Posting your rating...
Don Q Gold rum

Don Q Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Don Q Gold rum is produced in Puerto Rico by the famed Serralles family. The ""Gold"" brand is aged between 1-5 years and then carbon filtered.

Don Q has over 140 years of history with the original distillery being founded in 1865. Its name is derived from the famous La Mancha character Don Quixote.

5.2/10
43 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
11
6
1

Rate Don Q Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Don Q Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

sippable rum that is fairly cheap. Flavors are definitely oriented towards cigar smokers. Very similar flavor, actually, to Flor de Cana.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

Definitely not a sipping rum, but unique in it's own way. I found an odd sweetness to it that I have not found elsewhere, except in Nephew and Wray overproof, which I hated. Somehow this rum pulls it off, but only as a mixer, or an "I gotta get drunk" shooter.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Better than Bacardi Gold. This is a rum and coke rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Pineapple and pepper nose with a caramel/pepper finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

This is good for rum and coke; nothing overpowering here, but a good clean taste for little cost.

sugar test-0g

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I have always liked Bacardi in the past for mixing with cola. I feel Don Q is equal to and possibly a touch better though and can be had for a better price on occasion. It is not a good sipping rum just like the Bacardi, but both are a good standard for a rum with cola in my opinion. Good pricing for a respectable rum. I lean towards the Don Q brand over Bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron es para personas sin ninguna nocion y que no pueden adquirir algo mejor

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

perfect for Cuba libre! When I visited Puerto Rico, I was told everyone needs to take the Bacardi tour, but Puerto Ricans drink Don Q! I can see why. I even prefer the Gold to the more expensive Anejo.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

had it it's okay but not something I want very much

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

Very sweet flavor. Excellent for RUM and COKE. Cristal and Gold are the locals favorite.....

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum I tried neat. This rum has a nose of straight alcohol. It is a bit harsh going down and in the mouth. This is a solid 5 rating nothing to write home about. But it is cheap that is its once saving grace. I have seen many age statements about this one its hard to pinpoint. I have seen up to four years, 1-4, 1-5, 3-5, I would say that up to four is the right thing mostly 1.