Posting your rating...
Doorly's 5-Year rum

Doorly's 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.5/10
66 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
24
24
10
1

Rate Doorly's 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

66 Doorly's 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 276 ratings

I love Doorly’s and Four square but I can’t even mix this in cocktails. Go for the 12 year, the 8 is marginally better. Sorry I see hangovers coming from this one.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mario from Poland with 5 ratings

Not too expensive, easy drinkable room. Nice smell and a little sweet finish. Very good.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by NutterSipper from United States with 20 ratings

This rum has the same basic taste as the other doorly's that I have tried, the 8 year and the XO. I got it in a 1.5L plastic bottle, which is a bit of a turn-off, but I bought it as party mixer, so did not intend it to survive more than a day. I did taste a little sip on it's own and for the price it was surprisingly good. Mixed with coke it creates a very good Rum-cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I thoroughly enjoyed this rum after buying it as a gift for a brother who refuses to drink neat spirits! I tasted it first at the Foursquare distillery and immediately preferred the RL Seales 10 year. That is pretty tough competition though! Overall it's a great rum, it just shares the distillery with an even better one!

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

My usual cheap and cheerful house rum is Chairman's Reserve, so wanted to get another that might offer variety,

Initially I was concerned about it being a 5yo, but really, this was wholly unfounded. Soft, easy with a lovely bite from the spirit. Good length, easy to approach but not one dimensional. For the price, a winner. For the purist, they will find things to complain about.

I originally gave it a 7 but due to the price, I have bumped it up one. I would add though, with me being a little dismissive of the 8yo (below), going back to the 5yo after the 8yo shows how much it lacks in comparison. But still price/quality, it is an absolute winner.

EDIT - (I added this to the 8yo, but it is pertinent here)... the more I drink the 5yo, 8yo and 12yo the more I don't quite see how the 8yo fits in. The 5yo is a easy, soft, unsophisticated and very easy to sip. The 12yo has the sophistication and power. The 8yo is somewhere in the middle (inc price wise). Dare I say that the 8yo is a little pointless? Don't get me wrong, it's a good rum, but the 5yo is easier (albeit very much less sophisticated) and the 12yo is better. Maybe it is a case that I actually prefer the soft oakiness of the 5yo to the 8yo.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Tropical fruit essence with coconut and vanilla finish.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Herkomst: Barbados
Distilleerderij: Foursquare
Abv: 40%
Prijs: €19,50 - 70cl
Kleur: lichtbruin
Aroma: karamel, fruitig, citrus en een beetje alcohol.
Smaak: beetje alcohol) maar toch zacht voor een jonkie, karamel, bruine suiker, beetje hout en witte peper.
Nasmaak: droog.

Maar 5 jaar op hout en toch weer zo'n smaakvolle rum van Foursquare.
Dus geen suiker, kleurstoffen, hout of vanille extracten toegevoegd en een eerlijke "age" statement op het label, wat wil je nog meer?

Ow, en niet duur.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 475 ratings

This is an interesting rum for the price... on the rocks cam be quite harsh but used as a cocktail or cola it becomes devine... Really dry flavour but that's how I like it... Excellent with lime

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by michael greenman from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

there are worse out there... but also a lot better... it wasnt that i didnt enjoy the bottle, it was just not that noteable

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jake from New Zealand with 23 ratings

Not really much to say about this rum. A bit of dryness there & makes a great as a mixer. Not to strong, & very easy to drink. A good rum at a reasonable price. Though should be around $40 not $50.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 216 ratings

I found this very dry and almost whisky like in taste. Quite a lot of alcohol in taste and a medium burn in the throat. Feels well made and a very straight rum but for me its just a good mixer with both cola and ginger beer.