Posting your rating...
Doorly's 5-Year rum

Rate Doorly's 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


54 Doorly's 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum's colour is a nice golden amber shade, surprising light for a rum aged for 5 years. While it has a slight alcohol/chemical smell to it, it is a solid rum for mixing with cola. The resulting rum and cola is light and sweet and very smooth, although the rum flavour is a little "thin", for those expecting more complexity from a 5 yr old.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I have been reading the praises of Doorly's rums and finally am now able to try some thanks to Total Wine and More in Jacksonville. Had to drive over 3 hours to get some. No one locally could obtain any.

I will start with Doorly's Fine Old Barbados Rum Aged 5 Years.

My bottle differs a great deal in appearance as compared to the bottle on the RumRatings list. I uploaded a photo I took for comparison.

Anyway, the bottle has a parrot on the label...actually a scarlet macaw...I'm partial to birds...I have a very spoiled pet cockatiel named "Cheech"...

But I digress...

The rum itself is a nice amber. The aroma in my snifter is quite nice. Has a sweetness to it. The flavor also imparts a nice sweetness. However upon a little investigation I find that testing was done on this rum and it was not sugared. So the sweetness is natural.

I shall now digress again...

Two things...

First off, this rum comes from the R.L. Seale & Company. I've recently read a lot about Richard Seale and all of it good. One thing is apparent is that he is very particular about being transparent concerning his rums. I respect that. The label says "Aged 5 Years" not just a "5" or "5 years". It is very specific. And also from what I have read concerning Mr. Seale is that the rum you get is the rum that came directly from the barrel...no additives...no sugaring. I have to respect that. I hope to meet him someday and shake his hand.

Secondly, it seems that the bulk of the rums I like best come from two places: Barbados and Martinique. Don't know why. It is what it is.

Digression concluded.

The flavor starts sweet and has hints of vanilla and toffee. No harsh burn but a pleasant warmth. The finish is quite delicious making me want another sip...and another...and yet another...

The sweetness is far from overpowering and there are oak undertones carrying it all along.

This is a quality rum.

And the $12 USD I paid for it qualifies it as a heckuva bargain. Versatile as well. This rum needs to be mandatory at all bars especially tiki bars. Sipper...mixer...anyway you want it, you can't go wrong.

Dadgummit! I want daiquiris made with this. ASAP!

R.L. Seale and Company...I salute you!

Posted almost 5 years ago by MnChuck from United States with 14 ratings

Bought at Total Wine for $10. A really nice rum for the price. Vanilla and caramel notes on the nose with faint dry fruit and some alcohol . This rum is nice and smooth on the palate with vanilla and caramel coming through the dry fruit comes in more on taste then smell. Long finish with a minimal burn. I love what Seales has done at the Four Square Distillery and can not recommend their products enough.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

A Bajan friend and I tried this. He told me the story of when he grew on the same street as Mr. Doorly. He said he remembered thinking he was a very plain man, and he must have made a very plain rum. Couldn't agree more. I like Bajan rum tremendously, but this is nothing special.

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Stone fruit, bananas, and a lovely finish all at a great price! $20 gets you 1.75 L and IMO, it's a sipper! highest recommendation. 7+

Posted about 2 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

$22. for a 1.75L...haha its a total fricking steal! Much like you would expect from a younger Doorly's 8 or younger RL Seale's, it definitely has some of the same flavors while having more expected burn that isn't overkill. Drink it on the rocks and problem solved, takes the edge off and still has great flavora of vanilla, honey, banana, and sugar cane grass. Definitely bringing this to the family beach house this summer.

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Light Bajan Rum and had a fresh un-open bottle which require some breathing. Pleasant creme brulee and toffee aroma. Nose finish with aroma of chocolate cookie and light woody-ness.
On nose, light caramel with good fresh fruits flavor such as plum. Minty and woody yet taste drier compare to nose.
It's dry yet fruity on the finishing with fresh berries (strawberry).

Posted about 3 years ago by Ari from Barbados with 15 ratings

I'm a fan of a rum with character. This one has a light hue, no depth to it. The taste confirms this, I taste alcohol and very little else. Fans of gold rum should maybe disregard this review, everything about this is mild; look, smell, taste. its not a sipper, not pleasant on the palate imo, tolerable with a couple rocks. I usually mix my cheaper rums with a coke, it was an ok mix for the buzz, I guess.

Its cheap, i'm not disappointed, but I expected more from doorly's as I speak highly of their 12 year. Its ok.

Posted about 3 years ago by Marek from Slovakia with 30 ratings

seriously, no nose, no taste, no aftertaste. i was expecting something along the lines of typical bajan rum, such as plantation barbados 5, but this came nowhere near. I could only feel alcohol. very thing and a lot of burn.

no fruit, no coconut, no nothing. getting close to baccardi, which says a great deal

Posted over 3 years ago by Colli from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

Bought this after trying at the distillery. Smooth finish but not the best for sipping, although the value for money is excellent. Perfect rum for corn and oil mix.

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

After first smell this Rum lets you to expect more. Unfortunately the taste is closer to flavoured vodka than rum. Drinkable with coke.

Posted about 4 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 130 ratings

In aroma: candied fruit, woody, weak, a little fresh and mysterious. Burns the palate and the throat, sweetness, sharply in the throat, the tongue grows numb, woody, bitter, burning sensation definitely.Taste is severe.
In the aftertaste is a cream-brule, something confectionery, alcohol burns, the head is calm, but it's hot.

Posted over 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Than a rum this age has any right to be.

More classic offerings from Foursquare

Posted about 2 months ago by Fozzie500 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Lovely stuff, when you open the bottle, you are treated to a beautiful aroma that can not be mistaken for anything else other than rum. very smooth with coke, lovely aftertaste that lingers in the mouth.
i will definitely be getting another bottle.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

For the price, it's hard to beat as a mixer but not complex enough for a sipper for me.

Posted 5 months ago by poly.pop from United States with 23 ratings

No, this isn't a multi-decade-aged and mature sipper - it's under $30 for a handle. But, considering its pricepoint, rum does not get any better in terms of value. Not quite a sipper (look to the XO, 8, or 12 year for taking Doorly's to the rocks) but the absolute standard for a bajan style mixing rum. Always have a handle or two stocked in my collection and always seem to be running out.

Posted 9 months ago by DFW.TX from United States with 19 ratings

Just another solid, versatile rum from Foursquare. Come on... for $12 it can't be beat. Use it mainly for cocktails but have been known to sip it occasionally. Typical Foursquare profile nose and palate-wise. A must for any home bar.

Posted 10 months ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 138 ratings

Nice spice and a bite, but limited unique notes. Plantation 5-year is better, I’d go with that

Posted 10 months ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

N- Vanilla and honey with subtle pepper and mineral at the backdrop. All fine but remains basic and sugary at initial stage, but develop with layers of earthiness in the nuances of fresh leafs, sour milk and ashy smokes. Rum macerated berries, orange and jammy with molasses undertone. (86/20)

P- Lovely bright and full at low proof with zesty high notes remains there for a long time. Then some oak phenol lingers with toasted sugar bread. Not sure about any additive, probably it does at minimal dosage, but feel pure and clean. (87/21)

F- Medium, clean, pepper with coat of oak for boldness, smooth with hint of wax. (87/21)

B/B- 87/21

Weighted Rate- 83pt
— at The Rum Bar KL.

Posted 11 months ago by KYRumRunner from United States with 5 ratings

Good stuff! Recieved as a gift. Can't wait to try FourSquare's other rums!

Posted 12 months ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

This is great basic rum that goes on some party with ice, and gets job done.
Definitly not a sipper that I would cherish moments on friday evenings, but still it is better than vodka and cheap whisky

Final verdict:
I will definitly give it another shot on some occasion

Posted about 1 year ago by JackOrion from United States with 61 ratings

It’ll definitely not disappoint when you need an aged Bajan on budget. It’ll gladly take a backseat beautifully if you’re making ‘gentle’ cocktails. Along with the Macaw It’s a pantry rum.

Posted about 1 year ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 0-5 GPL. Aromas and tastes of vanilla, oak, a bit of caramel and spices. A bit of a burn on the palate but nothing to make you cringe. There is a sweetness in the rum and I know that R.L. Seale or Doorly's doesn't add anything to their rums so it's a pleasant surprise. Well balanced rum that you could sip if there was nothing else but I suggest a piece of ice. It mixes really well and is well priced.
Worth having in your bar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Angel73 from Switzerland with 4 ratings

My First "real" Rum. So this will forever be a special memory to me :-)

Posted over 1 year ago by mrakoplas from Slovakia with 35 ratings

Vôňa spočiatku alkoholová, po čase vanilka, chuť veľmi príjemná, hrejivá. Rum z Barbadosu, teda rum - žiadne aditíva, bez cukru. Môj prvý rum, ktorý mi veľmi zachutil a s ktorým budem porovnávať ďalej.