Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO rum

Doorly's XO

Barbados | Aged

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10 (219 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
9
31
91
58
18
6

Rate Doorly's XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


219 Doorly's XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 164 ratings

Tested this at a restaurant some times ago. Doorly’s XO is as all rum from R.L. Seale’s and The Foursquare distillery pricewhorty.
But I won’t let it in into my Bajan rum shelf where I already have the 12yo one, which I find even better.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Sink from Switzerland with 20 ratings

Great rum with no added sugar and a remarkable sherry sweet-like profile. Very balanced on both the nose and the palate, with a broad range of flavors. I like to sip it neat, haven't tried it in a cocktail yet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

Smooth Barbados taste. Sweet nose, vanilla, banana. Spicy notes in taste, not very long on tongue. Feels natural. Absolutely drinkable on its own. Havent tried in coctails yet. When you compare it to Plantation Barbados edition rums, then you will notice that Doorly’s is not sweet at all while Plantations are overly sugared and the vanilla and caramel make your stomach sick.

Not sure if it’s a steong seven, rather 6.8-6.9 because it does not offer any excitement to me that I had not experienced before. But, its core components are strong and likable. Will revisit

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 241 ratings

This little rascal is finished in oloroso casks and the sherry is very evident on the nose right away along with a hint of banana and caramel. It’s a little dry. Sipping reveals a light and fairly elegant rum with subtle natural sweetness that quickly rolls towards a slightly tannic finish hinting at the sherry notes and perhaps a bit of coconut?
I actually had a hard time defining the notes in this one. I prefer the doorlys 12 year but this Is still very nice and well balanced but perhaps a bit shy.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Clinton from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Make no mistake this is a nice rum. However with the exclusive "XO" label it left me wanting a little more (Personally next time I will go back to the 12yr old). As a sipping rum I did not find it quite smooth enough and much preferred the complex flavor when mixed (Ginger Ale). A great looking bottle worth having in your liquor cabinet if only to show the wide difference that can be achieved by master rum makers.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i hear a lot of this rum, but now i try it and im disappointed, to flat taste for me

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

I really like the Seale rums having tried Doorly’s 8 and RL Seale. I thought I’d try something new from Seale. I agree with many other reviewers that the sherry taste (with hints of black spice) takes away from a good aged rum. The price was excellent and if you like a quality slightly flavored rum, go for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

Harsh for the throat. Little bit dissapointed. With some ice it is ok. Aftertaste is good.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

Found this one on sale during a monthly special at total wine. Perhaps even more smooth than the 12-year-old, this XO is remarkable for its texture if just a bit shy on the extra flavor notes found in its older sibling.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Treesnake from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Výborná chuť sherry a jemnost, veliké překvapení, můj oblíbenec

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Grand Master Jay from United Kingdom with 80 ratings

This rum works well in cocktails or with coke. At this price it's worth owning to use in such drinks.