Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (219 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
31
91
58
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


219 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Habe mich durch den günstigen Preis für einen XO verführen lassen und war dann doch enttäuscht - wenig komplex, dafür recht alkoholische Schärfe. Auf jeden Fall kein verzuckerzer Rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

and a pretty good sipper too. 6-12 yo blend finished in Oloroso Sherry barrels and not overdone. Other rums stay too long in sherry barrels and get too sweet imo. Works exceptionally well in combo rum drinks and I think adds a little something to other rums as well.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

This Rum was recommed to me in Total Wine by one the sales associate, so I had to buy it. For the same price I can get a much better rum, which meets my expectations as a premium rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is very good rum - perhaps not top shelf, but I doubt you'll find better for 16 bucks anywhere. It's nice and dry, with a nutty, oak profile that is reminiscent of fine sherry. Really quite satisfying. They do rum right in Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

This is one of those rums that could turn whiskey and bourbon drinkers over to rum. I find that to many whiskey drinkers don't explore rum because they think it is either to sweet or all tastes like Morgan and Bacardi gold. This one shows that even bargain rums can have depth and complexity.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Rich, balanced, a perfect sipper for reasonable price. I very much reccomend this one!

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Wow. I had this down as a 7 based on my memories of it, but I have to up it to an 8. Seriously good rum, with a wonderful complexity underneath the somewhat closed nose and palate. The sherry ageing is really really well done, and not overly intrusive. While I love (even more than this XO) the Foursquare Port and Zinfandel finishes, the wood does impinge a bit.

Rich, velvety, wonderful bite from the alcohol rounded off with a dry finish that has great length. A stunning rum.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A fantastic rum, made with great skill.It's not a syrup ladened foo foo rum. It's gets even better with a bit of oxidisation. Can punch you in the face when a new bottle is opened and isn't let to sit in the glass for about 10 mins. However when treated right it opens up to be multifaceted enjoyment juice. Everyone should have a bottle of Doorly's in the cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 16 days ago by Flauda from France with 14 ratings

Very Well balanced rhum, great example of Foursquare maestria, great value for the price!

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by rišo from Slovakia with 39 ratings

Krásna farba. Napriek tomu, že má 43% je jemný a dá sa popíjať.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by BingChen from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 19 ratings

A nice introductory aged rum for a whisky lover. The sherry note is very distinct.