Posting your rating...
Doorly's XO 6-Year rum

Doorly's XO 6-Year

Barbados | Aged | 43.0% ABV

Produced in Barbados by master distiller Richard Seale, the rums in Doorly XO have been aged a minimum of 6 years before finishing in Olorosco sherry casks. The second maturation in sherry casks is rare and gives Doorly XO its unique flavour.

7.1/10
246 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
11
32
105
67
19
6

Rate Doorly's XO 6-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

246 Doorly's XO 6-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Matt A from Canada with 12 ratings

Picked this up at the RL Seale factory in Barbados...very good rum in the line of Bajan rums. Not necessarily my go to sipping rum but good on almost any occasion. Hints of honey and vanilla on the palate but definitely not too sweet

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Bas from Netherlands with 7 ratings

No this is some rum for your buck. Great flavours, easy sipping. Its not as great as more expensive XO's but you cant go wrong with this one. Just great!

Small 0b29d8f1 2b74 4cf1 99fb 20fd58acf330

Posted 8 months ago by Mr.Black (PREMIUM) from United States with 6 ratings

Mellow slightly smokey vanilla, toasty caramel. I've heard it said this has no added sugar, my mouth agrees. Slightly dry/dryish. Subtly sweet. Warm down the lower esophagus with max warmth at stomach. Ever so slightly toasty/smokey.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Kevin from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I bought a bottle of the XO in Barbados, by mistake, thinking I had picked up a bottle of the 12 year old, which is an excellent tipple. I drink my rum neat and although the XO was extremely good value for money, I would prefer to pay a little more and get the 12 year old. The problem I then had was that the XO was far too good to use in cocktails or with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Sink from Switzerland with 20 ratings

Great rum with no added sugar and a remarkable sherry sweet-like profile. Very balanced on both the nose and the palate, with a broad range of flavors. I like to sip it neat, haven't tried it in a cocktail yet.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Andero from Estonia with 95 ratings

Smooth Barbados taste. Sweet nose, vanilla, banana. Spicy notes in taste, not very long on tongue. Feels natural. Absolutely drinkable on its own. Havent tried in coctails yet. When you compare it to Plantation Barbados edition rums, then you will notice that Doorly’s is not sweet at all while Plantations are overly sugared and the vanilla and caramel make your stomach sick.

Not sure if it’s a steong seven, rather 6.8-6.9 because it does not offer any excitement to me that I had not experienced before. But, its core components are strong and likable. Will revisit

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 249 ratings

This little rascal is finished in oloroso casks and the sherry is very evident on the nose right away along with a hint of banana and caramel. It’s a little dry. Sipping reveals a light and fairly elegant rum with subtle natural sweetness that quickly rolls towards a slightly tannic finish hinting at the sherry notes and perhaps a bit of coconut?
I actually had a hard time defining the notes in this one. I prefer the doorlys 12 year but this Is still very nice and well balanced but perhaps a bit shy.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Clinton from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Make no mistake this is a nice rum. However with the exclusive "XO" label it left me wanting a little more (Personally next time I will go back to the 12yr old). As a sipping rum I did not find it quite smooth enough and much preferred the complex flavor when mixed (Ginger Ale). A great looking bottle worth having in your liquor cabinet if only to show the wide difference that can be achieved by master rum makers.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

i hear a lot of this rum, but now i try it and im disappointed, to flat taste for me

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

I really like the Seale rums having tried Doorly’s 8 and RL Seale. I thought I’d try something new from Seale. I agree with many other reviewers that the sherry taste (with hints of black spice) takes away from a good aged rum. The price was excellent and if you like a quality slightly flavored rum, go for it.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Token from Netherlands with 26 ratings

Harsh for the throat. Little bit dissapointed. With some ice it is ok. Aftertaste is good.