Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (227 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
32
95
60
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

227 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Goes down well, good price.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Martin Roman from Slovakia with 39 ratings

Good choice maybe too soft taste but better than mid class.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

Not sure if you can buy this anywhere other than total wine. For the money it by far the best rum for mixing!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

and a pretty good sipper too. 6-12 yo blend finished in Oloroso Sherry barrels and not overdone. Other rums stay too long in sherry barrels and get too sweet imo. Works exceptionally well in combo rum drinks and I think adds a little something to other rums as well.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

This Rum was recommed to me in Total Wine by one the sales associate, so I had to buy it. For the same price I can get a much better rum, which meets my expectations as a premium rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is very good rum - perhaps not top shelf, but I doubt you'll find better for 16 bucks anywhere. It's nice and dry, with a nutty, oak profile that is reminiscent of fine sherry. Really quite satisfying. They do rum right in Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by A.Greenleaf from United States with 51 ratings

This is one of those rums that could turn whiskey and bourbon drinkers over to rum. I find that to many whiskey drinkers don't explore rum because they think it is either to sweet or all tastes like Morgan and Bacardi gold. This one shows that even bargain rums can have depth and complexity.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Rich, balanced, a perfect sipper for reasonable price. I very much reccomend this one!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Wow. I had this down as a 7 based on my memories of it, but I have to up it to an 8. Seriously good rum, with a wonderful complexity underneath the somewhat closed nose and palate. The sherry ageing is really really well done, and not overly intrusive. While I love (even more than this XO) the Foursquare Port and Zinfandel finishes, the wood does impinge a bit.

Rich, velvety, wonderful bite from the alcohol rounded off with a dry finish that has great length. A stunning rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Da'rum from Germany with 22 ratings

A fantastic rum, made with great skill.It's not a syrup ladened foo foo rum. It's gets even better with a bit of oxidisation. Can punch you in the face when a new bottle is opened and isn't let to sit in the glass for about 10 mins. However when treated right it opens up to be multifaceted enjoyment juice. Everyone should have a bottle of Doorly's in the cabinet.

Small p1000923

Posted 4 days ago by artnoir666 from Sweden with 16 ratings

It is an ok mixer. It works well with a glass full of ice and coka cola.

On it's own in a taster glass, it's not that good.