Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


196 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I'm a sucker for Barbados rum. I am an even BIGGER sucker for tasty Barbados rum.

Doorly's XO is exactly that. Glad I finally got a bottle.

Another product from the folks at R.L. Seale & Company so you know you are getting some of the finest in quality when it comes to rum. No additives. No sugars.

This rum is a blend of older rums and then matured in Spanish Oloroso sherry casks (or barrels?)

The color is a rich, deep amber and the aroma is delightful. As usual I am unable to determine specific subtleties in the aroma but can only tell you that it smells great. No astringency.

The flavor is fantastic. An initial sweetness indicating molasses and a nice vanilla/toffee undertone which then is joined in by that oak mentioned early.

Here's where is gets interesting for me. With many rums aged in oak a noticeable bitterness from the oak tannins is present and often tends to overtake the flavor.

HOWEVER with this rum, the oak flavor joins and blends with the initial flavors and never actually overwhelms. It is noticeable but is beautifully balanced. It rapidly fades revealing a delicious finish consisting mostly of the natural molasses.

This is a rum that could be considered a sipping rum by many. Some would disagree. It makes an out-freakin'-standing mixing rum no matter how you cut it...or mix it. I cannot think of any beverage that would not benefit from Doorly's XO.

Now one would think that for such a fine rum a bottle would cost $45-$50 USD?

How about $17 USD?

SERIOUSLY!

This is one of those rums that you get the most bang for your buck. The flavor is worthy of a $50 price tag but R.L. Seale and Company chose to charge much less.

That alone is worth a couple of ratings points from me.

I continue to grow more and more impressed with R.L. Seale & Company.

This is a great rum.

Posted 4 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 13 ratings

A very nice rum for the price. Had it on the rocks with a lime. Has an almost sweet flavor, and her robust flavor.

Posted 4 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Coming back from hiking Red Rock Canyon on the west side of Las Vegas, I stopped at Total Wine and picked up one bottle each of Doorly's 12 Year and Foursquare Spiced. A bit further east on Charleston, I told myself WTF and finally got to stop at Frankie's Tiki Room. I already knew that they had Doorly's XO in their list of about 200 rums, which was my goal. Wonderful place and I tried this rum neat with a glass of cold water on the side for adding a few drops.

It is smooth with very little burn. I never even noticed the sherry barrel aging, which is wisely kept subtle. Compared to the other two new rums that I tried, the Foursquare Spiced won hands down and the Doorly's 12 Year was a major disappointment. This was quite a shock to me, so don't rely too much on all of these reviews. It is all about what YOU like!

Posted 5 months ago by roberto.azores from Portugal with 43 ratings

This rum is what I am looking for:
Not sweet, light, easy to drink, full of flavor and smooth.
The distillate reminds me of sugarcane juice, not molasses.
An excellent choice for any moment.
Highly recommended.

Posted 5 months ago by Sheff Ma Zi from Russian Federation with 13 ratings

Quite nice english-style rum. Both okay for mixed drinks and sipping neat, but perfect.
Judging by its price - it has complex and rich taste. Hints of vanilla and cane sugar mollases follows the refreshing cinnamon trace. Aftertaste is oaky, with little alco afterburn

Posted 5 months ago by J1gg1ns from United Kingdom with 42 ratings

This is a solid rum and great for the price point but in my opinion, the 12 year blows it out of the water and is much more interesting. This is good though and worth trying.

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Mezcla de rones máximo 6 o 7 años.

Fuertes notas de maderas nobles, frutos secos y algo tropical que no concibo bien.

Muy bien.

Posted 6 months ago by 5691Aa (PREMIUM) from United States with 22 ratings

Rated this 8, factor in price should be 9. Wonderful sipping rum. For me aroma and flavor demonstrate the oak. Started as dried fruit/dried apricots, towards bottom of bottle seemed more like vanilla. No burn. I thought about mixing, but then it was so smooth and tasty didn't seem right. Next up is Doorly's 12!

Posted 6 months ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 27 ratings

I’m missing more lasting flavour, and a bit more Caribian taste

Posted 7 months ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 183 ratings

Ikke så kraftig duft, men måske en snært af karamel og banan. Tør i smagen med et strejf af sødme fra sherryen. God varme med lidt finish af kokos. Selvom den er tør, er den ok. Produkt fra Foursquare, så det er uden sukker. Fin pris på 285. (4. December 2018 MacY)

Posted 7 months ago by thomashm from United States with 3 ratings

I am a big fan of Barbados rums and this one didn't let me down. Great quality at a great price.

Posted 7 months ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

One of my favourites, well balanced, rich, have those wooden hints that I love and no sugar bomb, and what is very important - really great price for its quality

Posted 8 months ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

My favorite from Doorly’s. This is better tasting than the 12 years in my opinion. A bit over the sweeter side with nice notes of caramel and brown sugar, that harsh alcohol note in the finish is more hidden in this one.

Posted 8 months ago by eddieo from United States with 91 ratings

At less than $20 US and a colorful packaging to grab your attention, this may seem like a ploy. Well, an aged Bajan (let alone ANY) rum at this price point may be a trap, and perhaps it is, to lure you into the world of Foursquare’s storied sippers taking everyone by the gullet these days. Just maybe... we’ll have to let Richard himself answer that riddle.

This is quite close to what could be construed as an aged Spanish-style rum, with its flavor profile in the same oaky-caramel-vanilla range, but the finish is quite different. For the ABV and purported blending of aged (read: generally mellowed) rums, this packs some heat right at the end, and continues to a smoldering ember a minute later. That is not to suggest this is unpalatable - indeed, it’s all the hype you’ve read - to the crossover fans of whisky, scotch and bourbons, but it does not cloy or loiter like some of the DR and PR favorites do. Which, is precisely one of the things that makes them great mixers in my book, but that’s a whole other discussion, and perhaps defense.

Because I like to sip rum straight. And I like to mix and build cocktails, too. But what goes in must stand up on its own, and that’s generally what gets a mark in this range when tasting a spirit for the first time. NB: I’ve definitely tasted this before, at a rum fest in NYC, but I couldn’t have remembered much for the life of me after that.

This is a great gift for a friend who enjoys aged spirits or needs some rum in their cabinet, it’s a dry sipper straight up or on the rocks, a great mixer for cocktails requiring aged bajan rum and an excellent value. You shouldn’t be disappointed.

Posted 8 months ago by xCorporalx (PREMIUM) from Germany with 80 ratings

...i am personally not a fan of non sugared rum, yet this one has a pleasant and mild taste to it and then ends with a slight sharp burn.

The smell itself is not overwhelming but decent & elegant.

I expected a little more after reading multiple reviews, but still a good rum.

7,5 points.

Posted 8 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

This is a dry Sherry-casked rum that is at home straight in your glass or with ice. Not at all as sweet as rums from Guayana or Trinidad. Good balance.

Posted 8 months ago by P.D. from Czech Republic with 29 ratings

I have XO and 12 and I can't decide which one is best... Great for sipping...

Posted 8 months ago by Kawaas from Czech Republic with 3 ratings

Velice pitelny, stale suchy, ale jemny. Mel by byt v baru.

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is not overly complex, but it delivers - especially at the price it sells for. The use of sherry casks gives more body to a fairly light rum spirit from Barbados's Foursquare distillery. Distinctively creamy, sherried and beautiful, with a naturally drying finish with some oak. Well done!

Posted 9 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

Whiskey-like nose. Oak from the barrels, vanilla, dark fruit. Very clean & dry on entry. A tad thin. Again, very whiskey-like. Caramel, vanilla, toffee initially. Banana, citrus & dark fruit mid to finish. Little to no sweetness... which I prefer. Only wish the finish was a little longer. A thicker mouthfeel and this moves to an 8. However, for $16.99 this still makes for a fine sipper.

Posted 10 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 51 ratings

As others have stated, a really good quality unsweetened honest Rum. Lots of great flavours and no harsh alcohol burn, there is an afterburn, but a very pleasant one.

Posted 10 months ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Dalsi rum z Foursquare a znova zásah do plného. Nedosladzovany rum z Barbadosu 9+

Posted 11 months ago by Zane from Norway with 47 ratings

Doesn’t really stand out. On the bitty shelf, but rum is alright.

Posted 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Not heard of this, but it turned out to not be something rememberable.

Posted 12 months ago by Simon Doherty from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

A very good rum at a very good price. At around £15 cheaper than the 12 year old this makes it an excellent purchase.