Posting your rating...
Don Q Gold rum

Don Q Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Don Q Gold rum is produced in Puerto Rico by the famed Serralles family. The ""Gold"" brand is aged between 1-5 years and then carbon filtered.

Don Q has over 140 years of history with the original distillery being founded in 1865. Its name is derived from the famous La Mancha character Don Quixote.

5.2/10
43 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
11
6
1

Rate Don Q Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Don Q Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

sippable rum that is fairly cheap. Flavors are definitely oriented towards cigar smokers. Very similar flavor, actually, to Flor de Cana.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 486 ratings

This is a wired rum as it's labelled as a golden rum but it is really light in colour. Myself I like a really flavourful golden aged rum and this is more along the lines of a white rum than gold which is what makes its bizarre.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

It's hard to understand exactly how the gold is so much worse than the cristal. This is not a good spirit but there are plenty worse, and may have a better rating than it deserves because of my reluctant ambivalence to the brand

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

At this price point, I think there are much better rums out there like Flor De Cana 4 year and Cruzan. Don Q gold has a harsh alcohol "bouquet" and a somewhat "chemical" flavor to me. It's drinkable but I'm not inclined to buy it again, even as a mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 36 ratings

Light straw colored, like white wine or cider. Light aroma, like an rubbing alcohol. Lightly sharp taste, a lot of alcohol. Use in a drink, maybe...?

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mark from Canada with 59 ratings

This rum's colour is a faint yellow - not very "gold" at all. It smells like rubbing alcohol and has a harsh taste with a hint of sweetness... Doesn't look or taste like an aged rum, and when mixed with cola its drinkable, but really more comparable to a white rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Natalio from Argentina with 68 ratings

Un ron ideal para mezclar, un sabor impresionante para mezclar

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Foderetti from United States with 14 ratings

Pretty smooth, not heavy on flavor, nice finish, no crazy after taste, great to mix.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 345 ratings

I get shy and bright nose. Nothing special, it's not harsh but simple.
The taste starts watery but warm with vanilla from the bourbon white oak. It turns spicy, I get also some bitter notes and a light fruity taste. At the end is some bourbon oak and some chocolate notes.

Very simple and young rum. I would rate it with 46 points.

Nose: vanilla, white oak, some citrus a fruit like peach or apple (it's very shy)
Taste: vanilla, some peach, some spice, some bitter notes, bourbon wood, some chocolate
Finish: spice, vanilla

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 1/5
Value (16.9€): 1.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

Kräftiger, intensiver Rum, welcher sich sehr gut zum Mischen eignet.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 84 ratings

It’s a fine light gold rum. Perfect for a rum and coke