Posting your rating...
Don Q Gold rum

Don Q Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Don Q Gold rum is produced in Puerto Rico by the famed Serralles family. The ""Gold"" brand is aged between 1-5 years and then carbon filtered.

Don Q has over 140 years of history with the original distillery being founded in 1865. Its name is derived from the famous La Mancha character Don Quixote.

5.2/10
43 ratings
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
7
14
11
6
1

Rate Don Q Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

43 Don Q Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Cracker from United States with 13 ratings

At this price point, I think there are much better rums out there like Flor De Cana 4 year and Cruzan. Don Q gold has a harsh alcohol "bouquet" and a somewhat "chemical" flavor to me. It's drinkable but I'm not inclined to buy it again, even as a mixing rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

Definitely not a sipping rum, but unique in it's own way. I found an odd sweetness to it that I have not found elsewhere, except in Nephew and Wray overproof, which I hated. Somehow this rum pulls it off, but only as a mixer, or an "I gotta get drunk" shooter.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Better than Bacardi Gold. This is a rum and coke rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Pineapple and pepper nose with a caramel/pepper finish.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 131 ratings

This is good for rum and coke; nothing overpowering here, but a good clean taste for little cost.

sugar test-0g

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I have always liked Bacardi in the past for mixing with cola. I feel Don Q is equal to and possibly a touch better though and can be had for a better price on occasion. It is not a good sipping rum just like the Bacardi, but both are a good standard for a rum with cola in my opinion. Good pricing for a respectable rum. I lean towards the Don Q brand over Bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by toblo from United States with 25 ratings

este ron es para personas sin ninguna nocion y que no pueden adquirir algo mejor

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brion from United States with 26 ratings

perfect for Cuba libre! When I visited Puerto Rico, I was told everyone needs to take the Bacardi tour, but Puerto Ricans drink Don Q! I can see why. I even prefer the Gold to the more expensive Anejo.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris Williamson from Canada with 81 ratings

had it it's okay but not something I want very much

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Kenneth from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

Very sweet flavor. Excellent for RUM and COKE. Cristal and Gold are the locals favorite.....

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum I tried neat. This rum has a nose of straight alcohol. It is a bit harsh going down and in the mouth. This is a solid 5 rating nothing to write home about. But it is cheap that is its once saving grace. I have seen many age statements about this one its hard to pinpoint. I have seen up to four years, 1-4, 1-5, 3-5, I would say that up to four is the right thing mostly 1.