Posting your rating...
Doorly's 5-Year rum

Doorly's 5-Year

Barbados | Gold

6.5/10
66 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
4
24
24
10
1

Rate Doorly's 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

66 Doorly's 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

Nice Rum, a bit bland though, lacks any depth of flavour, but pleasant none the less. Better to spend the extra and get the XO if sipping neat.

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 7 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 276 ratings

I love Doorly’s and Four square but I can’t even mix this in cocktails. Go for the 12 year, the 8 is marginally better. Sorry I see hangovers coming from this one.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 124 ratings

Lovely younger brother of XO, 8y and other older rums of the Doorly's lineup. This one very accessible sipper in terms of inviting sweet profile (no sugar added). On the nose there is vanilla, oak, oranges, on the palate there is pleasant vanilla, fruity, almost honey-like sweetness, with light oak undertone and pleasant mild aftertaste of oak, tropical fruits, with touch of nuts. Surprisingly balanced and overall pleasant rum for its price and age.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by nickprice from Netherlands with 19 ratings

The nose is vanilla and oak, it smells really nice. It’s pretty smooth with a bit of bite at the back of the throat and mild burn. I think the flavour is nice, it tastes a bit of marmalade to me. Overall it’s just not very refined. I wouldn’t sip it, instead it works okay on cocktails but maybe not massively exciting.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by btmg88 from United States with 8 ratings

Former bourbon drinker, switched to rum when I found Doorly's 5-year. This has become my house spirit. I most commonly drink it over crushed ice. I love substituting this rum for the Puerto Rican Gold rum called for in an original Zombie.

Though it is sold for $22(Texas) in a plastic 1.75L with a label that's usually damaged- I cannot recommend it enough.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I had been hesitant to try this version of Doorly's after being disappointed with too much oak in their 12 Year and not enough to shine in their 8 Year. Today, I found a BIG bottle of this for dirt cheap with the BIG macaw on the front. At the equivalent of $10 US per fifth, I could not go wrong. Well, as a mixer, this one is just fantastic for the money! You also might as well save yourself some money over the 8 year since I have them both ranked next to each other. Nothing offensive at all here, but absolutely nothing memorable as a sipper. No other budget mixer can compare with this real rum!!!! And as usual from Richard Seale, no added sugar!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

Tonight's Rum: Dorly's Five Year Old from Barbados and I've even been to the distillery where this rum is made. The cork releases a mild Rum scent. Not overpowering at all. It has honey and orange to start, ending with a slight spice, perhaps allspice. When it hits your pallet, it's only slightly warm, still sweet like its bouquet. The taste is a bit dry and does maintain the orange essence along with a bit of apricot. On the back of the mouth, there's a slight heat that disappears slowly. A fruity taste is left behind. After a nice swallow, it's not the smoothest, not for a novice Rum drinker. A true Rummy would consider it fair, 6 out of 10. Neat, mixed with Coke or fruit juice, your choice is fine.

Small a20a0240 12be 498f 8322 f99347d20740

Posted 1 year ago by Fozzie500 from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

Lovely stuff, when you open the bottle, you are treated to a beautiful aroma that can not be mistaken for anything else other than rum. very smooth with coke, lovely aftertaste that lingers in the mouth.
i will definitely be getting another bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

For the price, it's hard to beat as a mixer but not complex enough for a sipper for me.

Small inline garnish 2

Posted over 1 year ago by poly.pop from United States with 32 ratings

No, this isn't a multi-decade-aged and mature sipper - it's under $30 for a handle. But, considering its pricepoint, rum does not get any better in terms of value. Not quite a sipper (look to the XO, 8, or 12 year for taking Doorly's to the rocks) but the absolute standard for a bajan style mixing rum. Always have a handle or two stocked in my collection and always seem to be running out.