Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (229 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
10
32
96
61
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

229 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by John from United States with 16 ratings

Another fine rum from Barbados. This is a complex rum, full of flavor that is best sipped neat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This rum works well in cocktails or with coke. At this price it's worth owning to use in such drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Scott T from United States with 121 ratings

Not sure where the previous reviewer paid $25-30 for this but I got two bottles at Total Wine in Florida for $15 each.

RL seales is known for advocating purity in rum and as such doesn't sweeten or doctor his rums in any way, so might not appeal to some who are used to sweetened rums such as Diplomatico, Zaya or Zacapa,, but this is rum as it should be.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Midgarn from United States with 11 ratings

I had previously sampled the worst and best rums since I'd found Rum Ratings. It was easy to compare this as in between them.

It didn't burn but wasn't tasty straight. It does mix well.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 37 ratings

Truly excellent rum, especially at this price point. Has strong "rum" flavor (like eggnog) without bitterness or syrupy-ness, and very smooth. A dry whisky-like rum, without bite. Flavor ends abruptly with a very short finish. One of my all-time favorites. You won't be disappointed

On the nose: Vanilla, oak, carmel, brown sugar
Flavor: banana, carmel

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Pirate from Greece with 29 ratings

Rich taste, strong bite, burning sensation leaning heavily towards the pleasing spectrum, this has to be one of the best budget-treats out there. Decent, respectable, honest, rightly priced too! Tried it at a bar outside before new restrictions and liked it very, very much!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 146 ratings

Toto je rum, ktorý mám vždy doma. Chuti ľuďom ,ktorý majú radi isladsie rumy i rumarom , ktorí už prešli k nedosladzovanym. Pekná, príjemná chuť a v danej cene naozaj dobrá kúpa.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by DejviSs from Czech Republic with 57 ratings

I like this rum, not so sweet, very nice tones of sherry.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

I bought a bottle of the XO in Barbados, by mistake, thinking I had picked up a bottle of the 12 year old, which is an excellent tipple. I drink my rum neat and although the XO was extremely good value for money, I would prefer to pay a little more and get the 12 year old. The problem I then had was that the XO was far too good to use in cocktails or with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by strummed76 from United States with 2 ratings

Its been 2 1/2 weeks since I bought my first bottle of Doorly's XO from Total Wines. I spent $19.99 for a bottle of this quality Barbados rum. I really wanted to try the 12 year variety, but they were sold out so I decided to give this one a shot. The bottle had a nice, squat, round shape to it, and the label had a blue parrot on it. The bottle definitely had a quality look to it, and I could easily see it being displayed in anyone's liquor cabinet. The top was cherry wood colored with a synthetic cork stopper. It was a darker rum with great color, and I found that it poured easily from the bottle with no messy drips. So far I was impressed, and couldn't wait to try it. This was going to be my first sip of alcohol in four years.

It was strong! I wasn't sure if I could sip this and actually enjoy it. It took quite a few drinks to deaden the taste buds a bit to tolorate it. I made a few Pina Coladas with it, and they were absolutely fantastic! (Especially with soft crushed ice from Chic Fil-A.) You can buy bags of it for $1.29. Anyway, I did eventually start sipping this rum. I didn't find the initial flavor sweet, and the nose became a little more mellow. It had a rich and complex mouth with huge body. The finish was smooth and dry. In my opinion, this is an excellent bottle to try if you're new to rums. It will certainly give you a solid reference base to compare other rums to.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by pula_pirata from Australia with 25 ratings

...And I’m hooked. Sweet without being cloying for no having added sugar. Def a staple to any rum fan.