Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
32
96
61
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

229 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Goes down well, good price.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 388 ratings

Sweeter, fruity bit burning with woody and sherry finish. Very good rum for this price (I prefer it more than 12y and 14y)

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Bob from United States with 8 ratings

I like the Sherry finish myself and you will be hard to find a better tasting rum for under$20 anywhere’s.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2664 ratings

Tried the Doorly's XO, 8y and 5y back-to-back and I have to say I went from bad to worse. The XO has a harsh alcohol smell, mish-mash of flavors on the tongue and a nasty burn to finish the experience. There are literally hundreds of much better aged rums in this price range, so don't waste your money on a Doorly's.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

To my tastes, this is a very good rum without being quite top notch, which makes it a great rum to bounce others off of.

It reminded me of the Plantation 5 year old Barbados in some ways. It has a similar smell and first taste. However, the Plantation is sweeter (it does have sugar and caramel additives) and this is a bit more sherry and alcohol tasting. It's still pretty smooth and a really good sipper. If you like one, you are unlikely to hate the other and so it depends whether you like slightly sweeter or not - or perhaps you'll have both, as I do, for alternatives.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

Similar in taste to Santa Teresea 1796, very smooth with an oakey finish, beautiful for the price range

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by dany from France with 30 ratings

nez caramel gourmand , banane vanille
bouche, sèchement doux , légèrement boiser , fruité sans envolé particulière
longueur , boiser vite diciper , légère anesthésie , fini sur figue mure très légèrement

Small black

Posted over 3 years ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Velmi průměrný rum za velmi průměrnou cenu. Na Barbados chabé. Nikdy více.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by GregS from United States with 27 ratings

Aroma is fantastic! I'm still fairly new to rum, but this is a good one. I taste a little vanilla and the tiniest touch of smoke. I will get this again

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

I just revisited this and I taste very little fortified wine influence but mostly toffee and vanilla with some oak and oak tannins in the finish that bite if you take too big of a sip. I can't drink it neat but either add water or an ice cube to mellow it and it's very good. In trying it side by side with MGXO it has more oak bite in the finish and it is less smooth, however it's noticeably sweeter. Really good stuff considering it cost much less than MGXO and tastes almost the same. When tastes side by side with Cruzan Single Barrel or DonQ, the banana flavor of the Doorly's becomes highly noticeable.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

This Rum I have had for a time and tested it together with friends this weekend. some of us think that it is a little bit swwet, but as always taste differs. I think it does a good job and gives you a lot of Rum delivers like vanilla, aftertaste and honey.