Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


197 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I'm a sucker for Barbados rum. I am an even BIGGER sucker for tasty Barbados rum.

Doorly's XO is exactly that. Glad I finally got a bottle.

Another product from the folks at R.L. Seale & Company so you know you are getting some of the finest in quality when it comes to rum. No additives. No sugars.

This rum is a blend of older rums and then matured in Spanish Oloroso sherry casks (or barrels?)

The color is a rich, deep amber and the aroma is delightful. As usual I am unable to determine specific subtleties in the aroma but can only tell you that it smells great. No astringency.

The flavor is fantastic. An initial sweetness indicating molasses and a nice vanilla/toffee undertone which then is joined in by that oak mentioned early.

Here's where is gets interesting for me. With many rums aged in oak a noticeable bitterness from the oak tannins is present and often tends to overtake the flavor.

HOWEVER with this rum, the oak flavor joins and blends with the initial flavors and never actually overwhelms. It is noticeable but is beautifully balanced. It rapidly fades revealing a delicious finish consisting mostly of the natural molasses.

This is a rum that could be considered a sipping rum by many. Some would disagree. It makes an out-freakin'-standing mixing rum no matter how you cut it...or mix it. I cannot think of any beverage that would not benefit from Doorly's XO.

Now one would think that for such a fine rum a bottle would cost $45-$50 USD?

How about $17 USD?

SERIOUSLY!

This is one of those rums that you get the most bang for your buck. The flavor is worthy of a $50 price tag but R.L. Seale and Company chose to charge much less.

That alone is worth a couple of ratings points from me.

I continue to grow more and more impressed with R.L. Seale & Company.

This is a great rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Karolis from Lithuania with 19 ratings

I love rum from Barbados but this one was missing that extra caramel that Barbados rum have. I did find stronger vanilla in this one tho. Still a good buy but need a splash of water or one ice cube to hide the alcohol strength.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

This has anyone flavour just lacks on additional flavours and notes... Well worth it on the rocks

Posted about 4 years ago by Nils from Switzerland with 13 ratings

À mon avis, ce rhum est bon mais sans plus. Un nez engageant, mais peu de goût au final. Pas liquoreux du tout, ce qui est bien.

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Banana and caramel nose with a finish of a spiciness and oak.

Posted about 4 years ago by Turambar from France with 21 ratings

Le packaging a changé depuis.
Il s'agit d'un rhum entre 6 et 12 ans, vieilli en partie en fûts de sherry.
40% d'alcool et non trafiqué.

Simple, vif, complexe, élégant, sur les fruits secs et exotiques, la vanille, le chocolat noir, bois peu perceptible. texture sèche et moyennement sucrée. Finale correcte. Un excellent rapport qualité prix pour un produit performant et complexe pour 40%, loin des rhums sucrés et trafiqués

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

This needs work to be kind of good. But the hope is there, if they decide to develop the flavour more. Fells like tasting acetone in some aspects

Posted about 4 years ago by Emmanuel from Sweden with 11 ratings

This to me is an alright rum but its a bit pricey for what you get.
Tastes are pleasant and not as sweet as many others but
at this price range there are better ones.
I dont feel another bottle will be needed in quite a while.

Posted about 4 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Product of foursquare distilery aged from 6-12 years in oak casks and then finished in oloroso sherry casks.
Aroma of browns sugar and nuts and toffee.
Taste includes vanilla, dried fruit, smoke tones and sweet finish influenced by sherry cask finish.
Very mild and balanced rum

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Ok, here we go, this is a purty good rum for the buck spent. I actually enjoyed it neat but a splash of coke is a help. Give her a shot and you will be surprised...

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Lacking a tiny bit of sweetness and showing some alcohol hashness. There is oak and smoke present in the taste, as well as some dried fruit and coconut. Overall the taste is not pronounced enough.

Posted over 4 years ago by Paul Clare from Canada with 4 ratings

Not a lot of rums that you can buy for this price and drink on the rocks. Good mixing rum also.

Posted over 4 years ago by Gary from United States with 33 ratings

A nice rum on the rocks, Not the best rum in my cabinet, but a good drink on the rocks and an acceptable mixer.

Posted over 4 years ago by Totte from Sweden with 27 ratings

Lite annorlunda smak, fruktig med lite dammig avslutning, fantastiskt i efterätter

Posted over 4 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

This Rum was recommed by my local rum dealer, so I had to buy it. But it doesn't has a clear profile, it is rather harsh. For the same price I can get the XM 7yo, which meets my preferences much more.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

Nice rum with a sweet delicate taste, but not overpowering on the sweetness. Nice oaky compoments too. Agree with other reviewers - good value for money!

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

The screw-cap is a turn off and when I filled my first glass I regarded the scent more neutral than rounded but after taking my first sip I was in love. This is the essence of Barbados rum. A great everyday sipper and superb mixing rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by trovatur from Cuba with 6 ratings

Very good tasting rum. At only 15 dollars is a must try. Good sipper

Posted over 4 years ago by vk6519 from Russian Federation with 14 ratings

inadequate saturation for the icon XO, not worth the money, time - improved

Posted over 4 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Very good tasting rum. Not to sweet and nice color and aroma. At only 16 dollars a bottle this is a must try.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Nice dry sipper. Has a nice sherry after taste.
Medium complexity and burn.
Good buy!
Haven't tried it with coke yet, though I expected this would end up being a mixer.

Posted almost 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Hele goede rum voor deze prijsklasse. (€25) Afkomstig van Barbados en 6 jaar houtgerijpt. Smaken van karamel hout en wat sherry. Ook nog super zacht. Gewoon top!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stubbs from United States with 5 ratings

Ahh now for my everyday drinker. Great price good noise and just a good mild burn on your throat. Go for it you can't go wrong.

Posted almost 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Another from nice, smooth, sweet sippers. Only in Czech is a bit overpriced (according information from others reviewers)

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marten from Netherlands with 1 rating

Doorley's XO has a beautiful comlex body that keeps on surprising you