Posting your rating...
Don Q Gran Anejo rum

Don Q Gran Anejo

Puerto Rico | Aged

7.4/10 (151 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
6
20
48
44
19
9

Rate Don Q Gran Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


151 Don Q Gran Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 189 ratings

Ce rhum est très bon, il un gout de caramel, de miel et vanille et quand même complexe. Le prix, la boite et la bouteille ne représente pas le rhum dedans. Il ne faut pas se fier a l'emballage.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by locorican68 from United States with 25 ratings

Let's start with the bottle. This is a beautiful design with a nice top. Don Q is a staple for me and I have various in my collection. The Gran Añejo is a great improvement on the regular añejo. The rum is smooth, has a nice nose and the palate is sweet, chocolate and a little warm. If you can find it for a good price, you will not regret it. I’m bias when it comes to Ron, so this one is a smooth release for Don Q, which normally has low end rums and flavored drinks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Japd65 from Puerto Rico with 3 ratings

Although is strong at the palette, have good balance. Recommended as neat and with salty bites

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 45 ratings

Aged in a mix of american oak and ex-sherry casks, light color and flavor, crisp and soft, I would not mix it with anything as it will get lost on the drink... if you want to add something... just add ice!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by waves from United States with 6 ratings

This is an ok rum to drink neat and on the rocks. A bit harsh on the palate and not as good as Plantation 20, Pampero Aniversario or Diplomatico. Overpriced for what it is, you're paying extra for the nice packaging :) Would I buy it again? No. It's too expensive to mix it in cocktails and there are much better rums at this price point to drink neat or on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Pete from United States with 13 ratings

Enjoyable rum. I taste vanilla rum aged in oak. The only way I can describe the bite at the end is to imagine a very aged rum blended with a very young rum. For some reason it works. I like.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by DiNiko from Greece with 41 ratings

To be honest I must admit, in the first place it was the affection for the bottle that motivated me to buy it. Maybe the thing about this particular rum is that from the first look it emerges way too many excpectations concernng the content itself. Once poured in the glass and sipped though, it fails to fulfill those excpectations to a certain grade. Not being too much on the sweet side, is maybe the best thing about DonQ Grand Anejo. Other than that, I struggled to percieve some complexity in its' flavour with little succes. No strong kick on the nose once poured in the glass but on the other hand, quite harsh and disappointigly, flavour didn't realy seem to last much in the passing of time.
Overall, in my humble oppinion, at the range of 45 - 50 euro, a lot more decent choices are available.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Durbs from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Very smooth, lots of vanilla flavours in a fantastic bottle..
Slightly too expensive to my mind, but the fancy bottle won't come cheap.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by xrodriguez from United States with 19 ratings

Best I've had some far. Very smooth on rocks. Great oak finish. Love this

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 72 ratings

Very nice wooden box.
Pleasant on the nose. Little burn on palate. Smooth and pretty complex aroma. Touch of sweet plus oak at the same time. And a lot of fruits in between.
Not so long, but neat aftertaste with still little burn.
Good balance between sweet and dry rums. A bit too expensive: 70 CAD in Quebec.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

I’ve heard great things about Don Q White rum from my Puerto Rican friends but this one was a fantastic surprise.

Nice burn, smooth, not sweet, not tangy, not too much oak or bourbon flavor.