Posting your rating...
Don Q Gran Anejo rum

Don Q Gran Anejo

Puerto Rico | Aged

7.3/10 (153 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
2
6
21
49
44
19
9

Rate Don Q Gran Anejo

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


153 Don Q Gran Anejo ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

I was unaware the high regard this Rum garners, my first encounter.

Medium amber, slightly floral nose. Mild honey, vanilla. Smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by 2.ooohhh from United States with 42 ratings

Very clean aged rum, without lots of extra sugar. Hints of molasses, bourbon, and cinnamon heat make this a great rum to experience neat.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

I purchased a bottle of this rum at a military PX on Puerto Rico for about $35, a much friendlier cost compared to the $70 it costs in the States. The bouquet is pleasant thought I found the flavor profile did not match up as it was not particularly great. Good, but not great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Geno from Canada with 30 ratings

i rate this as not in my top 5. the bottle looks good on the shelf, but it is just no better than 7. my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

For over $50 a bottle I expected something better than what was in the bottle (a very nice bottle incidentally -- worth saving and reusing after scraping the lettering off -- BTW, make sure you have it on a sturdy flat surface because the artificial cork they use has a tight...and I mean TIGHT...fit). A rather dry Puerto Rican rum with very strong oak flavor...more akin to a bourbon than a rum IMHO. Not necessarily a bad thing if you also like bourbon...I do not. Some will probably like this as a sipping rum but for it's too harsh for sipping and needs to be mixed or added to Coke Zero. [NOTE: Just added 3oz to a 16.9oz bottle of Coke Zero -- definitely an improvement.]

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Max from United States with 10 ratings

I like a rum that I can sip... this one is moody... Half the time I think it's good, the other half I can't help it but to dump coke on it.
I'd rather have two bottles of diplomatico for the price of one of these!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

This isn't a bad rum but it's far from great. The bottle may be it's most distinctive feature. Notice there isn't a single review focusing on taste and aroma? That's because this disappointing rum has no distinctive flavor. I can't identify a characteristic. It's reasonably smooth but yet has an after burn that you'll notice at first. This isn't bad. It's just not great. I can think of 10 rums I'd rather drink but at least 10 that are far worse.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Very cool packaging (sliding coffin) wife bought for me as a bday present. Sweet lady;) its an amazing smooth rum. I really enjoyed it straight. at $70 its a bit much but I'll always keep one in stock.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Alphamale76 from United States with 14 ratings

Tasty but not very much variety in taste or complexity.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 2 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 205 ratings

I had great expectation from this fine presentation, but found ordinary rum in the bottle. Nothing bad nothing great.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 73 ratings

Wonderful golden amber color. Campfire sap, and coco on the nose. A little malty. Sea salt, brown butter, and vanilla on the pallet.