Posting your rating...
Doorly's 5-Year rum

Doorly's 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.5/10
66 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
24
24
10
1

Rate Doorly's 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

66 Doorly's 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 276 ratings

I love Doorly’s and Four square but I can’t even mix this in cocktails. Go for the 12 year, the 8 is marginally better. Sorry I see hangovers coming from this one.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

As with all of the Doorly's rums, this is very good. Essentially the difference between this and the 12 year old is that this is less complex and has less going on. It's still very good - especially for the price. It has a held back natural sweetness (no sugar, it's R L Seale!) and a little bit of fruitiness (not nearly so much as the 12 year old). There's a bit of oak too and not much burn - just a really nice glowing warmth. Strangely, I found that it had more on the nose thatn the 12 year old, but certainly less on the fade and tongue.
The only downside is that I'd marginally prefer a Havan Club Anejo Especial for just a little less and certainly a Chairman's Reserve for a fraction less - but that's no sin, they are great rums...and this is pretty good too.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 64 ratings

Sweet enough rum. Slighty less compared to the XO. It'll do.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by B.P.O. from Netherlands with 53 ratings

Definitely more of a mixer type of drink. Pare best with a ginger-ale and second best a cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by William Ferguson from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Very mild rum with vanilla and banana flavours. Not easy to get in UK supermarkets so price point was mid range. Drinkable and good mixer, but to be honest I prefer more complexity.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

A true Bajan rum that is a very nice rum for such a short amount of time it has had to age. Too young..too young

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2746 ratings

Tried the Doorly's XO, 8y and 5y back-to-back and I have to say I went from bad to worse. The 5y has a very harsh alcohol smell, disappointing flavors on the tongue and a nasty burn to finish the experience. There are literally hundreds of much better aged rums in this price range, so don't waste your money on a Doorly's.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Use this one mostly for mixing Corn 'n' oils, which it does very well. However it could be sipped too!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by poosu from United States with 39 ratings

Couldn't believe the price at Total Wine, about $11, so I had to try it. I was very pleased to find it was a pretty good drink. I'm not a connoisseur, but I drink a lot aged rum. I've now consumed about half a dozen bottles of this. Not a great rum but a good rum at a great price which I appreciate.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I love Foursquare distillery and what they bring to the table rum wise! Inexpensive rum that can be sipped though a Little harsh with some burn. Best bet is to mix it. A true Bajan rum that is a very nice rum for such a short amount of time it has had to age.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

Surprisingly dry and subtle. Pretty good with coke. Interesting example of the kind of distillate you'll find in Barbados. A mere suggestion of tropical fruitiness with it's sticky molasses over tones and decent if unspectacular esters.