Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (219 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
31
91
58
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


219 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Habe mich durch den günstigen Preis für einen XO verführen lassen und war dann doch enttäuscht - wenig komplex, dafür recht alkoholische Schärfe. Auf jeden Fall kein verzuckerzer Rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Tried the Doorly's XO, 8y and 5y back-to-back and I have to say I went from bad to worse. The XO has a harsh alcohol smell, mish-mash of flavors on the tongue and a nasty burn to finish the experience. There are literally hundreds of much better aged rums in this price range, so don't waste your money on a Doorly's.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

To my tastes, this is a very good rum without being quite top notch, which makes it a great rum to bounce others off of.

It reminded me of the Plantation 5 year old Barbados in some ways. It has a similar smell and first taste. However, the Plantation is sweeter (it does have sugar and caramel additives) and this is a bit more sherry and alcohol tasting. It's still pretty smooth and a really good sipper. If you like one, you are unlikely to hate the other and so it depends whether you like slightly sweeter or not - or perhaps you'll have both, as I do, for alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Similar in taste to Santa Teresea 1796, very smooth with an oakey finish, beautiful for the price range

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by dany from France with 30 ratings

nez caramel gourmand , banane vanille
bouche, sèchement doux , légèrement boiser , fruité sans envolé particulière
longueur , boiser vite diciper , légère anesthésie , fini sur figue mure très légèrement

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Velmi průměrný rum za velmi průměrnou cenu. Na Barbados chabé. Nikdy více.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by GregS from United States with 27 ratings

Aroma is fantastic! I'm still fairly new to rum, but this is a good one. I taste a little vanilla and the tiniest touch of smoke. I will get this again

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

I just revisited this and I taste very little fortified wine influence but mostly toffee and vanilla with some oak and oak tannins in the finish that bite if you take too big of a sip. I can't drink it neat but either add water or an ice cube to mellow it and it's very good. In trying it side by side with MGXO it has more oak bite in the finish and it is less smooth, however it's noticeably sweeter. Really good stuff considering it cost much less than MGXO and tastes almost the same. When tastes side by side with Cruzan Single Barrel or DonQ, the banana flavor of the Doorly's becomes highly noticeable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This Rum I have had for a time and tested it together with friends this weekend. some of us think that it is a little bit swwet, but as always taste differs. I think it does a good job and gives you a lot of Rum delivers like vanilla, aftertaste and honey.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Martin Roman from Slovakia with 39 ratings

Good choice maybe too soft taste but better than mid class.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

Not sure if you can buy this anywhere other than total wine. For the money it by far the best rum for mixing!