Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


197 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I'm a sucker for Barbados rum. I am an even BIGGER sucker for tasty Barbados rum.

Doorly's XO is exactly that. Glad I finally got a bottle.

Another product from the folks at R.L. Seale & Company so you know you are getting some of the finest in quality when it comes to rum. No additives. No sugars.

This rum is a blend of older rums and then matured in Spanish Oloroso sherry casks (or barrels?)

The color is a rich, deep amber and the aroma is delightful. As usual I am unable to determine specific subtleties in the aroma but can only tell you that it smells great. No astringency.

The flavor is fantastic. An initial sweetness indicating molasses and a nice vanilla/toffee undertone which then is joined in by that oak mentioned early.

Here's where is gets interesting for me. With many rums aged in oak a noticeable bitterness from the oak tannins is present and often tends to overtake the flavor.

HOWEVER with this rum, the oak flavor joins and blends with the initial flavors and never actually overwhelms. It is noticeable but is beautifully balanced. It rapidly fades revealing a delicious finish consisting mostly of the natural molasses.

This is a rum that could be considered a sipping rum by many. Some would disagree. It makes an out-freakin'-standing mixing rum no matter how you cut it...or mix it. I cannot think of any beverage that would not benefit from Doorly's XO.

Now one would think that for such a fine rum a bottle would cost $45-$50 USD?

How about $17 USD?

SERIOUSLY!

This is one of those rums that you get the most bang for your buck. The flavor is worthy of a $50 price tag but R.L. Seale and Company chose to charge much less.

That alone is worth a couple of ratings points from me.

I continue to grow more and more impressed with R.L. Seale & Company.

This is a great rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

The bottle is simple for XO, but don`t overpay for the dishes. The smell is weak: stained wood, herbs, molasses, prunes, tobacco, flower honey. In the taste of the sweetness of green peas, liquorice, burning everything pleasantly passing, bitterness in the throat, heaviness in the stomach. Post-effect is fine: calmness, peace as after a good seasoned honey.

Posted about 3 years ago by Krobbe13 from Sweden with 87 ratings

Ganska torr, fruktig med inslag av vanilj, lite kryddig. God

Posted about 3 years ago by Zumzum from Czech Republic with 36 ratings

na doporuceni mika, prijemny a jemny rum, na kazdodenni piti

Posted about 3 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Tried this one during degustation of 5 different rums. It was a good relief from some sweeter pieces that we tried that night. Decent sipper for that price.

Posted about 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 8 ratings

Skvela aroma, chut po vanilke. Flasa by si zasluzila lepsi design vzhladom k cene.

Posted about 3 years ago by Mario from Poland with 5 ratings

Color: light brown to gold, aroma: vanilla and sherry, taste: vanila and sherry, rather bitter but with good balance, not beter than 5-year Doorly's for me.

Posted over 3 years ago by kjell arild hansen from Norway with 14 ratings

veldig god rom som jeg sipper og bruker til mixing. vanilla. etter å ha drukket å foretrukket søte rum har jeg fått opp øynene for rom uten tilsatt sukker, så etter å ha prøvd doorly leter jeg etter rom uten sukker.
rum uten sukker å tillsatt smak er mer inntresang.

Posted over 3 years ago by Robert from Netherlands with 8 ratings

Doorly's XO is a 6 year old blend of various Barbados rum and got a finish in Oloroso sherry casks that give a very nice twist on the drink. The light brown color thanks to the rum to his initial maturation was performed in ex-whiskey barrels, a process which has left its mark.

A rum with a light character and wonderful aromas and flavors of tropical fruits which are skilfully balanced by a variety of spices, light roasted notes and hints of spice. The whole ends in a warm, soft finish with tasty smoke flavors.

Doorly's XO is a rum with an unprecedented depth and a rum that is very late sip, very tasty and therefore highly recommended for rum lovers.

Posted over 3 years ago by Julien from Netherlands with 19 ratings

Was very interested in this one but was a bit of a letdown. Initial taste too bland and dry but the aftertaste is quite long sherrylike and spicy. I like a long aftertaste but this one is just not that balanced. There needs to be more then just aftertaste imo. Maybe it neefs a higher % to bring out the best. Still a nice rum, especially if you like dryer rums.

Posted over 3 years ago by Demno from Czech Republic with 91 ratings

The color of the rum promises a lot, during the nosing I felt a little bit disappointed, then a pure rum taste with a hint of sherry and a little harsh in the throat.

Nothing special.

Posted over 3 years ago by Howie from United States with 5 ratings

A good sipping rum at a mixer rum price. Highly recommended.

Posted over 3 years ago by D from Argentina with 2 ratings

Very smooth, easy to drink on a winters night. Drink Neat.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blue_Dog_Man from United States with 34 ratings

This is good stuff and is a great value at $17! It has flavors of cocoa, caramel and fruits. As well as a nice oakiness about it. This is great to sip on and would even be well mixed. I highly recommend.

Posted over 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 51 ratings

The Storeman at the "local" listened to what I like and suggested a bottle of Doorly's XO.
Value for money the XO was worth it but would I buy it again as a sipping rum, I would not.
It did taste alright with a mixer however so not a total waste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

I did find some fresh frutty and vanilla notes in this rum. Still a good buy but need a ice cube to hide the alcohol strength. Not bad at all!

Posted over 3 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 27 ratings

It´s really soft taste, but little thin and short. It´s OK but something missing.

Posted over 3 years ago by deuf from France with 20 ratings

Nez fruité, exotique et fruits sec.
Bouche sèche et douce petit retour de bois. On retrouve les fruits. Le goût de canne type sucre roux bonbon candy.
Le final est agréable et long. Le boisé sec est de retour un peu poivré.
Très bon rhum pour découvrir la Barbade et les rhums de type anglais.
Très bon rapport qualité prix. A avoir pour initier les amis

Posted over 3 years ago by Ren from United States with 5 ratings

A nice, flavorful rum, but I think best mixed with a bit of seltzer & a slice of lime to smooth it out.

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

A must try .......................................

Posted almost 4 years ago by laurent from France with 40 ratings

Un peu dur de goûter ce rhum après avoir découvert des bruts de futs d'une richesse aromatique pas vraiment comparable... Maintenant pour le prix ça reste un petit rhum sympa et sans artifices, bien équilibré et représentatif des rhums de la Barbade. Parfait pour découvrir.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Jelen from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Bananas everywhere in this rum...But yet!...It doesnt drown the other tastes. This rum is very distinctive. I enjoyed it a lot, but it got very repetitive in a while.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Steve Maskell from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

I tried a couple if glasses of this rum neat, smooth at first but then the heat hits you a few seconds later. I then tried with ice, but found the best taste with this rum was with a dash of lemonade and an ice cube, very nice and smooth

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum Hunter from Sweden with 23 ratings

Little bit to strong in my opinion. Whit some drops of water opens the Rum up more and gives an rich flavour experience

Posted almost 4 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Worst crap i ever tasted.
Litterally taste like paint remover or similar