Posting your rating...
Don Q Gran Anejo rum

Rate Don Q Gran Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


144 Don Q Gran Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is one of the few rums I've rated at 8 or below that I like better than the consensus score (currently 7.3 as of this review). In fact, I like this more than many $100+ rums I've reviewed.

Molasses, oak, honey, vanilla, bourbon, leather, tobacco, and cinnamon. A very nice smell, and a good taste. Only $45.99 at Bevmo! (2015 price), this is a good value. I recommend it!

Posted about 2 years ago by Laurent Lapierre from Canada with 59 ratings

Bon rhum mais sans plus, rien d'extraordinaire, mais bon quand meme

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Assez ruff, manque de complexité. Sur l'alcool. Trop cher

Posted about 2 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

it´s a good one, he had his name from the famous Novelle "Don Quixote" by Miguel Cervantes. He is not so sweet. It´s a blend from different Rum´s

Posted over 2 years ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

I was unaware the high regard this Rum garners, my first encounter.

Medium amber, slightly floral nose. Mild honey, vanilla. Smooth finish

Posted over 2 years ago by Mickey from United States with 8 ratings

I love the presentation the bottle is real nice I would prefer it on the rocks or as a mixed drink has a burn to it but otherwise not bad just not sweet enough for me

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

That was the highlight for me , the classy bottle. I've tried this rum a couple of times now and wanted it to grow on me.. its not ! Lovely golden straw colour when poured , good medium legs in the glass.
Honey is the only aroma that comes to mind apart from astringent alcohol vapours. I left in the glass for the usual 20 mins but still very fiery . It says 6-12 years on the box but tastes very young to me.
Adding a teaspoon of water helped with the taming of the beast but its not for me im afraid. This will be an expensive mixer ....

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Poured neat, you smell a lot of oak and spice with a hint of honey. It rolls over the tongue nicely with a lot of flavor. Bourbon drinkers will like the oakiness. It leaves behind a bit of anise that would pair nicely with a cigar.

Posted over 2 years ago by Andre Byrd from United States with 4 ratings

Don Q Gran Añejo is surprisingly smooth. A very nice rum to sit and relax with.

Posted over 2 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Belle bouteille, le rhum est bon mais pas assez pour un 8.

Posted over 2 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Den är god men har någon märklig bismak. Inte så mycket tillsatt socker.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 28 ratings

Good nose, sweet, light but good flavors, small burn...

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

Many years ago, a co-worker who was from Puerto Rico told me that Don Q had the best rums. Since he was a refined gentleman and I was looking for yet another reason to bid Bacardi farewell, I bought one of their basic rums from the grocery store. Horrible stuff! I swore off Don Q at that time, but should have bought their standard Anejo instead, which is supposedly just as good as their Gran Anejo.

Then I got to reading reviews on this one here at Rum Ratings and added it to my wish list. Lo and behold, I found one of two remaining dusty bottles on the bottom shelf for $51 each. This should have told me something about it not being worth the money. A very good liquor store can drop subtle hints like this, as well as put some really good cheap ones on the top shelf.

Discarding the silly box on the outside, I had one rough time opening the tightest cork that I had ever encountered. I thought that something was wrong with it. Wiggling it back and forth finally allowed me to open it. It is a plastic cork, but these things prevent spoilage better than real corks made for wine to breathe. This first sign was a good one.

The nose was almost nothing. The taste was like a fine bourbon with no added sweetness or artificial flavors. It was as smooth as can be, but also not memorable at all. An ice cube did nothing to open up the flavors. The pretty bottle could easily impress guests, but that is not my style. However, I will savor this most expensive bottle of rum that I own just like I did for that only bottle of Pappy Van Winkle 15 year old bourbon many years ago. That bourbon lasted me for a record six months figuring that I could never find another one again. How right I was! But I won't be looking for another bottle of this over priced rum.

Update: Eventually, half of this bottle was gone and I was sick of looking at it to remind me that it inspired my personal limit of $50 per bottle. I also had a half bottle of the much cheaper Don Q Anejo. Hmmm! You guessed it! I poured this half bottle into the half bottle of Don Q Anejo and that combination made for a wonderful sipping rum that I still have. Since I could not wait to get that empty pretty bottle of Don Q Gran Anejo out of my sight, I gave it to my neighbor. However, Don Q and Cruzan now rate as my two best brands of budget rums from the northeastern Caribbean to avoid sipping on the expensive ones in my collection.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rick from United States with 22 ratings

Nose reminds me of a wheated Bourbon with cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. Very long finish with somewhat of alcohol bite and oak. Not for the syrupy sweet tooth fan, but loads of flavor. Like many fine whiskeys, this leaves a wonderful aroma of honey and vanilla in the glass after it has evaporated. Most rums do not do this.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodolfo from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Don Q Gran Añejo is best drank neer or on the rocks to experience its full body. Dry rum the goes down very smooth. The best out of Puerto Rico!
Enjoy

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

40% ABV.

Super caramel. Super smooth. Fairly sweet, with vanilla notes (though no added sugar).

It's really good rum, just super boring. About as good as conventionally aged 40% column-still rum can be, I guess.

7+

Posted over 2 years ago by emilio from United States with 1 rating

I'm from cuba last time I went to vacation I try Havana club select was real good but to me Don Q anejo is the best hard to find in tampa now don't know why

Posted over 2 years ago by poosu from United States with 36 ratings

This rum has a pretty good reputation and I got a bottle as a gift. Good but no better than Bacardi 8 at half the price. I'm no connoisseur, but I drink a fair amount of aged rum and this one was very good but not worth the price in my estimation.

Posted over 2 years ago by El Taino King from United States with 1 rating

Picked up this Gem at the airport in San Juan after a free sample me and my co worker decided it would be a nice addition to compliment the Ron Cana de Guayaba (moonshine) we had just checked (that gallon was gone on day 2 of being on the main land).
This stuff is good

Posted over 2 years ago by Alex from Italy with 32 ratings

In der Nase etwas Spritig, lässt aber sofort nach!
Im Mund ein wahrer Genuss!
Nicht schlecht , mag ich!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

Pripomina mi dos maderas luxus. Suchy rum, vyvazeny, neskriabe, jemny, korenisty, alkohol vobec nepreraza. 8.7/10

Posted over 2 years ago by Pete from United States with 2 ratings

What a great smooth sophisticated rum that is great with a little ice. Full, flavorful that doesn't kick you in the mouth. Very refined and elegant.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jm from France with 33 ratings

C'est un assemblage de rhums vieillis entre 9 et 12 ans d'une part et de rhum provenant d'une solera 50 ans (!!) d'autre part.
Aucun rajout comme d'habitude chez Don Q, le résultat est bluffant. Le Rhum est parfaitement équilibré, de la mélasse et du fruit pour une belle longueur en bouche. À servir 15 minutes avant dégustation pour la meilleure expérience.
Un Rhum haut de gamme pour un tarif très abordable.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dean from United States with 53 ratings

Not bad. Good sipper. Might have put too much water in it.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

A nice smooth rum with complexity, flavor no harsh burn or funky flavors. Gran anejo is on the sweet side of the podium, but in a good way with no added sugar or flavors, just what it draws out of the aging process. Cinnamon, vanilla, oak, leather and some fruitiness from the sherry barrels. Great rum enjoyed neat! This and the vintage single barrel 2005 are Don Q' finest offerings thus far.