Amérique du Sud. Le bouchonnage de type « capsule à vis » est l’élément clairement perfectible de l’ensemble.

Notre avis : une belle entrée en matière pour celles et ceux qui veulent se lancer dans la découverte des rhums de la Barbade. Un bon rapport qualité prix pour un rhum, sérieux et sans ajout. Notre petit conseil, patienter un peu en le laissant dans votre verre avant de le déguster.

Nez : gourmand avec ses notes de vanille et coco, il révèle le caractère de ce rhum et évoque le boisé du fût,

Bouche : une belle attaque enveloppante, un peu sèche avec ses notes de vanille, boisée et torréfiée,

Finale : une très jolie longueur avec ses notes de tabac blond séché.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by MartinPrum from Czech Republic with 23 ratings

For me this is the classic good rum - very pleasant sweet aroma, tasty with sherry and wood tones. I like it. You will not make mistake with this rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 247 ratings

A good and natural rum, for sure. With a lot of potential for blended rums. If you like rums with woody profile and mandarine in the taste this one is for you.
I would prefer an older version of XO. But it's still a natural rum with nice flavours.
I like it especially for Daiquiri cocktail.
Ron Botran 1893 is a little bit better in my opinion and has also orange in the profile.

Smell: oak, vanilla, orange, some apricot, caramel, dry fruits
Taste initial: some orange, with oak, apricot, some caramel, wood with tannins
Taste middle/finish: burned sugar, vanilla, wood/barrel, orange, spice, tannins
Aftertaste: wood, orange

Sweetness: 2/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5
Value (27€): 3.5/5
Experience level: amateur